its funding of basic research and open up Japanese science to foreign scientists.

As approved by the OECD council, however, the guidelines are now seen as having a much broader application in both bilateral and multilateral negotiations. Although lacking legal status, they are intended to act as a type of moral consensus indicating approved and disapproved practices.

Some officials claim such a consensus will play a significant role in purely national science policy debates. "It provides an important tool for people trying to maintain an open scientific system at a time when others in favor of introducing more closed systems appear to be gaining momentum," says one.

The statement could also provide some leverage in bilateral agreements. The recom-

mendation that OECD countries should facilitate scientists' access to major basic research facilities, for example, is seen by some as supporting those who have criticized the United States for the restrictions it places on access to supercomputers, a topic that continues to generate considerable heat in Europe.

In the multilateral context, countries such as West Germany are reported to have been keen supporters of a recommendation favoring the promotion of access to data banks and information networks, an increasingly important channel for recording research results.

According to a covering statement from the OECD, its member countries, in approving the council's recommendations, have at the same time recognized that "there may exist limitations to the openness of the systems when it comes to the application of science and technology."

For example, the recommendations "note" without criticism that before transferring "certain technologies and related information" to other states, some OECD members require assurances "for reasons of national defense or security" that both the technologies and the information will be adequately protected.

No detailed definition is provided, however, either of what falls into this category of "related information," or how it differs from the "technological knowledge" whose open communication is encouraged.

DAVID DICKSON

NAS Elects New Members

Robert C. Gallo, the NIH virologist who is codiscoverer of the AIDS virus, has won nearly every important award his field has to bestow and he has given innumerable major named lectures worldwide. But he has been passed over several times in the election of members of the National Academy of Sciences. Last week, however, Gallo was finally elected to the Academy—an honor that he says means more to him than all his other awards. "This is an extraordinary day I'll remember all my life," he said when he got word of the election. "I can't begin to say how much this means."

The Academy elected 61 new members and 15 foreign associates at its annual meeting, bringing its total ranks to 1540 and 257, respectively. The new members are as follows:

Fred C. Anson, California Institute of Technology; Dale E. Bauman, Cornell University; Stanley D. Beck, University of Wisconsin; Stephan Berko, Brandeis University; Robert M. Berne, University of Virginia; Charles R. Cantor, Columbia University; Eric E. Conn, University of California, Davis; Max D. Cooper, University of Alabama, Birmingham; Lawrence F. Dahl, University of Wisconsin; Russ E. Davis, Scripps Institution of Oceanography; Robert E. Dickinson, National Center for Atmospheric Research; Thomas Dunne, University of Washington; Mitchell J. Feigenbaum, Rockefeller University; John A. Ferejohn, Stanford University; Maurice S. Fox, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Carl Frieden, Washington University; Robert C. Gallo, National Institutes of Health; Roy J. Glauber, Harvard University; James P. Gordon, AT&T Bell Laboratories; Frances K. Graham, University of Delaware; Ann M. Graybiel, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Morris Halle, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Theodore E. Harris, University of Southern California; Herbert A. Hauptman, State University of New York, Buffalo; Henry M. Hoenigswald (professor emeritus), University of Pennsylvania; John K. Hulm, Westinghouse Research Laboratories; T. Kent Kirk, U.S. Forest Products Laboratory; Alfred G. Knudson, Jr., Institute for Cancer Research; Joseph J. Kohn, Princeton University; Tsune Kosuge (elected posthumously), University of California, Davis; Joseph Kraut, University of California, San Diego; Rolf W. Landauer, IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center; Robert J. Lefkowitz, Duke University; Donald H. Levy, University of Chicago; Vincent T. Marchesi, Yale University; John N. Mather, Princeton University; Stanley G. Nathenson, Albert Einstein College of Medicine; Eldon H. Newcomb, University of Wisconsin; Fernando Nottebohm, Rockefeller University; Richard D. Palmiter, University of Washington; Alexander Pines, University of California, Berkelev

Robert H. Purcell, National Institutes of Health; John D.

Reppy, Cornell University; Eugene Roberts, Beckman Research Institute of the City of Hope; Edwin W. Roedder, Harvard University; Robert G. Roeder, Rockefeller University; John R. Roth, University of Utah; Dana S. Scott, Carnegie Mellon University; Robert J. Shepherd, University of Kentucky; Anthony E. Siegman, Stanford University; George N. Somero, Scripps Institution of Oceanography; Hyron Spinrad, University of California, Berkeley; Joseph E. Stiglitz, Princeton University; George D. Watkins, Lehigh University; Patty J. Watson, Washington University; Mary J. West-Eberhard, Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute; Edward Witten, Princeton University; Carl R. Woese, University of Illinois; Alfred P. Wolf, Brookhaven National Laboratory; M. Gordon Wolman, Johns Hopkins University; Robert H. Wurtz, National Institutes of Health.

The new foreign associates, affiliations, and countries of citizenship are:

David R. Cox, Imperial College of Science and Technology, United Kingdom; Jack D. Dunitz, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, United Kingdom; Otto H. Frankel, Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization, Australia; Frank H. Hahn, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom; Jeremy R. Knowles, Harvard University, United Kingdom; Dan P. McKenzie, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom; Yasutomi Nishizuka, Kobe University, Japan; Phillip J. Peebles, Princeton University, Canada; Raymond A. Price, Geological Survey of Canada, Canada; Werner E. Reichardt, University of Tubingen, Federal Republic of Germany; Heinrich Rohrer, IBM Zurich Research Laboratory, Switzerland; Jens C. Skou, University of Aarhus, Denmark; Richard Southwood, University of Oxford, United Kingdom; Walter E. Thirring, University of Vienna, Austria; Endel Tulving, University of Toronto, Canada.