Hospital for the purpose of organizing a chapter of the Pan American Medical Association.

The Pan American Medical Association, established ten years ago, has for its objects the promotion of intimate relations, scientific and otherwise, between physicians and surgeons of the western hemisphere, with the idea of advancing medical knowledge and interchanging professors of various medical subjects between different seats of learning, and the development of inter-American scientific literature by means of official publications and an international lending library.

Chapters of the organization exist at present in New York City; Rochester, Minnesota; Baltimore; Atlanta; Miami; Chicago; Detroit; Havana, Cuba; Matanzas, Cuba; Santiago, Cuba; Panama; Merida, Mexico; Mexico City; San José, Costa Rica; Caracas, Venezuela; Sao Paulo, Brazil; Buenos Aires, Argentina, and Bogota, Colombia.

At the organization of the New Orleans chapter the following officers were elected:

President: Dr. Aristides Agramonte. Vice-President: Dr. P. F. Murphy. Secretary: Dr. Rigney D'Aunoy. Treasurer: Dr. Gilbert Anderson.

It was unanimously voted to invite the association to hold its 1932 congress in the City of New Orleans, and Dr. Aristides Agramonte was elected a delegate to the congress to be held in Mexico City from July 12 to 16, 1931, with instructions to extend such an invitation.

THE KENTUCKY ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

The eighteenth annual meeting of the Kentucky Academy of Science was held on May 2 at Transylvania College, Lexington, Kentucky. The meeting was well attended and much interest shown, thirty-five papers being given in the three divisions. The presidential address, by Dr. V. F. Payne, was entitled "A Chemist Views the Social Sciences." The guest-speaker of the afternoon, Dr. Edmund M. Baehr, of the University of Cincinnati Medical College, spoke on "The Uses of Adversity."

Committees were appointed to consider the matter of junior societies affiliating with the academy; to suggest scientific books to be placed in certain libraries; and to select a suitable place for an academy library.

The following officers were elected:

President: Dr. Anna A. Schnieb, Eastern State Teachers College, Richmond, Ky.

Vice-president: Dr. Charles Hire, Murray State Teachers College, Murray, Ky.

Secretary: Dr. A. M. Peter, Experiment Station, Lexington, Ky.

Treasurer: Prof. W. S. Anderson, Experiment Station, Lexington, Ky.

Council for the American Association for the Advancement of Science: Dr. Austin R. Middleton, University of Louisville, Louisville, Ky.

The academy has now 195 members—the largest membership since its organization. The publication of its *Transactions* has been brought up to date in Volumes 1, 2, 3 and 4.

At the close of the meeting the old Medical Library of Transylvania College was open for inspection. This library contains many rare old books, being the first medical library west of the Allegheny Mountains.

> A. M. Peter, Secretary

THE KANSAS ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

The sixty-third annual meeting of the Kansas Academy of Science was held at the University of Kansas at Lawrence, on April 24 and 25. General papers and business occupied the forenoons. Over 120 papers were listed, about three fourths of which were given on the afternoon of April 24 in the meetings of the sections of biology, chemistry, physics, psychology and junior academy. The section of entomology met on the afternoon of April 25.

The address by the retiring-president, Dr. Hazel E. Branch, of Wichita University, was given on the evening of April 24, at the banquet. Her subject was "Aims and Opportunities of a Junior Academy of Science in Kansas." The principal address of the session was given later in the evening by Dr. Geo. K. Burgess on the work of the U. S. Bureau of Standards. This was given under the auspices of the University of Kansas Chapter of Sigma Xi.

A Section of Physics and a Junior Academy of Science were organized this year for the first time. Of the few remaining complete sets of the *Transactions* a number were sold to members of the academy in accordance with the policy of the academy not to maintain a library of its own. Last year the exchange rights of the academy were divided between the University of Kansas, the State College and the Fort Hays College, which institutions aid in the publication of the *Transactions*.

The following officers were elected for the ensuing year: President, Roger C. Smith, Manhattan; first vice-president, Wm. J. Baumgartner, Lawrence; second vice-president, J. Willard Hershey, McPherson; secretary, George E. Johnson, Manhattan; treasurer, Ray Q. Brewster, Lawrence. The new chairmen of the sections are: Biology, Wm. J. Baumgartner, Lawrence; Chemistry, Walter S. Long, Salina; Entomology, Raymond H. Beamer, Lawrence; Physics, E.