mainly in order to get local administration, which the Forest Service has followed since 1908, when district headquarters were established in six western cities for the protection and administration of the national forests.

The announcement of the establishment of the new district is made at the Portland office almost simultaneously with the news from Washington that the President has authorized an Inter-Departmental Committee, to coordinate federal activities in Washington having to do with Alaska. E. A. Sherman, associate forester of the Forest Service, who spent some time in Alaska, represents the Department of Agriculture on the new Alaska committee.

FISHERY MATTERS IN CONGRESS

APPROPRIATIONS for the Bureau of Fisheries for the fiscal year 1922, as carried in the sundry civil appropriation bill reported to the House of Representatives on December 29, aggregate \$1,240,460, an increase of \$29,150 over the appropriations for the current year. The increase is made up chiefly of additions of \$12,500 for the division of fishery industries and \$15,000 for the Alaska service. No new position is created except that of engineer at the Cape Vincent station, no special appropriations are made, and no increases in salaries are provided except in the case of naturalist of the steamer *Albatross*.

Congressman Esch, of Wisconsin, has introduced a bill (H. R. 14676) providing for the establishment of a fish-rescue and fish-cultural station on the Mississippi River in Wisconsin. The bill carries an appropriation of \$75,000 and creates a staff of 15 persons, with annual salaries aggregating \$22,800.

Senator McNary, of Oregon, has introduced a joint resolution (S. J. Res. 211) requesting the President to negotiate a treaty or treaties to protect from unnecessary destruction, through wasteful practises, devices, and methods, the salmon in waters of the Pacific Ocean off the coasts of the United States and Canada, both within and beyond the territorial limits of the two countries.

THE WASHINGTON ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

At the annual meeting of the Washington-Academy of Sciences on January 11, officers were elected for the year 1921. The board of managers for the year is as follows:

- Dr. A. H. Brooks, Geological Survey, President, Member Executive Committee.
- Dr. Robert B. Sosman, Geophysical Laboratory, Corresponding Secretary, Member Executive Committee.
- Mr. Wm. R. Maxon, National Museum, Recording Secretary, Member Executive Committee.
- Mr. R. L. Faris, Coast and Geodetic Survey, Treasurer, Member Executive Committee, Vice-president from Society of Engineers.
- Dr. J. McKeen Cattell, Garrison-on-Hudson, N. Y., Non-resident Vice-president.
- Professor E. B. Wilson, Mass. Inst. Tech., Cambridge, Mass., Non-resident Vice-president.
- Dr. C. G. Abbot, Smithsonian Institution, Member of Board of Managers (1922).
- Dr. W. F. Hillebrand, Bureau of Standards, Member of Board of Managers (1922).
- Dr. L. A. Bauer, Department of Terrestrial Magnetism, Member of Board of Managers (1923).
- Dr. T. Wayland Vaughan, Geological Survey, Memof Board of Managers (1923).
- Professor H. S. Graves, 3454 Newark Street, Member of Board of Managers (1924).
- Mr. Sidney Paige, Geological Survey, Member of Board of Managers (1924).
- Dr. W. J. Humphreys, Weather Bureau, Vicepresident from Philosophical Society.
- Dr. Aleš Hrdlička, National Museum, Vice-president from Archeological Society.
- Mr. N. Hollister, Zoological Park, Vice-president from Biological Society.
- Dr. A. S. Hitchcock, Smithsonian Institution, Vicepresident from Botanical Society.
- Dr. William Blum, Bureau of Standards, Vicepresident from Chemical Society.
- Dr. F. B. Silsbee, Bureau of Standards, Vice-president from Electrical Engineers, Member of Executive Committee.
- Mr. S. A. Rohwer, East Falls Church, Va., Vicepresident from Entomological Society.
- Mr. Raphael Zon, Forest Service, Vice-president from Foresters Society.
- Mr. F. V. Coville, Bureau of Plant Industry, Vice-president from Geographic Society, Member of Executive Committee.
- Dr. David White, Geological Survey, Vice-president from Geological Society.