managing editor of the *Proceedings* for the past ten years, was elected president to succeed Dr. George B. Wallace. Other officers elected were vice-president, James W. Jobling, Columbia University; secretary-treasurer, Victor C. Myers, New York Post-Graduate Medical School and Hospital; additional member of the council (for 2 years), Stanley R. Benedict, Cornell University Medical College. The term of Eugene F. Du Bois as councilor expires in 1924.

The nominating committee elected for 1924 were A. J. Goldfarb, Graham Lusk, D. D. Van Slyke and G. B. Wallace, resident members; A. J. Carlson, L. B. Mendel and A. N. Richards, non-resident members.

The chairmen of the different branches and ex-officio vice-presidents of the society are: Pacific Coast Branch, William Ophüls, Stanford University Medical School; Minnesota Branch, Arthur D. Hirschfelder, University of Minnesota; Western New York Branch, John R. Murlin, University of Rochester; Peking Branch, Carl Ten-Broeck, Peking Union Medical College.

THE AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

The fifty-first regular meeting of the Chicago Section of the American Mathematical Society, constituting the nineteenth western meeting of the society, was held at the University of Chicago on Friday and Saturday, April 13 and 14. On Friday afternoon, Professor S. Lefschetz, University of Kansas, gave a lecture on "Curves traced on algebraic surfaces." About sixty persons were present at a dinner at the Quadrangle Club on Friday evening. The Section voted to hold its Christmas meeting in Cincinnati in affiliation with the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

The following papers were read at this meeting:

On the representation of a certain fundamental law of probability of Laplace: H. L. Rietz.

An application of areal coordinates to mixtures and the graphical solution of equations: F. E.

Riemann surfaces and the map problem: H. R. BRAHANA.

A theorem concerning unit matrices with integral elements: H. R. Brahana.

An application of fractional differentiation to a class of Volterra integral equations: H. T. DAVIS.

Same left co-set and right co-set multipliers for any given finite group: G. A. MILLER.

The linear group modulo p_{κ} : M. M. Feldstein.

Continuous transformations of manifolds: S. Lefschetz.

Certain limitations of the value of the complete independence of a set of postulates: M. H. INGRAHAM.

Foundation and status of the theory of linear algebras: L. E. Dickson.

General theory of hypercomplex integers: L. E. Dickson.

The optical transformation of surface differentials: Irwin Roman.

Solutions of ordinary differential equations: F. R. MOULTON.

On approximation by functions of given continuity: Dunham Jackson.

Vector treatment of the extrema of double integrals: D. C. Kazarinoff.

Cubics associated with a net of conics: F. E. Wood.

An extension of the theory of the double modulus: J. S. Turner.

On certain properties of sets of positive measure: H. Blumberg.

On a class of invariant subgroups of the conformal and projective groups in function space: I. A. BARNETT.

The area preserving group in function space: I. A. BARNETT.

The papers of Professors Blumberg and Barnett were read by title.

Arnold Dresden Secretary of the Chicago Section

THE MICHIGAN ACADEMY OF SCI-ENCE, ARTS AND LETTERS

The twenty-eighth annual meeting of the Michigan Academy of Science, Arts and Letters was held in Ann Arbor March 28-30, 1923. The presidential address was given by R. A. Smith, state geologist of Michigan, on "The land-economic survey of Michigan." At the first general session memorials to the two past-presidents who had died during the year, Leroy H. Harvey and Walter B. Barrows, were presented. At the same meeting a paper, "The