to carry with us everything that we shall need for the entire year. This means not only all our scientific equipment—as we shall carry our laboratories along with us—but all our clothing and necessary comforts and safeguards. We should arrive at Monrovia, the capital of Liberia, on the west coast of Africa, about July 8. From there we shall proceed to Grajbassa, further down the coast, and then strike inland. We shall keep moving in a southeasterly direction, traversing a part of the Congo, and finally arriving at British East Africa, near Lake Alban and Mombasa.

Other members of the expedition, all on the staff of the Institute of Tropical Medicine, are: Dr. Joseph Bequaert, assistant professor of entomology, formerly with the Belgian sleeping sickness commission, with eight years' service in the Congo: Dr. Glover M. Allen, zoologist, author of special studies in East Africa on mammalian life; Dr. George Shattuck, assistant professor of tropical medicine, a participant in the Amazon expedition and, before that, on the typhus investigation in the Balkans: Dr. Max Theiler, bacteriologist, son of Sir Arnold Theiler, of South Africa, formerly of the London School of Tropical Medicine: Dr. Harold Coolidge, zoologist, formerly with the Smithsonian Institution; Mr. Loring Whitman, photographer, and a botanist not vet selected.

A PRELIMINARY CONFERENCE ON UNIVERSITY RESEARCH

Plans for a survey of research facilities in American universities in the field of pure science were made at a preliminary conference at the University of Pennsylvania on May 3 of representatives of universities, research institutions, foundations supporting research efforts, commercial laboratories and national scientific societies. The conference passed a resolution endorsing heartily the project of the National Academy of Sciences for the National Research Endowment. Secretary Hoover, Mr. Root and Mr. Hughes are leading the endowment campaign to raise \$20,000,000 to aid American universities in carrying on fundamental research during the next ten years.

It was decided to call a general, formal conference next fall looking toward a comprehensive survey of university research work. This call is to be issued by a committee of seven representatives of universities and an advisory committee of seven representatives of various research organizations, to be appointed in the near future.

President Josiah H. Penniman, of the University of Pennsylvania, in his statement as presiding officer of the meeting, pointed out that, while all the agencies represented "have a common interest in research in pure science, the universities alone are directly responsible for the training of research workers."

Research institutes and commercial laboratories have during the past few years drawn away from the universities many of the most experienced teachers and investigators "with the result that the teaching staffs of the universities have been weakened and the training of men for future research is seriously threatened."

Dr. Penniman then outlined a possible procedure "by which the university can better serve its function as a center of certain types of fundamental investigations and as the primary agency in the education and training of investigators."

Those present at the Philadelphia conference were:

Dr. J. C. Merriam, Carnegie Institution of Washington, D. C.; Dr. William C. White, United States Public Health Service; Dr. Alfred H. Lloyd, University of Michigan; Dr. Arthur H. Daniels, University of Illinois; Dr. Henry H. Donaldson, the Wistar Institute, Philadelphia; Alfred D. Flinn, Engineering Foundation; General John J. Carty, American Telephone and Telegraph Company; Dr. Howard McClenahan, secretary, the Franklin Institute, Philadelphia: Dr. William C. L. Eglin, president, the Franklin Institute, Philadelphia; Dr. Vernon Kellogg, National Research Council: Dr. H. F. Blichfeldt, Stanford University: Professor L. R. Jones. University of Wisconsin: W. R. Whitney, Research Laboratory, General Electric Company; Chancellor Elmer Ellsworth Brown, New York University; Professor Michael Pupin, Columbia University; Dr. Charles H. Warren, Yale University; Professor L. J. Henderson, Harvard University; Dr. Simon Flexner, Rockefeller Institute; Dr. Livingston Farrand, president, Cornell University; Professor J. S. Ames, Johns Hopkins University; Dr. Josiah H. Penniman, provost, University of Pennsylvania; Professor A. O. Leuschner, University of California.

AWARDS OF THE LAPHAM MEDALS OF THE WISCONSIN ARCHEOLOGICAL SOCIETY

TEN men were awarded the Lapham medal given for distinguished research work in anthropology at the recent silver anniversary meeting of the Wisconsin Archeological Society. They are: Charles E. Brown, director of the State Historical Museum, Madison; George A. West, Milwaukee; Dr. S. A. Barrett, Milwaukee; Dr. George L. Collie, Beloit; H. E. Cole, Baraboo; John P. Schumacher, Green Bay; Dr. Alfonso Gerend, Milladore; H. L. Scavlam, Janesville; Dr. W. G. McLaughlin, McFarland, and George R. Fox, Three Oaks, Mich.

When the society organized in 1901 the members decided to award a medal annually to those members who performed notable research work in anthropology in Wisconsin. This is the first year, however, that the award has been made. Most of the men who received the medal were members of the society for almost 25 years. All conducted research at their own expense.