As in the case of the first prize, the amount of the second prize is to be one thousand dollars, which is to be awarded to the author of a noteworthy contribution to science presented at the approaching fifth Washington meeting of the American Association and associated organizations. The prize is not competitive in the usual sense and no formal entry of papers will occur. Only papers that appear on the program of the Washington meeting will be considered. The programs of all the scientific societies meeting with the association at Washington will be considered, as well as those of the association itself. Since it is the aim of the association to further the advancement of American science and education in all feasible ways, it will not be necessary that the chosen contribution be by a member of the association.

The award will be made at the close of the meeting and it will probably be announced late on January 3, 1925, in time for the Sunday morning papers of January 4. It will be made by a committee of scientists to be named by the council early in the meetings. The committee on award will receive from the secretaries of the sections and societies meeting with the association at Washington suggestions of noteworthy contributions in the various fields of science.

The inauguration of the American Association prize, which occurred last year at the seventy-fifth anniversary, at Cincinnati, aroused interest to a marked degree. The recipient of the first prize was Professor L. E. Dickson, of the University of Chicago, for a great contribution to mathematical science. It is expected that the interest in the second prize to be manifested by those in attendance at Washington and by the intellectual public as well, will even surpass the interest shown last year. The American Association is particularly gratified to be able to continue awarding these thousand-dollar prizes. Through the great generosity and helpful spirit of one of the members of the association, arrangements have been made by which five annual prizes are now provided for, in addition to the prize awarded last year. It is planned that the prize will be awarded at each of the four annual meetings following the fifth Washington meeting. The third prize will be awarded at the Kansas City meeting, at the close of the year 1925; the fourth prize at the fifth Philadelphia meeting, at the close of 1926; the fifth prize at the meeting to occur at the close of 1927 (place of meeting as yet undecided); and the sixth prize at the fifth New York meeting, at the close of 1928.

Burton E. Livingston,

Permanent Secretary

DINNER OF THE NEW YORK ALUMNI OF SIGMA XI

A DINNER for the alumni of Sigma Xi, of which

there are about one thousand members in New York City, has been arranged to take place on Monday evening, November 17, at 7:00 P. M., at the Fraternity Club, 245 Madison Ave., New York City.

The "New battle front of civilization" will be the topic of the principal address by Dr. Vernon Kellogg, secretary of the National Research Council and a member of the executive committee of Sigma Xi. Supplementary remarks on the same topic will be made by Dr. E. L. Thorndike, professor of psychology at Columbia; Dr. Edwin E. Slosson, director of Science Service; F. B. Jewett, vice-president in charge of research of the Western Electric Company; Dr. Francis Carter Wood, director of cancer research, Crocker Laboratory, and Dr. Michael Pupin, professor of electromechanics at Columbia University. President F. K. Richtmyer, of Cornell University, will be present to explain the broad program upon which Sigma Xi is embarking. Secretary Edward Ellery, of Union College, will act as toastmaster. Invitation cards may be obtained from C. E. Davies, chairman.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Dr. George Willis Ritchey, of the Solar Observatory, California, has been awarded the Janssen gold medal by the Paris Academy of Sciences for his work in connection with the construction of the reflecting telescope.

Dr. John M. T. Finney, professor of clinical surgery at The Johns Hopkins University, has been elected foreign corresponding member of the Royal Academy of Medicine of Belgium.

THE French Government has conferred the decoration of chevalier de la Légion d'Honneur upon Dr. W. H. Hobbs, professor of geology; Dr. F. G. Novy, professor of bacteriology, and Dr. H. P. Thieme, professor of Romance languages, all of the University of Michigan.

A NEW portrait of President E. A. Birge, of the University of Wisconsin, by Merton Grenhagen, of Milwaukee, has been completed and will soon be hung in the Regents room of the university. A portrait of of Professor R. L. Jones, of the College of Agriculture, has also just been completed by Mr. Grenhagen to be hung in agricultural hall.

The University of Pennsylvania has announced that a further gift had been made by John C. Bell for the erection of statues in honor of two former provosts of the university, Dr. Charles C. Harrison and Dr. Edgar Fahs Smith. It is expected that the two statues will be completed in time for presentation to the university next commencement day. Dr. R. Tait Mc-Kenzie, director of physical education, is to be the