tention of Carol L. Rogers, Office of Communications, at the AAAS address. The workshop is scheduled for Sunday morning, 14 February, beginning at 8:30 a.m.

■ "So You Want to Be on TV? Scientists Face the Cameras" will present the ABC's of how to appear on television, and will give the audience an opportunity to participate in an actual videotaping of an "interview" with a scientist attending the Annual Meeting. Producers will discuss what they look for in a television guest, and will provide examples of good and bad science news reports. The workshop, led by independent radio/ television producer Ira Flatow, is scheduled for Sunday afternoon, 14 February, beginning at 2:30 p.m.

 "Writing Strategies for Scientists and Engineers" will get under way with a discussion of writing strategies that enhance reader understanding of technical information. Participants will discuss ways of packaging information with nonscientists in mind and will get some actual practice at writing a newspaper science story. They will receive feedback on their efforts in small group settings, each group under the tutelage of an experienced mass media science writer. The workshop, led by Sharon

Dunwoody of the University of Wisconsin, Madison, is scheduled for Monday morning, 15 February, beginning ast 8:30 a.m.

1987 Board Election Results

The successful candidates in the 1987 Board of Directors election are listed below. Their terms of office begin on 16 February 1988, immediately following the Association's Annual Meeting in Boston, 11 to 15 February.

President-Elect: Richard C. Atkinson, chancellor, University of California, San Diego (13,241 votes), over Herman Feshbach, Institute Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (10,498 votes).

Elected to the Board of Directors: Harold Amos, chairperson, Division of Medical Sciences, and Maude and Lillian Presley Professor of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics, Harvard Medical School (14,526 votes), and Eugene H. Cota-Robles, assistant vice president, Academic Affairs, University of California, Berkeley (12,659 votes), over Evelyn Fox Keller, professor, mathematics and humanities, Northeastern University (12,360 votes), and William J.

Wilson, chair, Department of Sociology, University of Chicago (5,359 votes).

Complete results of the 1987 AAAS general and electorate elections will be announced in the 1 January 1988 issue of *Science*.

New Exhibit Features Chemical Painting

Dyography (TM), or chemical painting was created by artist Donald Leavitt in 1978. He paints colorless chemicals onto large sheets of Polacolor film negatives to create vibrant images. Leavitt uses approximately 60 different chemicals and times their reactions to get the desired effects. He calls his art form "high-tech expressionism."

Levitt's work will be on display at the AAAS headquarters from 4 December to 15 January. AAAS members are encouraged to stop by Association headquarters while in Washington and enjoy the exhibits mounted by AAAS Science and Art Program.

The Dyography exhibit will be at the AAAS through the courtesy of the artist and the American Chemical Society which brought the paintings to Washington as part of its National Chemistry Day celebration.

Request for AAAS Travelers in Australia

AAAS has been invited to send a representative to the 1988 Centenary Congress of the Australian and New Zealand Association for the Advancement of Science (ANZAAS) which will take place 16 to 20 May 1988 on the campus of the University of Sydney where the inaugural Congress was held in August 1888. The 1988 Centenary Congress is also expected to be one of the most significant and prestigious events of the Australian Bicentennial year, attracting a wide range of eminent national and international speakers.

AAAS members who plan to be in the area at the time and/or who know of colleagues on sabbatical in the region who might be able to attend should contact Sandra M. Burns, Office of International Science, at the AAAS address before 31 January 1988. Please include a curriculum vitae. While no travel funds are available, a modest per diem will be provided.

Chairmen and Secretaries of AAAS Sections	BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES (G)	MEDICAL SCIENCES (N) Helen M. Ranney	INFORMATION, COMPUTING, AND	AAAS Divisions	SOUTHWESTERN AND
MATHEMATICS (A) Hyman Bass	Judith H. Willis Judith P. Grassle ANTHROPOLOGY (H) John E. Yellen Priscilla Reining PSYCHOLOGY (J) Michael I. Posner William N. Dember SOCIAL, ECONOMIC, AND POLITICAL SCIENCES (K) Peter H. Rossi William R. Freudenburg	Henry Blackburn AGRICULTURE (O) Charles O. Gardner Ralph J. McCracken INDUSTRIAL SCIENCE (P) Daniel Berg Robert L. Stern EDUCATION (Q) Rita W. Peterson Joseph D. Novak DENTISTRY (R) Clifton O. Dummett Marie U. Nylen PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES (S) Klaus G. Florey Betty-ann Hoener	COMMUNICATION (T) Joyce Friedman Elliot R. Siegel	ARCTIC DIVISION Thomas Morehouse President	ROCKY MOUNTAIN DIVISION Russell Larsen President M. Michelle Balcomb Executive Director For more information about the activities and publica- tions described in "AAAS News," write to the appropri- ate office, AAAS, 1333 H Street, NW, Washington, D.C. 20005, unless other- wise indicated.
Lynn Arthur Steen PHYSICS (B)			STATISTICS (U) Ramanathan Gnanadesikan Joan R. Rosenblatt	Gunter E. Weller Executive Secretary	
Herman Feshbach Rolf M. Sinclair				CARIBBEAN DIVISION Juan A. Bonnet, Jr. President	
CHEMISTRY (C)			ATMOSPHERIC AND HYDROSPHERIC SCI- ENCES (W) Robert A. Duce		
Norman Hackerman Jean'ne M. Shreeve				Lucy Gaspar Secretary-Treasurer PACIFIC DIVISION Orrin E. Smith President	
ASTRONOMY (D) Jay M. Pasachoff John E. Gaustad			William H. Beasley SOCIETAL IMPACTS OF SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING (X) Janice G. Hamrin Rosemary A. Chalk		
GEOLOGY AND GEOGRAPHY (E) George Rapp, Jr. Helen M. McCammon	HISTORY AND PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE (L) Joseph W. Dauben			Alan E. Leviton Executive Director	
	Arthur L. Norberg		GENERAL INTEREST IN SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING (Y) Dael Wolfle James M. McCullough		
	ENGINEERING (M) Robert F. Cotellessa W. Edward Lear				

4 DECEMBER 1987