Institute, University of Alaska Fairbanks, Fairbanks, Alaska 99775-0800, or call 907-474-7954.

## Chicago Site of Midwest R&D Meeting

"Traditional Industries—Innovative Research Approaches" will be the theme of a day-long R&D conference to be held in Chicago, Tuesday, 27 September 1988.

The conference, cosponsored by the AAAS, R&D Magazine, and the "R&D 2000" Committee, is for academic researchers and administrators, industry executives, R&D managers, and government laboratory officials. It will focus on the industrial economy of the Midwest and explore the ways in which new forms of R&D collaboration among industrial firms, universities, national laboratories, and other organizations can help reduce costs, improve productivity, and otherwise reinvigorate traditional industries.

Walter Massey, AAAS president and vice president of the University of Chicago for research and Argonne National Laboratory, will serve as conference chairman and open the meeting. Among the highlights of the program will be a set of small-group workshops which will feature speakers from institutions actively engaged in R&D collaboration. The workshops—which will address the ins and outs of such collaboration-will be run twice, so that conference participants will be able to attend two. John Ketteringham, senior vice president of Arthur D. Little, Inc., and author of Breakthroughs! will wrap up the program with a talk on "What to do next: Guidance for policymakers."

The meeting will be held at the Hotel Nikko Chicago, 320 North Dearborn Street. Registration (which includes luncheon and all conference materials) is \$120 in advance, \$135 at the door

Special room rates for partici-

pants are available at the Nikko. For information on the program and registration, contact Rob Cassidy, R&D 2000, 1350 East Touhy Avenue, Des Plaines, IL 60017 (telephone 312-390-2771) or Albert Teich, Office of Public Sector Programs at the AAAS address (telephone 202-326-6600).

## **SWARM Division Meets in Wichita**

Topics ranging from mass extinctions to the nature of intelligence were featured in sessions at the 64th annual meeting of the Southwestern and Rocky Mountain (SWARM) Division of the AAAS. Among the subiects discussed were traditional cultures and conservation of their biological diversity, composite materials research, the history of Great Plains argiculture, pattern recognition and machine intelligence, and animal conservation issues in the western United States.

Geologist and former astronaut instructor Eugene M. Shoemaker, in the keynote address, presented the argument that waves of comets or meteoroids striking Earth were probably responsible for mass extinctions of numerous species throughout Earth's history.

Other plenary lectures included Raymond F. Dasmann's address on the importance of cultural and biological diversity, and the John Wesley Powell Memorial Lecture by Donald B. McIntyre on Powell's role in promoting science in the last century.

At the annual banquet, Division president Russell D. Larsen of Texas Tech University spoke on the cumulative and interdependent nature of scientific discoveries.

In addition to symposia and plenary lectures, the meeting included contributed and student papers and optional field trips.

Some 300 people attended the Wichita meeting. The 1989 SWARM annual meeting will be in Las Cruces, New Mexico, and is tentatively scheduled for 5 to 8 April.

Copies of the 1988 program, including abstracts of most of the papers, are available prepaid for \$4 (plus \$1.50 postage and handling per order) from the SWARM Division. Make checks payable to "Colorado Mountain College." Write to M. Michelle Balcomb, Executive Director, SWARM AAAS, Colorado Mountain College, 3000 County Road 114, Glenwood Springs, Colorado 81601.

## **Obituaries**

Robeson H. Allport of Seattle, Washington, member of Section Y since 1987, 17 March 1988.

Derwood B. Bird of Pacifica, California, member of Section C since 1966, 30 December 1987.

Kent K. Curtis, chief scientist, Directorate of Computer and Information Science and Engineering, National Science Foundation, member of Section T since 1978, 17 December 1987.

Merrill W. Everhard of San Angelo, Texas, member of Section N since 1943, 24 January 1988.

Earl Felix of Knoxville, Tennessee, member of Section G since 1924, 5 November 1987.

Jerome Fisher of Phoenix, Arizona, member of Section E since 1925, 18 January 1988.

Florence K. FitzPatrick of Plainfield, New Jersey, member of Section N since 1938, 26 April 1988.

A. Donald Green of Mountainside, New Jersey, member of Section M since 1948, 26 April 1988.

Geoffrey Keighley of Toronto, Ontario, member of Section N since 1948, 24 March 1988.

Deane F. Kent, chairman of the board, Kenwill Inc., Maryville, Tennessee, member of Section E since 1966, 22 March 1988.

Kate P. Kent of El Rito, New Mexico, member of Section H since 1963, 28 October 1987.

Charles G. King of Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, member

of Section C since 1934, 23 January 1988.

Hibberd V. Kline, Jr., of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, member of Section E since 1966, 2 March 1988.

Charles J. Krister of Wilmington, Delaware, member of Section C since 1943, 7 December 1987.

Allen C. Lawson, Jr., of Ypsilanti, Michigan, member since 1986, 4 May 1988.

Harold F. Meese of Buffalo, New York, member of Section X since 1965, 13 October 1987.

Malcolm Merrill of Walnut Creek, California, member of Section N since 1942, 13 November 1987.

Edward Peskin, professor emeritus, Stevens Institute of Technology, member since 1982, 12 May 1988.

Erich H. Rothe of Ann Arbor, Michigan, member of Section A since 1945, 19 February 1988.

Edward V. Somers of Murrysville, Pennsylvania, member of Section X since 1977, 26 October 1987.

Robert L. Stanton of Miami, Florida, member of Section N since 1986, 6 April 1988.

Marvin D. Steinberg of Boca Raton, Florida, member of Section G since 1951, 21 November 1987.

Fred Sun of Roscoe, Illinois, member of Section M since 1980, 10 October 1987.

Benjamin A. Tator of Miami, Florida, member since 1980, 5 February 1988.

John J. Turechek of Glendale, California, member of Section M since 1977, 4 March 1988.

Roger J. Williams, Department of Chemistry, University of Texas (retired), member of Section C since 1925, 20 February 1988.

Jerry Zaslow of Elkins Park, Pennsylvania, member of Section N since 1972, 8 December 1987.