lof, Ph.D. candidate in structural and regional techtonics at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (*The Oregonian*, Portland); and William G. Wild, Jr., an industrial engineer at the State University of New York at Buffalo (*Business Week*).

The fellowship experience has a notable impact beyond the duration of the 10 weeks. Many program alumni, which now total 205, have chosen to pursue careers in science journalism on a full-time basis. Others have continued to free-lance at least part-time. Those individuals who, upon completion of the fellowship, return to careers as scientists and engineers play a valuable role in educating their peers about the ways of the media and the level of scientific literacy and understanding among the general public. Finally, the media site hosts benefit from the different perspectives of students with scientific and technical expertise.

The AAAS Mass Media Science and Engineering Fellows Program is supported by grants from private corporations, foundations, and associations, as well as by the AAAS.

Additional information and applications for the 1988 Mass Media Science and Engineering Fellows Program can be obtained by writing Susan Sauer, Office of Public Sector Programs at the AAAS address.

LISBETH A. LEVEY
SUSAN SAUER
Office of Public Sector Programs

Abelson Receives National Medal of Science

Former *Science* editor Philip Hauge Abelson received a National Medal of Science from President Ronald Reagan on Thursday, 25 June, in ceremonies at the White House. He was honored for "his pathbreaking contributions in radiochemistry, physics, geophysics, biophysics, and biochemistry and for his vigorous and penetrating counsel on national matters involving science and technology."

"I was delighted to be named as a recipient of the National Medal of Science," said Abelson. But, he adds philosophically, "I am more interested in trying to be a useful part of the present and the future than in contemplating events of the past."

Heart surgeon Michael E. DeBakey, Baylor College of Medicine; radiation belt discoverer James A. VanAllen, University of Iowa; and mathematician Michael Freedman, University of California, San Diego, were among the recipients of this year's National Medal of Science.

The National Medal of Science is the nation's highest scientific honor bestowed by the President. Established in 1959, the Medal is awarded to individuals who deserve special recog-

nition for their contributions to knowledge in the physical, behavioral, or social sciences. Selection is based on the total impact and importance of an individual's work on the present state of his or her chosen field. In addition, achievements of an unusually significant nature are considered in relation to their potential effects on the development of scientific thought.

Currently serving as science adviser to the AAAS, Abelson has been with the Association since 1962, when he became editor of *Science*. He retired as editor in 1984.

To honor his many years of service as editor of *Science*, the AAAS created the Philip Hauge Abelson Prize upon his retirement in 1984. The prize is now awarded annually either to a public servant in recognition of outstanding contributions to advancing science, or to a scientist whose career has been distinguished both for scientific achievement and for notable services to the scientific community.

JEFFREY L. TERAMANI
Office of Communications



Philip A. Abelson, former Science editor, received National Medal of Science from President Reagan at White House ceremony.

More Cost Savings for Insured Members

Effective 1 October 1987 all rates for the AAAS Group Term Life Insurance Plan will decrease by 10 percent. In addition, all

Chairmen and Secretaries of AAAS Sections

MATHEMATICS (A) Hyman Bass Lynn Arthur Steen

PHYSICS (B) Herman Feshbach Rolf M. Sinclair

CHEMISTRY (C) Norman Hackerman Jean'ne M. Shreeve

ASTRONOMY (D) Jay M. Pasachoff John E. Gaustad

GEOLOGY AND GEOGRAPHY (E) George Rapp, Jr. Helen M. McCammon BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES
(G)
Judith H. Willis

Judith H. Willis
Judith P. Grassle

ANTHROPOLOGY (H) John E. Yellen Priscilla Reining

PSYCHOLOGY (J) Michael I. Posner William N. Dember

SOCIAL, ECONOMIC, AND POLITICAL SCIENCES (K) Peter H. Rossi William R. Freudenburg

HISTORY AND PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE (L)

Joseph W. Dauben Arthur L. Norberg

ENGINEERING (M) Robert F. Cotellessa W. Edward Lear MEDICAL SCIENCES (N) Helen M. Ranney Henry Blackburn

AGRICULTURE (O) Charles O. Gardner Ralph J. McCracken

INDUSTRIAL SCIENCE (P) Daniel Berg Robert L. Stern

EDUCATION (Q) Rita W. Peterson Joseph D. Novak

DENTISTRY (R) Clifton O. Dummer Marie U. Nylen

PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES (S) Klaus G. Florey Betty-ann Hoener INFORMATION, COMPUTING, AND COMMUNICATION (T) Joyce Friedman Elliot R. Siegel

STATISTICS (U) Ramanathan Gnanadesikan Joan R. Rosenblatt

ATMOSPHERIC AND HYDROSPHERIC SCI ENCES (W) Robert A. Duce William H. Beasley

SOCIETAL IMPACTS OF SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING (X) Janice G. Hamrin Rosemary A. Chalk

GENERAL INTEREST IN SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING (Y) Dael Wolfle James M. McCullough

AAAS Divisions

ARCTIC DIVISION Thomas Morehouse President

Gunter E. Weller Executive Secretary CARIBBEAN DIVISION Juan A. Bonnet, Jr. President

Lucy Gaspar Secretary-Treasurer PACIFIC DIVISION Orrin E. Smith President

Alan E. Leviton

SOUTHWESTERN AND ROCKY MOUNTAIN DIVISION Russell Larsen

M. Michelle Balcomb

For more information about the activities and publications described in "AAAS News," write to the appropriate office, AAAS, 1333 H Street, NW, Washington, D.C. 20005, unless otherwise indicated.

7 AUGUST 1987 AAAS NEWS 661