of medicine, in memory of David Hosack, professor of botany, 1795-1811, and professor of materia medica, 1796-1811—to be held by Dr. Charles C. Lieb, of the department of pharmacology. Stevens professorship of mechanical engineering, in memory of John Stevens, of the class of 1768, a pioneer in engineering research—Charles E. Lucke, of the department of mechanical engineering. Renwick professorship of civil engineering, named for James Renwick, of the class of 1807—James Kip Finch, of the department of civil engineering. The Vinton professorship of mining engineering, in memory of Francis E. Vinton, professor of civil engineering from 1864 to 1877 and a builder of the original school of mines-Thomas Thornton Read, of the department of mining. The Newberry professorship of geology, in memory of John S. Newberry, professor of geology and paleontology, 1866-1892-Charles P. Berkey, of the department of geology and mineralogy.

THE annual meeting of the Society of Experimental Biology was held recently in Florence on the occasion of the congress of the Association for the Advancement of Science. Professor Beccari, of the University of Florence, presided. He was assisted by Professor Filippo Bottazzi, general secretary of the society, a member of the department of physiology in the University of Naples.

A DINNER to celebrate the twentieth anniversary of the mental hygiene movement was given in New York City, under the auspices of the National Committee for Mental Hygiene and the American Foundation for Mental Hygiene. Dr. William H. Welch, director of the department of the history of medicine of the Johns Hopkins University, and honorary president of both organizations, presided. Dr. James R. Angell, president of Yale University, spoke on "Mental Hygiene in the College and the University." Dr. William A. White, superintendent of St. Elizabeth's Hospital, Washington, D. C., member of the executive committee of the national committee, and president of the First International Congress on Mental Hygiene, reviewed twenty years of the movement, and discussed the coming international congress. Clifford W. Beers, founder and secretary of the national committee and of the foundation, and Dr. Frankwood E. Williams, medical director of the national committee, also spoke,

## UNIVERSITY AND EDUCATIONAL NOTES

GIFTS and bequests to Teachers College, Columbia University, amounting to \$534,047 were announced on November 15 by Dean William F. Russell. Among the gifts are \$100,000 from the General Education Board for the Lincoln School, \$90,000 from the Laura Spelman Rockefeller Memorial for the Child Development Institute, \$85,000 from the International Education Board for the International Institute, \$27,500 from the Institute of Social and Religious Research for the Character Development Inquiry. The General Education Board had voted to complete the endowment of \$3,000,000 for the perpetuation of educational research through the Lincoln Experimental School, a subdivision of the college.

In the will of Dr. John F. B. Weaver the school of medicine of the University of Maryland has been named residuary legatee of his estate and is expected to receive about \$150,000.

THE General Education Board has appropriated \$50,000 to Morgan College, Baltimore, for the erection of a science hall.

Dr. Alan M. Chesney has been appointed dean of the medical school of the Johns Hopkins University, succeeding Dr. Lewis H. Weed, who has been carrying on the work of professor of anatomy as well as that of dean and wishes to devote his time to the work in anatomy. Dr. Chesney has been associate professor at the university since 1921. OSKAR BAUDISCH, who received his Ph.D. from the University of Zurich in 1904, has been appointed a research associate in organic chemistry at Yale University with assignment to the graduate school and with the rank of associate professor.

For the present academic year Dr. George Hume Smith, formerly of the University of Illinois, is acting as assistant professor of botany in the University of Missouri.

APPOINTMENTS of instructor in inorganic chemistry at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology are Dr. Charles E. Teeter, Jr., who has been research associate at the University of California; Dr. Ralph P. Seward, of Brown University, who has been teaching in Brenau College, Georgia; Dr. Herschel Hunt, formerly research fellow at Indiana University, and Mr. A. Sherrill Houghton, who has been teaching at the University of Colorado for the past three years.

James R. Matthews has been appointed to the professorship of botany at the University of Reading which has become vacant through the resignation of Dr. W. Stiles, now professor of botany at the University of Birmingham. Mr. Matthews is at present a lecturer at the University of Edinburgh.

Dr. ROBERT ROBINSON, professor of organic chemistry in the University of London, has been elected to the Waynflete professorship of chemistry in the University of Oxford.