## ANNUAL MEETING OF SCIENCE SERVICE

DR. WILLIAM E. RITTER was elected honorary president of Science Service at the annual meeting of the board of trustees of that organization held in Washington on April 26. This honor was conferred upon the occasion of Dr. Ritter's retirement this year as president and trustee of the organization for the formation of which he was largely responsible.

Science Service is the institution for the popularization of science organized under the auspices of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Research Council and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. The idea of the institution arose from the intellectual partnership of Dr. Ritter, formerly director of the Scripps Institution for Biological Research, with the late E. W. Scripps, newspaper proprietor, who furnished sufficient endowment to assure the institution's financial and intellectual freedom.

Dr. J. McKeen Cattell, editor of SCIENCE and psychologist, was elected president succeeding Dr. Ritter. Dr. Vernon Kellogg was reelected vice-president and chairman of the executive committee and H. L. Smithton, treasurer; Dr. David White and Marlen E. Pew, members of the executive committee, and Watson Davis, secretary.

Two new members of the board of trustees were elected at this meeting: H. L. Smithton, of Cincinnati, Ohio, as a representative of the E. W. Scripps estate, and Dr. Harrison E. Howe, editor of *Industrial and Engineering Chemistry*, Washington, D. C., as a representative of the National Research Council.

Annual reports presented by Dr. Edwin E. Slosson, director, and Watson Davis, managing editor, revealed that the past year has been one of progress for the institution. Its syndicate services are now used by some two hundred publications. The daily news report of Science Service reaches nearly a hundred daily newspapers and other publications. One fifth of the total daily circulation of the American press is reached by Science Service features. A substantial growth of the *Science News-Letter*, Science Service's weekly magazine, both in prestige and financially, was reported.

During the past year Science Service's service to newspapers has been extended to all of the twentysix Scripps-Howard newspapers and arrangements have also been made to supply this important group of newspapers with a daily telegraphic news service. This service and other features have been extended to many other newspapers. Other activities of Science Service, such as the providing of magazines with periodical articles, the offering of lectures, the editing of books for prominent publishers and the establishment of collections of scientific photographs and information, have been extended in scope.

One of the matters given serious consideration at the annual meeting was cooperation with the Social Science Research Council in expanding the activities of the institution into the field of the social sciences. Plans and prospects for a Science Service Building are also receiving the attention of the trustees and officers of the institution.

The board of trustees as elected at the annual meeting is as follows: Representing the American Association for the Advancement of Science, J. McKeen Cattell (president) editor of SCIENCE, Garrison, N. Y.: D. T. MacDougal. director of the Desert Laboratory, Tucson, Ariz.; M. I. Pupin, professor of electromechanics in Columbia University. New York City. Representing the National Academy of Sciences. John C. Merriam, president of the Carnegie Institution of Washington; R. A. Millikan, director of the Norman Bridge laboratory of physics, California Institute of Technology; Dr. David White, senior geologist, U. S. Geological Survey. Representing National Research Council, Vernon Kellogg (vice-president and chairman of executive committee), permanent secretary, National Research Council. Washington, D. C.; C. G. Abbot, secretary of the Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D. C.; Harrison E. Howe, editor of Industrial and Engineering Chemistry. Representing journalistic profession, John H. Finley, associate editor, New York Times; Mark Sullivan, writer, Washington, D. C.; Marlen E. Pew. editor of Editor and Publisher. New York City. Representing E. W. Scripps estate, Harry L. Smithton (treasurer), Cincinnati, Ohio; Robert Scripps. Scripps-Howard newspapers, West Ρ. Chester, Ohio; Thomas L. Sidlo, Cleveland, Ohio. WATSON DAVIS.

Secretary

## REPORT OF THE HENRY DRAPER COM-MITTEE OF THE NATIONAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

THE Henry Draper Committee respectfully recommended to the council of the academy that the Draper Gold Medal for the year 1928 be awarded to William Hammond Wright, astronomer in the Lick Observatory, University of California, for the reasons here expressed:

Coming to the Lick Observatory in 1897, Mr. Wright at first participated in the program of radial velocity measurements which had been initiated by Dr. W. W. Campbell. To his ability as an engineer are due several improvements in the mounting and adjustment of the spectrograph that added greatly to its efficiency as a