changed. Materials on education, employment, research, organizations, and individual scientists will be displayed.

> JOAN WRATHER Office of Communications

More Museum Benefits Announced

AAAS is pleased to announce that the New York Hall of Science is now offering a 10 percent discount on individual and family museum membership to AAAS members in the New York City area. This new benefit is the result of increasing cooperation between AAAS and science and technology centers around the nation, as the Association works toward its goal of increasing public understanding of science. Other museums offering AAAS member discounts include the Museum of Science and Industry in Chicago, the Exploration in San Francisco, the Franklin Institute of Philadelphia, and the Pacific Science Center in Seattle.

The New York Hall of Science, a hands-on science center, features exhibits on "Feedback"—the world of self-sensing machines; "Seeing the Light" an exploration of light, color, and illusion; "The Invisible World" of biology; and the mysterious "Realm of the Atom." Museum membership includes a year of unlimited admission, free parking, *Hall of Science News*, book borrowing privileges at the Science Access Center, discounts at the gift shop, discounts on workshops and courses, and free admission to more than 50 science and technology museums around the world. Monthly member events also are included.

AAAS members in the New York City area should be on the lookout for more information coming in the mail this month. Or, contact the Membership Department at the New York Hall of Science, 47-01 111th Street, Corona, New York 11368.

The Association is working to extend this new museum benefit to many other science and technology centers around the country. Watch "AAAS News" for further announcements.

> Marlene Zendell Membership Office

Entries Asked for Behavioral Science Research Prize

Submission of entries in the 1988 competition for the AAAS Prize for Behavioral Science Research is invited. Established in 1952 with funds donated by Arthur F. Bentley, the \$2500 prize is awarded annually for innovative studies and analyses that further understanding of human psychological-social-cultural behavior. The prize is intended to encourage the development and applications of methods for the study of social behavior, using the logic of observation and explication so fruitful in any scientific endeavor.

Entries should present a completed analysis of a problem, the relevant data, and an interpretation of the data in terms of the assumptions with which the study began.

The winning entry will be selected by a judging committee appointed by the Executive Officer in consultation with officers of the AAAS Sections on Anthropology (H), Psychology (J), and Social, Economic, and Political Sciences (K). The prize will be presented at the 1989 Annual Meeting in San Francisco in January. The prize recipient's travel and hotel expenses incurred in attending the award presentation will be reimbursed.

Unpublished manuscripts and manuscripts published after 1 January 1987 are eligible. The deadline for receipt of entries is 1 August 1988. For entry blank and instructions, write to the AAAS Executive Office.

Amendment to AAAS Constitution Adopted

An amendment to AAAS Constitution Article VI, Officers, Section 2, Administrative Officers, was submitted by mail ballot to the AAAS membership this fall. The amendment proposed changing the last sentence of Section 2 from "Each Section Secretary shall be elected by his or her Section Committee for a term of four years" to "Each Section Secretary shall be appointed by the Section Steering group for a term of four years." By a vote of 19,070 to 2,495, the amendment was approved. The ratified amendment became effective upon adoption. These results were inadvertently omitted from the election results published in the 1 January 1988 issue of *Science*.

Nomination of AAAS Fellows Invited

The AAAS Executive Office invites groups of three Fellows to nominate AAAS members for election as Fellows, provided that in each instance at least one of the three sponsors is not affiliated with the institution of the nominee. In order to be considered for election in 1989, nominations must be received no later than 10 June 1988. Nomination forms should be requested from the Executive Office at the AAAS address.

A Fellow is defined as "a Member whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished." Examples or areas in which nominees may have made significant contributions are research; teaching; technology; services to professional societies; administration in academe, industry, government, and other institutions; and communicating and interpreting science to the public.

Chairmen and Secretaries of AAAS Sections MATHEMATICS (A) Hyman Bass Lynn Arthur Steen PHYSICS (B) Herman Feshbach Rolf M. Sinclair CHEMISTRY (C) Norman Hackerman Jean'ne M. Shreeve ASTRONOMY (D) Jay M. Pasachof John E. Gaustad GEOLOGY AND GEOGRAPHY (E) George Rapp, Jr Helen M. McCammon

BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES Judith H. Willis Judith P. Grassle ANTHROPOLOGY (H) John E. Yellen Priscilla Reining PSYCHOLOGY (J) Michael I. Posner William N. Dember SOCIAL, ECONOMIC, AND POLITICAL SCIENCES (K) Peter H. Rossi William R. Freudenburg HISTORY AND PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE (L) Joseph W. Dauben Arthur L. Norberg ENGINEERING (M) Robert F. Cotellessa

W. Edward Lear

MEDICAL SCIENCES (N) Helen M. Ranney Henry Blackburn AGRICULTURE (O) Charles O. Gardn Ralph J. McCracken INDUSTRIAL SCIENCE (P) Daniel Berg Robert L. Sterr EDUCATION (Q) Rita W. Peterson Joseph D. Novak DENTISTRY (R) Clifton O. Dummett Marie U. Nylen PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES (S) Klaus G. Flore Betty-ann Hoener

INFORMATION COMPUTING, AND COMMUNICATION (T) Joyce Friedmar Elliot R. Siegel STATISTICS (U) Ramanathan Gnanadesikan Joan R. Rosenblatt ATMOSPHERIC AND HYDROSPHERIC SCI-ENCES (W) Robert A. Duce William H. Beasley SOCIETAL IMPACTS OF SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING (X) Janice G. Hamrin Rosemary A. Chalk GENERAL INTEREST IN SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING (Y) Dael Wolfle James M. McCullough

AAAS Divisions ARCTIC DIVISION Thomas Morehouse President

Gunter E. Weller Executive Secretary CARIBBEAN DIVISION Juan A. Bonnet, Jr. President Lucy Gaspar Secretary-Treasurer PACIFIC DIVISION Orrin E. Smith President Alan E. Leviton Executive Director

For more information about the activities and publications described in "AAAS News," write to the appropriate office, AAAS, 1333 H Street, NW, Washington, D.C. 20005, unless otherwise indicated.

SCIENCE, VOL. 239

SOUTHWESTERN AND ROCKY MOUNTAIN DIVISION Russell Larsen President M. Michelle Balcomb Executive Director