## NAS Elects New Members

The National Academy of Sciences elected 60 new members and 14 foreign associates on 25 April during its annual meeting. This brings the total current membership to 1573 and the foreign associate membership to 262. The newly elected members are:

William A. Berggren, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute; Robert B. Bird, University of Wisconsin, Madison; Winston J. Brill, University of Wisconsin, Madison; Curtis G. Callan, Jr., Princeton University; William A. Catterall, University of Washington, Seattle; Paul C.-W. Chu, University of Houston; Nicholas R. Cozzarelli, University of California, Berkeley; David L. Dilcher, Indiana University, Bloomington; James L. Dye, Michigan State University, East Lansing; Robert C. Dynes, AT&T Bell Laboratories; David S. Eisenberg, University of California, Los Angeles; Ronald M. Evans, Salk Institute; George B. Field, Harvard University; Neal L. First, University of Wisconsin.

Walter M. Fitch, University of Southern California; Hillel Furstenberg, Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel; Stanley M. Gartler, University of Washington, Seattle; Paul G. Gassman, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis; Frederick W. Gehring, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor; Stephen J. Gould, Harvard University; Robert H. Grubbs, California Institute of Technology; Alan H. Guth, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Arnel R. Hallauer, Iowa State University, Ames; Warren B. Hamilton, U.S. Geological Survey, Boulder: Philip C. Hanawalt, Stanford University; Arnold C. Harberger, University of California, Los Angeles; Pierre C. Hohenberg, AT&T Bell Laboratories; John W. Kappler, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Denver; Marc W. Kirschner, University of California, San Francisco.

William J. Lennarz, University of Texas, Houston; Gardner Lindzey, Stanford University; Stephen J. Lippard, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Frank E. Marble, California Institute of Technology; Philippa Marrack, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; John McCarthy, Stanford University; Richard A. McCray, University of Colorado, Boulder; James L. McGaugh, University of California, Irvine; Carver A. Mead, California Institute of Technology; Jane A. Menken, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia; Peter Meyer, University of Chicago; Ulric Neisser, Emory University; Gordon H. Orians, University of Washington, Seattle; Barbara H. Partee,

University of Massachusetts, Amherst; Dale Purves, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis.

Ora M. Rosen, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Research Center; John G. Sclater, University of Texas, Austin; Lawrence A. Shepp, AT&T Bell Laboratories; Gen Shirane, Brookhaven National Laboratories; Christopher A. Sims, University of Minnesota; William S. Sly, St. Louis University School of Medicine; Allan C. Spradling, Johns Hopkins University; Max D. Summers, Texas A&M University; John W. Terborgh, Princeton University; David H. Thomas, American Museum of Natural History, New York City; Kensal E. Van Holde, Oregon State University, Corvallis; Christopher T. Walsh, Harvard Medical School; Irving L. Weissman, Stanford University; Michael H. Wigler, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory; Ahmed H. Zewail, California Institute of Technology; Donald B. Zilversmit, Cornell University.

The new foreign associates are:

Ester T. Boserup, consultant and author, Switzerland; Tibor Farkas, Institute of Biochemistry, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Hungary; Marianne Frankenhaeuser, psychology, Karolinska Institutet, Sweden; Michael Gromov, mathematics, University of Paris VI, France; Chushiro Hayashi, Faculty of Science, Kyoto University, Japan; Rolf Huisgen, mathematics, University of Munich, Federal Republic of Germany; Wolfgang Kaiser, physics, Technische Universitat Munchen, Federal Republic of Germany; Gurdev S. Khush, plant breeder, International Rice Research Institute, Philippines; Nicole LeDouarin, L'Institut D'Embryologie du C.N.R.S. et du College de France, France; Ricardo Miledi, neurobiology, University of California, Irvine (Mexico); K. Alex Müller, physics, University of Zurich, Switzerland; Erwin Neher, membrane biophysics, Max-Planck-Institut für Biophysikalische Chemie, Federal Republic of Germany; Gottfried Schatz, Biocenter, University of Basel, Switzerland; Charles Weissmann, Institute of Molecular Biology, University of Zurich, Switzerland.

## Peoples Selected Head of Fermilab



John Peoples, Jr., the deputy director of Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, has been selected as the laboratory's next director. Peoples, 56, succeeds Leon Lederman, who headed Fermilab for 10 years and is leaving to teach at the University of Chicago.

An experimental physicist, Peoples played a lead role in building the Tevatron at Fermilab. Currently the world's most powerful particle accelerator, the Tevatron will soon be coming back into operation with a new detector.

Prior to becoming deputy director of Fermilab in September, Peoples served as head of the magnet division for the Central Design Group, which is responsible for designing the Superconducting Super Collider. **MARK CRAWFORD** 

## Nobelists Back Animal Research

More than 30 Nobel prizewinners have petitioned Surgeon General C. Everett Koop on the animal rights issue. "We ask you to present the scientific and humanitarian justification for the use of animals in medical research, in the same forthright and effective manner you used in dealing with the hazards of smoking," the Nobelists said. Concern about the increasing visibility and stridency of animal rights activists lies behind the effort to turn Koop into an equally visible activist for responsible research on animals. Among the petitioners: physicists John Bardeen and Leon Cooper; chemists Paul Berg, Donald Cram, and Linus Pauling; and Francis Crick, Joseph Goldstein, David Hubel, Gobind Khorana, Arthur Kornberg, and Howard Temin-all winners of the Nobel for medicine or physiology.

**BARBARA J. CULLITON**