Besides those mentioned above, the teaching staff will include the following: Franklin DeR. Furman, dean of the Stevens Institute of Technology; H. W. Harold, architect, Pittsburgh; Frederic G. Higbee, the State University of Iowa; Randolph P. Hoelscher, University of Illinois; George J. Hood, University of Kansas; Harvey H. Jordan, University of Illinois; A. E. Lofberg, Westinghouse Electric and Manufacturing Company, East Pittsburgh; Clair V. Mann, Missouri School of Mines: Henry W. Miller, University of Michigan, and author of the recent book on the famous German gun "Big Bertha"; P. J. Reich, American Bridge Company, Ambridge, Pa.; Robert L. Sackett, dean of the School of Engineering, Pennsylvania State College; Charles H. Schumann, Jr., Columbia University; William G. Smith, Northwestern University; Carl L. Svensen, Texas Technological College; William D. Turnbull, the Ohio State University; Frank M. Warner, University of Washington, and William E. Wickenden, president of the Case School of Applied Science.

The summer school is under the immediate direction of Harry P. Hammond, head of the department of civil engineering, Brooklyn Polytechnic Institute. Professor Frederic L. Bishop, of the University of Pittsburgh, is secretary of the society.

## AWARD OF THE DANIEL GUGGENHEIM MEDAL FOR AERONAUTICS

The second Daniel Guggenheim gold medal for notable achievement in aeronatuics has been awarded to Dr. Ludwig Prandtl, professor at the University of Göttingen, Germany, "for pioneer and creative work in the theory of aerodynamics." Dr. Prandtl is one of the world's most eminent authorities on aerodynamics and other sciences underlying the art of aviation. He is also well known as an investigator and teacher of the laws of mechanics, thermodynamics and the flow of fluids, particularly air and other gases.

Last fall, Dr. Prandtl traveled eastward from his home city as a delegate to the World Engineering Congress in Japan at the end of October and the beginning of November. He presented an important paper at this congress. After the congress, he crossed the Pacific Ocean to the United States. He stopped at a number of our universities on his homeward journey, beginning with Stanford University and the University of California. He returned home in March, completing the trip around the world.

Dr. Prandtl visited New York in February and on that occasion was entertained at dinner at The Engineers' Club by a group of forty American engineers. Following the dinner he delivered an address before the Metropolitan Section of The American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Dean George B. Pegram, of Columbia University, presided at the dinner. Dr. Elmer A. Sperry, past-president of The American Society of Mechanical Engineers and vice-president of the Daniel Guggenheim Medal Board, introduced Professor Prandtl on the occasion of his address.

Dr. Prandtl was born on February 4, 1875, at Freising, Germany, and attended the technical high school in Munich. He has been professor at the University of Göttingen since 1904. He has received many honors, among them the Great Gold Medal of the Royal Aeronautical Society of England in 1927 and the Grashof Medal of the Verein Deutscher Ingenieure in 1929. More than any other one man he stands out as the "father" of the present aerodynamic theory. He has written many treatises on subjects related to aviation and is a widely respected authority.

The members of the board which made the award are: American—W. F. Durand, E. P. Warner, Elmer A. Sperry, Arthur Nutt, Howard E. Coffin, Paul G. Zimmermann, E. E. Aldrin, Emory S. Land; Foreign—Griffith Brewer, England; Johann Schuette, Germany; Giulio Costanzi, Italy; Baron Chuzaburo Shiba, Japan. Dr. Rateau, of the Société Française de Navigation Aerienne, died before the ballot was cast.

The first award of the Guggenheim Medal for notable achievement in aeronautics was made to Orville Wright a year ago and the medal was presented to him in Washington on April 8 in connection with the celebration of the fiftieth anniversary of The American Society of Mechanical Engineers. This society is one of the two American organizations from which members of the Medal Corporation are chosen, the other being the Society of Automotive Engineers. In addition, five foreign organizations are represented on the board of award, one each in England, France, Germany, Italy and Japan.

The medal was founded in 1927 by the Daniel Guggenheim Fund for the Promotion of Aeronautics, of which Mr. Harry F. Guggenheim, now ambassador to Cuba, was then president. At the annual meeting on May 7 the following officers were elected: President, William B. Stout, representing the Society of Automotive engineers, president of the Stout Air Service; Vice-President, Captain E. E. Aldrin, manager, Aviation Department of the Standard Oil Development Company; Secretary and Treasurer, Alfred D. Flinn, director of the Engineering Foundation; Executive Committee, the president, Captain Aldrin and Mr. E. P. Warner, editor of Aviation.

## THE RETIREMENT OF THE PRESIDENT OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA

PRESIDENT WILLIAM WALLACE CAMPBELL, who, on commencement day nearly one year ago, announced