advancing technology for further arms control efforts; and the major trends, both troublesome and reassuring, affecting the defense technology base.

These and other topics will be discussed by Colloquium panelists such as Ambassador Ronald Lehman, assistant secretary of Defense for international security policy; Brent Scowcroft, vice president, Kissinger Associates; and Michael May, associate director, Lawrence Livermore Laboratory; John Deutch, provost, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Thomas Cochran, senior staff scientist, Natural Resources Defense Council; and Ashton Carter, associate director, Center for Science and International Affairs, Harvard University.

In addition to plenary sessions, major addresses will include those by Robert Gates, deputy director, Central Intelligence Agency, on the future of U.S.—Soviet relations; and Wolfgang Panofsky, director, High Energy Physics Laboratory, Stanford University, discussing the role of science in making national security policy.

In each of the past 2 years, the Colloquium has brought together some 400 scientists, government policy-makers, business leaders, educators, and interested citizens to examine how science and technology interact with arms control and national security.

The Colloquium, sponsored by the AAAS Program on Science, Arms Control, and National Security, will be held at the Capital Hilton Hotel in Washington, D.C. All registrants will receive a *Conference Reader*, containing over a dozen essays on technology and arms control, and the complete proceedings of the Colloquium.

For more information on the Colloquium and registration forms, see the upcoming 12 and 26 August and 9 September issues of *Science*, or write to Raymond Orkwis, Program on Science, Arms Control, and National Security at the AAAS address.

EPA Fellows Pursuing Range of Research

The AAAS Environmental Science and Engineering Fellows arrived in Washington 6 June to begin 10-week fellowships at the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). This program, now in its eighth year, places scientists at EPA head-quarters, where they work on a research project that is chosen on the basis of the Fellow's interests and EPA priorities.

The AAAS arranges an orientation for the Fellows during their first week in Washington to introduce them to the agencies involved in environmental issues; this is followed by a weekly seminar series throughout the summer. During their last week at EPA, the Fellows present oral reports to EPA administrators and staff on the re-

sults of their research projects.

This year's Fellows and their research interests are: Andrea M. Dietrich (Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University), organic environment analysis using mass-spectrometric techniques; Daniel Gallagher (Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University), water quality monitoring; George R. Helz (University of Maryland), fate of pollutants in natural waters, epecially estuarine waters; Hugo A. Loaiciga (Wright State University), ground-water monitoring; James R. Mihelcic (Carnegie Mellon University), fate and transport of organic compounds in soil water systems; Emily Monosson (Cornell University), marine monitoring; Kathleen C. Raffaele (The Johns Hopkins University), effect of organophosphates on memory; Joan B. Rose (University of Arizona), risk assessment in waterborne protozoa; Shang-gyoo Shim (State University of New York at Albany), acid deposition modeling; and Frieda Taub (University of Washington), risk assessment for genetically engineered organisms.

For further information on the program, contact Lisbeth A. Levey, Office of Public Sector Programs, at the AAAS address.

AAAS Travelers

The Sri Lanka Association for the Advancement of Science (SLAAS) has invited AAAS to send a representative to its 44th Annual Session, set for 5 to 9 December 1988 in Colombo. The theme of the session will be "Education, Science, and Culture"

The AAAS delegate has been invited to deliver a lecture in his or her area of expertise to the relevant SLAAS section. SLAAS is especially interested in fostering interaction between foreign delegates and the Sri Lanka scientific community.

AAAS members who plan to be in the area in December and/ or who know of colleagues on sabbatical in the region who might be able to attend the meeting, should contact Sandra M. Burns, Office of International Science, at the AAAS address, before 30 September 1988. Please include a curriculum vitae. While no travel funds are available, AAAS will provide per diem for the meeting.

Obituaries

Miltiadis I. Iliopulos, research specialist, Moray Chemical Company, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, member of Section C since 1970, 20 June 1988

Ralph A. Messing of Horseheads, New York, member of Section C since 1956, 10 May 1988.

Sidney Mittler, Department of Biological Sciences, Northern Illinois University, member of Section G since 1948, 20 March 1988.

Robert B. Moore of Concord, California, member since 1987, 9 March 1988.

Hans A. Panofsky of San Diego, California, member of Section W since 1966, 28 February 1988.

Chairmen and Secretaries of AAAS Sections

MATHEMATICS (A) Gian-Carlo Rota Lynn Arthur Steen PHYSICS (B) Ronald Geballe Rolf M. Sinclair

CHEMISTRY (C)
Ronald Breslow
Blaine C. McKusick
ASTRONOMY (D)

Virginia Trimble John E. Gaustad GEOLOGY AND

GEOLOGY AND GEOGRAPHY (E) Bevan M. French Helen M. McCammon BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES (G) Bruce L. Umminger Judith P. Grassle ANTHROPOLOGY (H)

ANTHROPOLOGY (H) Irven DeVore Priscilla Reining

PSYCHOLOGY (J) Julian Hochberg William N. Dember

SOCIAL, ECONOMIC, AND POLITICAL SCIENCES (K) Judith Blake William R. Freudenburg HISTORY AND PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE (L)

David Hull Arthur L. Norberg ENGINEERING (M) Leroy S. Fletcher W. Edward Lear MEDICAL SCIENCES (N) Arnold S. Relman Henry Blackburn AGRICULTURE (O)

AGRICULTURE (O) William L. Colville Kenneth J. Frey

INDUSTRIAL SCIENCE (P) Charles F. Larson Robert L. Stern EDUCATION (Q)

Victor J. Mayer (To be appointed.) DENTISTRY (R) Ernest Newbrun Marie U. Nylen

PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES (S) Robert A. Wiley Betty-ann Hoener INFORMATION, COMPUTING, AND COMMUNICATION (T) Jerome A. Feldman Elliot R. Siegel

STATISTICS (U) Judith M. Tanur Joan R. Rosenblatt

ATMOSPHERIC AND HYDROSPHERIC SCI-ENCES (W) John H. Steele William H. Beasley

SOCIETAL IMPACTS OF SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING (X) Albert H. Teich Rosemary Chalk

GENERAL INTEREST IN SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING (Y) Ertle Thompson James M. McCullough

AAAS Divisions

ARCTIC DIVISION Thomas Morehouse President

Gunter E. Weller Executive Secretary CARIBBEAN DIVISION Herminio Lugo Lugo President

Lucy Gaspar Secretary-Treasurer PACIFIC DIVISION James Valentine President

Alan E. Leviton Executive Director SOUTHWESTERN AND ROCKY MOUNTAIN DIVISION Richard S. Glass President

M. Michelle Balcomb Executive Director

For more information about the activities and publications described in "AAAS News," write to the appropriate office, AAAS, 1333 H Street, NW, Washington, D.C. 20005, unless otherwise indicated.