cessor, given the honorary title for life of recording secretary emeritus, and that he be so designated in all official lists of the officers of the academy.

THE NEW YORK ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

THE annual meeting of the academy for the election of officers, fellows and honorary members, the presentation of reports and the transaction of other business was held at the Delta Kappa Epsilon Club, 30 West 44th Street, on the evening of Monday, December 20.

The report of the corresponding secretary showed that there are now upon the rolls of the Academy 31 Honorary Members and 102 Corresponding Members. The death of the following Honorary and Corresponding Members was recorded with regret:

Sir Norman Lockyer, honorary member since 1880. Professor Wilhelm Pfeffer, honorary member since 1898.

- Professor Wilhelm Wundt, honorary member since 1904.
- Professor George Macloskie, corresponding member since 1876.
- Professor Joseph Paxon Iddings, corresponding member since 1896.

There have been held during the year 7 business meetings and 26 sectional meetings at which 40 stated papers were presented. The membership of the academy is 575, which includes 415 active members, 24 associate members, 109 life members, 8 patrons, 1 benefactor and 18 non-resident members, of whom 148 are fellows.

Record was made of the loss by death of 15 members.

The treasurer reported that the receipts for the fiscal year were \$7,962.86, and the expenditures were \$7,386.98. The investments of the academy amount to \$53,198.88, held to cover the various funds. The details of the treasurer's report will be published in the Annals.

The academy elected Baron Gerard De Geer of Stockholm, Sweden, an Honorary Member. Fifteen members of the academy were elected to fellowship.

The following officers for 1921 were elected:

President: Edward L. Thorndike.

Vice-Presidents: William J. Gies, Charles L. Bristol, James F. Kemp, Robert S. Woodworth.
Recording Secretary: Ralph W. Tower.
Corresponding Secretary: Henry E. Crampton.
Treasurer: John Tatlock.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THERE is printed in the present issue of SCIENCE the presidential address before the American Association for the Advancement of Science given this week by Dr. Simon Flexner. We hope to print next week an account of the meeting and that the succeeding issues of SCIENCE will contain the official addresses given at Chicago and accounts of the meetings of the sections and of the affiliated societies.

DR. WILLIAM W. COBLENTZ, of the Bureau of Standards, has been awarded the Janssen Medal of the Paris Academy of Sciences for his work on measuring the heat of the stars.

DURING the past month Dr. Franz Boas, professor of anthropology at Columbia University, has been elected an honorary member of the Société des Amèricanistes of Paris and of the Folklore Society of London. He has also been elected corresponding member of the Prussian Academy of Sciences, Berlin, and has received the gold medal of the Anthropological Society of Berlin.

DR. RALPH S. LILLIE has resigned the professorship of biology at Clark University to accept the position of biologist, department of pure science, Nela Research Laboratories, National Lamp Works of the General Electric (Company, Nela Park, Cleveland, Ohio. Dr. Lillie will retain his connection with the Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole, and will carry on his work there in the summers as usual.

PAUL M. REA, president of The American Association of Museums, who has now become director of the new Cleveland Museum of Natural History, will be succeeded by Miss Laura M. Bragg in the directorship of The Charleston Museum, South Carolina.