activity. Cosponsors for the award are the Westinghouse Electric Fund and AAAS. It is administered by the AAAS Committee on Public Understanding of Science and Technology.

The deadline for receipt of nominations is 15 October 1987. For additional information and nomination forms, contact Patricia S. Curlin at the AAAS address.

Pacific Division Meets in San Diego

Sessions at the annual meeting of the Pacific Division focused on the full range of the sciences from underutilized desert plants to fringe medicine and pseudoscience.

Meeting attendees heard a number of key researchers make the argument that the gradual extinction of early forms of plants and animals is more likely than the single catastrophic event theory of extinctions.

In other sessions, speakers argued about the efficacy of lie detectors in a variety of circumstances, discussed how best to share natural resources and research on those shared resources with Mexico, and learned about new studies combining mathematical modeling with human nutrition.

Plenary lectures focused on AIDS, hominoid evolution, and—a particular hit—faith healing. James Randi, aka. "The Amazing Randi," told a large and enthusiastic audience about some of his victories in debunking claims of the paranormal.

At the Division's banquet, Pacific Division president T. John Conomos, regional hydrologist for the Pacific Region, U.S. Geological Survey, gave an illustrated lecture on California's water distribution system.

In addition to symposia, the meeting included contributed and student papers in ecology, botany, psychology, atmospheric science, earth science, science education, history and philosophy of science, general biology, and interdisciplinary studies.

Some 450 people attended the San Diego meeting. The 1988 Pacific Division annual meeting will be in Corvalis, Oregon, 19 to 23 June.

Copies of the 1987 meeting program, including abstracts of most of the papers, are available prepaid for \$3 (plus \$1.50 postage and handling per order and 6.5 percent tax for California residents) from the Pacific Division. Make checks payable to "California Academy of Sciences." Write to Alan E. Leviton, Pacific Division AAAS, California Academy of Sciences, Golden Gate Park, San Francisco, California 94118.

Obituaries

Roy S. Anderson of Broomall, Pennsylvania, member of Section C since 1979, 24 March 1987. John F. Baxter, Jr., Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus of Chemistry, University of Florida, member of Section C since 1948, 15 March 1987.

Lewis N. Bell of Minneapolis, Minnesota, member of section G since 1986, 18 May 1987.

C. Ross Bloomquist of Carrington, North Dakota, member of Section C since 1946, 4 June 1987.

G. Walker Daubenspeck of Seabrook, Texas, member of Section X since 1949, 10 May 1987.

Gordon Leslie Dugger of Silver Spring, Maryland, member of Section M since 1971, 21 March 1987.

Harriet M. Felton of Boerne, Texas, member of Section N since 1954, 28 May 1987.

Eunice V. Flock of Phoenix, Arizona, member of Section N since 1945, 17 March 1987.

John J. Gallagher of La Jolla, California, member of Section G since 1946, 27 April 1987.

Leon P. Gaucher of Fishkill, New York, member since 1984, 26 June 1987.

Robert W. Gerdel, retired chief, Environmental Research Branch, U.S. Army, Cold Regions Research and Engineering Laboratory, member of Section E since 1961, 27 March 1987.

Richard W. Jones of Evanston, Illinois, member of Section M since 1973, 26 February 1987. Henrietta M. Kalicki of Garden City, New York, member of Section G since 1972, 4 April 1987.

Leon S. Nergaard of Princeton, New Jersey, member of Section B since 1945, 9 May 1987.

Myrle M. Perkins of Santa Cruz, California, member of Section C since 1965, 23 May 1987.

Henry J. Rehn of Carbondale, Illinois, member of Section K since 1937, 3 March 1987.

Paul J. Reynolds of Kensington, Maryland, member of Section O since 1958, 5 June 1987.

Jerry Sadenwasser of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, member since 1986, 18 June 1987.

Roger Shaw of Frederick, Maryland, member of Section G since 1975, 29 March 1987.

P. Brian Stewart of Ridgefield Center, Connecticut, member of Section N since 1965, 1 April 1987.

John Toth of Salem, Kentucky, member of Section C since 1948, 24 April 1987.

J. P. Tully of Sidney, British Columbia, past president of the Pacific Division, AAAS, 19 May 1987.

D. J. Whittingham of Westerville, Ohio, member of Section C since 1964, 18 May 1987.

Walter C. Yaeger of Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, member of Section M since 1956, 24 May 1987.