## INSIDE AAAS

edited by DIANA PABST

### Less Gain, More Pain

For years R&D managed to enjoy real growth in federal support, even when other discretionary programs were feeling the ax. But the reprieve may be up, according to a AAAS analysis of federal R&D funding for fiscal 1995.

"Although federal R&D hasn't hit a brick wall, its growth has been slowed noticeably in the past few years. This year's total doesn't

quite keep pace with inflation, so there's actually a decrease in real growth," says Steve Nelson, AAAS program director for Science, Technology, and Government and coauthor of the report Congressional Action on Research and Development in the FY 1995 Budget.

The report shows that Congress appropriated \$72.7 billion for R&D in fiscal 1995. That's a 2.5% increase over last year, but inflation is running at 2.8%. Furthermore, the R&D total for fis-

cal 1995 is \$400 million less than the amount provided 2 years ago.

Growth in nondefense R&D outpaced that for defense R&D, but defense R&D still accounts for 53% of overall federal R&D.

Nelson notes that in a year when appropriators felt they were "at the bone" in budget-cutting, R&D fared better than discretionary spending as a whole, which is set to rise by 2.2%.

The squeeze could get tighter, the report warns: "If the incom-

ing Congress refuses to touch the big-ticket entitlements or raise new revenues, then the pressure on discretionary programs like R&D may well intensify in the year to come."

The report, prepared with input from other association members of the Intersociety Working Group, is \$10.95 a copy, \$8.75 for AAAS members. Order from AAAS Distribution Center, P.O. Box 521, Annapolis Junction, MD 20701, phone 1-800-222-7809.

#### **Election Results**

Following are results of the 1994 election. The slate and vote count are given for the president-elect and board members; for other offices, successful candidates are listed. Terms begin 22 February 1995.

#### **General Offices**

President-Elect: Jerry L. Bona (6112); Jane Lubchenco (13,926). Board of Directors: C. K. Gunsalus (7198); Michael J. Novacek (10,368); Otto Thomas Solbrig (9050); Jean E. Taylor (11,399). Committee on Nominations: E. Margaret Burbidge, David L. Hull, Therese Ann Markow, Walter E. Massey.

### Section on Agriculture, Food, and Renewable Resources

Chair-Elect: Larry E. Schrader. Member-at-Large: P. Stephen Baenziger. Electorate Nominating Committee: Stella Melugin Coakley, Robert G. Zimbelman.

### **Section on Anthropology**

Chair-Elect: George J. Armelagos. Member-at-Large: Michael A. Little. Council Delegate: Emilio F. Moran. Electorate Nominating Committees G. A. Clark, M. Estellie Smith.

#### Section on Astronomy

Chair-Elect: Donat G. Wentzel. Member-at-Large: Paula Szkody. Council Delegate: Richard F. Green. Electorate Nominating Committee: Laura P. Bautz, Jonathan E. Grindlay.

# Section on Atmospheric and Hydrospheric Sciences

Chair-Elect: Michael C. MacCracken. Member-at-Large: John W. Winchester. *Electorate Nominating Committee*: Otis B. Brown, Tamara Shapiro Ledley.

### Section on Biological Sciences

Chair-Elect: James S. Clegg. Member-at-Large: Nancy H. Marcus. Council Delegates: Fred W. Allendorf, Mary G. Altalo, Marcus W. Feldman, Anne E. Giblin, Steven C. Hand, Nancy Knowlton, Alison G. Power, Judith A. Verbeke, Mimi Zolan. Electorate Nominating Committee: Yolanda P. Cruz, Naomi E. Pierce.

#### **Section on Chemistry**

Chair-Elect: John I. Brauman. Member-at-Large: Robert A. Moss. Council Delegates: Helen M. Free, Darleane C. Hoffman, Peter J. Stang. Electorate Nominating Committee: Edwin A. Chandross, Norman A. LeBel.

### **Section on Dentistry**

Chair-Elect: Bruce J. Baum. Member-at-Large: Max A. Listgarten. Electorate Nominating Committee: Pamela K. Den Besten, Vincent J. lacono.

#### Section on Education

Chair-Elect: Henry W. Heikkinen. Member-at-Large: Julia V. Clark. Electorate Nominating Committee: Angelo Collins, Barbara A. Gage.

### Section on Engineering

Chair-Elect: Richard Seebass. Member-at-Large: Edward W. Ernst. Electorate Nominating Committee: Charles W. Bert, Tingve Li.

## Section on General Interest in Science and Engineering

Chair-Elect: Eduardo L. Feller. Member-at-Large: Robert A. Kennedy. Electorate Nominating Committee: Carol Elizabeth Glasgow, Charles E. Kupchella.

### Section on Geology and Geography

Chair-Elect: Dallas L. Peck. Member-at-Large: Eugene M. Shoe-maker. Council Delegate: Charles L. Drake. Electorate Nominating Committee: Mary Lynne Bird, Allan A. (Tony) Ekdale.

### Section on History and Philosophy of Science

Chair-Elect: Kathryn M. Olesko. Member-at-Large: Richard W. Burkhardt Jr. Electorate Nominating Committee: Richard M. Burian, Sally Gregory Kohlstedt.

#### Section on Industrial Science

Chair-Elect: Christopher T. Hill. Member-at-Large: Sally A. Rood. Electorate Nominating Committee: Burton V. Dean, C. C. Gravatt Jr.

## Section on Information, Computing, and Communication

Chair-Elect: Marshall C. Yovits. Member-at-Large: Richard Michael Harris. Electorate Nominating Committee: Susanne M. Humphrey, Joan R. Rosenblatt.

### Section on Linguistics and Language Science

Chair-Elect: Sarah Grey Thomason. Member-at-Large: David Caplan. Electorate Nominating Committee: Linda R. Waugh, Arnold M. Zwicky.

#### **Section on Mathematics**

Chair-Elect: Richard S. Palais. Member-at-Large: Susan Landau. Council Delegate: Martin Golubitsky. Electorate Nominating Committee: James H. Curry, Michael S. Waterman.

### **Section on Medical Sciences**

Chair-Elect: Barry M. Brenner. Member-at-Large: Alvan R. Feinstein. Electorate Nominating Committee: Mary Ellen Avery, Mary K. Estes.

### Section on Pharmaceutical Sciences

Chair-Elect: Leslie Z. Benet. Member-at-Large: Grant R. Wilkinson. Electorate Nominating Committee: Jeanette C. Roberts, Ronald A. Siegel.

#### **Section on Physics**

Chair-Elect: William Happer. Member-at-Large: Patricia M. Dehmer. Council Delegates: Alex J. Dragt, Judy R. Franz. Electorate Nominating Committee: Paul A. Fleury, Maurice Goldhaber.

### Section on Psychology

Chair-Elect: Abram Amsel. Member-at-Large: Irving Biederman. Electorate Nominating Committee: Elizabeth D. Capaldi, Joanne L. Miller.

### Section on Social, Economic, and Political Sciences

Chair-Elect: Seymour M. Lipset. Member-at-Large: William P. Butz. Electorate Nominating Committee: Sandra S. Batie, Dale W. Jorgenson.

### Section on Societal Impacts of Science and Engineering

Chair-Elect: Richard (Pete) Andrews. Member-at-Large: Philip L. Bereano. Electorate Nominating Committee: James R. Karr, Allan S. Krass.

### **Section on Statistics**

Chair-Elect: Peter Bickel. Memberat-Large: Paula K. Roberson. Electorate Nominating Committee: Kathryn Chaloner, Joseph B. Kadane.