NAS: Larger Class Reflects Expansion of Science

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is growing to keep up with the increasing breadth of science—but it is still struggling with issues of diversity.

The size of this year's class (see below), announced last week, is 20% larger than in the past. The expansion, says NAS Home Secretary Stephen Berry of the University of Chicago, takes into account "the changing nature of science and the birth of new areas." Six new sections have been added to the existing 25, he noted—computational biology, computer and information science, environmental sciences, human ecology, immunology, and systems neurobiology—and the traditional quota of 60 has been raised to 72 for the next 6 years.

But even with a larger pool, the academy is having a hard time breaking the mold of choosing older, white males. Only seven of the 73 new members (physicist Leonard Mandel died after being nominated and another person filled his slot) are women, Berry notes, their average age remains unchanged, and African-American and Hispanic members are rare. "The concern is real, but how to do it is a problem," says Berry, who says the question of admitting more women was discussed at length during the academy's annual Sunday breakfast meeting. Geographic distribution is also a concern, he adds: Eight states have no NAS members.

This year's class brings the total number of active members to 1874. In addition, 15 foreign associates were elected. Newly elected members and their affiliations^{*} at the time of election:

Alcock, Charles, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia; Beaty, Barry J., Colorado State University, Fort Collins; Bender, Michael L., Princeton University, Princeton, New Jersey; Binford, Lewis R., Southern Methodist University, Dallas; Bjorkman, Pamela J., Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) and California Institute of Technology, Pasadena; Breiman, Leo, University of California (UC), Berkeley; Brookhart, Maurice S., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; Brooks, Frederick P., Jr., University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill: Brown. Robert A., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge; Brugge, Joan Siefert, Harvard Medical School, Boston; Bumpass, Larry Lee, University of

Wisconsin, Madison;

Cantley, Lewis C., Harvard Medical School; Carpenter, Stephen R., University of Wisconsin, Madison; Cava, Robert Joseph, Princeton University; Cerling, Thure E., University of Utah, Salt Lake City; Cresswell, Peter, HHMI and Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut; Crim, F. Fleming, Jr., University of Wisconsin, Madison; Curtiss, Roy, III, Washington University, St. Louis;

Dalgarno, Alexander, Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory and Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics, Cambridge, Massachusetts; Decamilli, Pietro V., HHMI and Yale University; Duke, Charles B., Xerox Research and Technology, Webster, New York; Einhorn, Lawrence H., Indiana University, Indianapolis; Exton, John H., HHMI and Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee; Fearon, Douglas T., University of Cambridge, Cambridge, U.K.; Field, Christopher B., Carnegie Institution of Washington, Stanford, California; Flynn, George William, Columbia University, New York City; Freedman, Stuart J., UC Berkeley; Friedman, Jeffrey M., HHMI and Rockefeller University, New York City; Fung, Inez Y., UC Berkeley;

Glazer, Alexander N., UC Berkeley; Goldberg, Robert Bruce, UC Los Angeles; Gordon, Jeffrey I., Washington University, St. Louis; Gossard, Arthur Charles, UC Santa Barbara; Gray, James N., Microsoft Corp., San Francisco; Green, Philip P., HHMI and University of Washington, Seattle; Groudine, Mark T., Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle; Heeger, Alan J., UC Santa Barbara, and NIAX Corp., Santa Barbara; Hemley, Russell J., Carnegie Institution of Washington, Washington, D.C.; Ingram, Lonnie O'Neal, University of Florida, Gainesville; Jokipii, Jack Randolph, University of Arizona, Tucson; Jones, Ronald Winthrop, University of Rochester, Rochester, New York; Joyce, Gerald F., Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, California;

Kahneman, Daniel, Princeton University; Kirby, Robion C., UC Berkeley; Klaenhammer, Todd R., North Carolina State University, Raleigh; Koehl, Mimi A. R., UC Berkeley; Kuriyan, John, HHMI and Rockefeller University; Lagarias, J., UC Davis; Landmesser, Lynn T., Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland; Lifton, Richard P., HHMI and Yale University; Mandel, Leonard, University of Rochester (elected posthumously); Margulis, Gregory A., Yale University; McClelland, James L., Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh; Millon, Rene, University of Rochester; Nordhaus, William D., Yale University; Ostrom, Elinor, Indiana University, Bloomington; Prescott, Charles Young, Stanford Linear Accelerator Center, Stanford, California; Putnam, Robert D., Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts;

Richter, Frank Morris, University of Chicago, Chicago; Saari, Donald G., UC Irvine; Scully, Marlan O., Texas A&M University, College Station; Seyferth, Dietmar, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Sommer, Alfred, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore; Steinman, Ralph Marvin, Rockefeller University; Summers, Jesse W., University of New Mexico, Albuquerque: Tank. David W., Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill, New Jersey; Taylor, Edwin W., University of Chicago; Vale, Ronald D., UC San Francisco; Valiant, Leslie G., Harvard University; Wald, Robert Manuel, University of Chicago; Waterman, Michael S., University of Southern California, Los Angeles; Zambryski, Patricia C., UC Berkeley; Zelmanov, Efim I., Yale University.

Newly elected foreign associates, their affiliations at the time of election, and their country of citizenship:

Allende, Jorge E., University of Chile, Santiago (Chile); Bar-Yosef, Ofer, Peabody Museum, Harvard University (Israel); Coen, Enrico Sandro, University of East Anglia, Norwich (U.K.); Crane, Peter Robert, Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (U.K.); Dasgupta, Partha Sarathi, University of Cambridge, Cambridge, U.K. (India); Doll, Richard, Imperial Cancer Research Fund, Oxford (U.K.);

Hansch, Theodor W., University of Munich and Max Planck Institute for Quantum Optics, Garching (Germany); Honjo, Tasuku, Kyoto University Faculty of Medicine (Japan); Maclennan, David, University of Toronto (Canada); Oxburgh, Ernest Ronald, Imperial College of Science, Technology, and Medicine, London (U.K.); Palis, Jacob, Instituto de Matematica Pura e Aplicada, Rio de Janeiro (Brazil); Powell, Michael, University of Cambridge (U.K.); Saveant, Jean-Michel, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, Paris (France); Van Dishoeck, Ewine F., Leiden University (Netherlands); Yanagimachi, Ryuzo, University of Hawaii, Honolulu (Japan).

^{*} For more detailed information, go to www.nas.edu