yearlong seminar series to continue their public policy learning experience.

The 1987–88 Congressional Science and Engineering Fellows, their affiliations, and their sponsoring organizations are: David Blockstein, University of Wisconsin, American Institute of Biological Sciences; Barbara Boardman, Kennedy Memorial Hospital (Cambridge, Massachusetts), Office of Technology Assessment (OTA); James Evans, University of Washington, Geological Society of America; Eric Fischer, University of Washington, AAAS; William Foster, Rutgers University, Society for Research in Child Development (SRCD); Barbara Fox, University of Maryland, SRCD; Michael Gluck, Harvard Center for Health Policy and Management, OTA; Edwin Goldin, Bethany College, American Physical Society (APS); James Glover, Sandia National Laboratories, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE); Clark Johnson, Magnetic Media Information Services (Denver), IEEE; Jana Milford, Carnegie Mellon University, OTA; Brenda Myers-Bohlke, Parsons, Brinckerhofs, Quade, and Douglas, Inc. (Berkeley, California), National Society of Professional Engineers; Miriam Nelson, Tufts University, AAAS; Sherry Oaks, University of Colorado, American Geophysical Union; Joseph Romm, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, APS; Robin Roy, Stanford University, OTA; Mark Shaefer, Stanford University School of Medicine, OTA; Jill Snowdon, University of Wisconsin, American Society for Microbiology; Andrea Solarz, Michigan State Department of Mental Health, American Psychological Association (APA); George Sponsler, Law, Technology, and Mathematics, Inc., (Bethesda, Maryland), IEEE; Krista Stewart, Tulane University, APA; Michael Sutton, Carnegie Mellon University, American Chemical Society; and Nancy Thomas, University of Michigan, SRCD.

The 1987-88 Science, Engi-



Fellows for 1987–1988 stand for class photo on steps of Capitol.

neering, and Diplomacy Fellows include: Elizabeth Beckemeyer, University of North Carolina, AID; David Eaton, Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs, State Department; Alexandra Fairfield, University of California, San Francisco, AID; Ruth Frischer, New York University, AID; Marty Fujita, Harvard University, AID; Lee Hannah, U.S. House Subcommittee on International Development, Institutions, and Finance, AID; Hiram Larew, U.S. Department of Agriculture, AID; Charles Lawson, U.S. Geological Survey, State Department; Shari Libicki, Alza Corporation (Palo Alto, California), State Department; Gregory Miller, University of Connecticut, AID; Janet Rice, Yale University, AID; Barbara Sina, Harvard Medical School, AID; and Linda Valleroy, U.S. House Subcommittee on Intergovernmental Relations and Human Resources.

AAAS will again sponsor two Congressional Fellows for the 1988–89 year, and is accepting applications for these and for several Diplomacy fellowships until 15 January 1988. For information on application requirements for both programs, as well as a list of other societies participating in the Congressional Fellows program, write to the Office of Public Sector Programs at the AAAS address.

Obituaries

Deborah Adler-Grinberg, College of Optometry, University of Houston, member of Section N since 1979, 19 May 1987.

Woodward D. Beacham of Brandon, Mississippi, member of Section N since 1950, 2 May 1987.

Alice E. Boehm of Stamford, Connecticut, member of Section J since 1945, 25 July 1987.

Walter Brattain, Nobel laureate and coinventor of the transistor, member of Section B since 1934, 13 October 1987.

Frank Brescia of Hillsdale, New Jersey, member of Section C since 1934, 11 June 1987.

Merlin Martin Brubaker of Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, member of Section O since 1939, 23 July 1987.

Adelaide K. Bullen, adjunct curator of anthropology, Florida State University, member of Section H since 1950, 17 May 1987.

Jane D. M. Clotworthy of Greensburg, Pennsylvania, member of Section C since 1937, 22 July 1987.

Thaddeus S. Danowski of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, member of Section N since 1947, 12 September 1987.

George B. Durham of Salem, Oregon, member of Section G since 1923, 31 July 1987.

Thomas W. Easton, professor of biology, Colby College, member of Section G since 1972, 20 July 1987. Harvey Finison of Northampton, Massachusetts, member of Section K since 1973, 14 June 1987.

Norman Frisch of Princeton, New Jersey, member of Section A since 1960, 23 June 1987.

Frank C. Frischknecht of Denver, Colorado, member of Section E since 1960, 12 August 1987.

Henry Gisser of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, member of Section C since 1952, 8 June 1987.

Clarence Goodnight of Kalamazoo, Michigan, member of Section G since 1939, 30 July 1987.

Thomas LaBarbera of Boynton Beach, Florida, member of Section N since 1962, 2 August 1987.

Erlend R. Lowrey of Cincinnati, Ohio, member of Section M since 1961, 31 April 1987.

Florence MacLeod, retired professor of human ecology, University of Tennessee, member of Section G since 1925, 17 September 1987.

Marco A. Martinez of Watsonville, California, member of Section N since 1967, 25 July 1987.

Arch Merritt of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, member of Section M since 1965, 11 May 1987.

Hallam L. Movius of Cambridge, Massachusetts, member of Section H since 1950, 30 May 1987.

G. Edward Pendray, founder of the American Rocket Society, member of Section M since 1932, 15 September 1987.

Jackson O. Powell, professor emeritus of psychology, Wichita State University, member of Section J since 1954, 4 July 1987.

Ole J. Rafaelsen, Department of Psychiatry, Rigshospitalet, Copenhagen, member of Section N since 1969, 20 August 1987.

Arthur B. Shuck of Wildwood, Florida, member of Section Y since 1965, 21 March 1987.

Thomas R. Soderstrom, curator, Department of Botany, Smithsonian Institution, member of Section G since 1977, 1 September 1987.

Walter F. Stafford, Jr., of Buffalo, New York, member of Section N since 1951, 12 August 1987.

Donald F. Utter of Albuquerque, New Mexico, member of Section K since 1946, 20 July 1987.

Shobhana Vora of San Diego, California, member of Section N since 1980, 12 June 1987.

Donald A. Wallace of Wilmette, Illinois, member of Section A since 1943, 7 July 1987.

Robert R. Williams of Lusby, Maryland, member of Section N since 1961, 30 July 1987.