sity of Pittsburgh, defended Huntington's use of mathematics. He and ten other NAS members circulated a letter saying that Huntington had run afoul of unfair political hostility. Huntington was a vocal supporter of early U.S. involvement in Vietnam. He also took some flak for participating in a CIA-funded research project at Harvard. Some of his opponents in the NAS disapproved.

The Academy strictly forbids any public discussion of the debate, and members were reluctant to comment. But one mathematician not directly involved in the scrap said he thought it would be wrong to blame politics for all that happened. "There was a general uneasiness about how members are selected this year," he said. Many people were dissatisfied with the way foreign associates are chosen, for example, and some asked why social scientists are admitted but historians are not. Others asked why social scientists are admitted at all, a particularly divisive question. **ELIOT MARSHALL**

NAS Elects New Members

The National Academy of Sciences has elected 61 new members and 15 foreign associates. This brings the membership total to 1523 and the foreign associates total to 249. The new members are:

Elihu Abrahams, physics, Rutgers University; Wyatt W. Anderson, molecular and population genetics, University of Georgia, Áthens; Clay M. Armstrong, physiology, University of Pennsylvania; Stanley Barber, agronomy, Purdue University; William J. Baumol, economics, Princeton University; Robert A. Berner, geology and geophysics, Yale University; Barry R. Bloom, microbiology and immunology and cell biology, Albert Einstein College of Medicine; Armand Borel, mathematics, Institute for Advanced Study; Ralph L. Brinster, reproductive biology, University of Pennsylvania; Marvin P. Bryant, microbiology, University of Illinois, Urbana; Jane E. Buikstra, anthropology, University of Chicago; Manuel Cardona, Max-Planck-Institut for Solid State Research, Stuttgart, Federal Republic of Germany; Thomas R. Cech, chemistry. cellular biology, and developmental biology, University of Colorado; Eugene Commins, physics, University of California, Berkeley; Donald M. Crothers, chemistry and molecular biophysics and biochemistry, Yale University; Ernest Davidson, chemistry, Indiana University; Thomas K. Fowler, magnetic fusion energy program, Lawrence Livermore Laboratory; Daniel Gorenstein, mathematics, Rutgers University; Emil C. Gotschlich, senior physician, Rockefeller University; Robert B. Griffiths, physics, Carnegie-Mellon University.

Leland H. Hartwell, genetics, University of Washington; Hermann A. Haus, electrical engineering and computer sci-ence, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Charles B. Heiser, Jr., professor emeritus, Indiana University; Edward Herbert, chemistry, University of Oregon; George P. Hess, biochemistry, Cornell University; Albert O. Hirschman, social science, Institute for Advanced Study; Bela Julesz, visual perception research, AT&T Bell Laboratories; H. Ronald Kaback, biochemistry, Roche Institute of Molecular Biology; Emil T. Kaiser, Haggerty professor, Rockefeller University; William M. Kaula, geophysics, University of California, Los Angeles; George Khoury, molecular virology, National Cancer Institute (elected posthumously); Seymour J. Klebanoff, medicine, University of Washington; M. Daniel Lane, physiological chemistry, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine; Charles S. Levings, III, genetics, North Carolina State University; Harvey F. Lodish, biology, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Laszlo Lorand, biochemistry, molecular biology, and cell biology, Northwestern University; Paul E. Meehl, psychiatry, University of Minnesota; William Miller, chemistry, University of California, Berkeley; Bernard Moss, viral diseases, National Institute for Allergy and Infectious Diseases; Philip Needleman, pharmacology, Washington University School of Medicine.

Douglas D. Osheroff, solid state and low-temperature physics research, AT&T Bell Laboratories; **Morton B. Panish**, technical staff, AT&T Bell Laboratories; **C. C. Patterson**, se-

nior research associate, California Institute of Technology; Samuel H. Preston, sociology, University of Pennsylvania; Thomas S. Reese, neurobiology, National Institute of Neurological and Communication Disorders and Stroke; Martin Rodbell, scientific director, National Institute for Environmental Health Sciences; Gerald M. Rubin, biochemistry, University of California, Berkeley; Jack Sandweiss, physics, Yale University; John P. Schiffer, physics, Argonne National Laboratory; Frank Shu, astronomy, University of California, Berkeley; Robert S. Sokal, ecology and evolution, State University of New York, Stony Brook; George R. Stark, senior scientist, Imperial Cancer Research Fund, London, England; Paul Talalay, pharmacology and molecular science, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine; Robert E. Tarjan, technical staff, AT&T Bell Laboratories; Patrick Thaddeus, astronomy and applied physics, Harvard University; Daniel Tsui, electrical engineering and computer science, Princeton University; Emil R. Unanue, pathology, Washington University School of Medicine; Harry Wasserman, chemistry, Yale University; Lawrence Weiskrantz, psychology, Oxford University, London, England; D. Fred Wendorf, anthropology, Southern Method-ist University; John W. M. Whiting, professor emeritus of anthropology, Harvard University.

The new foreign associates are:

Gerd K. Binnig, IBM Zurich Research Laboratory, Switzerland (Federal Republic of Germany); Arnold S. V. Burgen, Darwin College, Cambridge, United Kingdom; Charles Frank, professor emeritus, University of Bristol, United Kingdom; Antonio Garcia-Bellido, Center for Molecular Biology, University of Madrid, Spain; Pierre-Gilles de Gennes, College de France and Ecole de Physique et Chimie, Paris, France; Mary D. Leakey, National Museums of Kenya and Olduvai Gorge Excavations, Tanzania (United Kingdom); Jack Lewis, chemistry, University of Cambridge and Robinson College, Cambridge, United Kingdom; Benoit B. Mandelbrot, IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center, New York (France); Donald Metcalf, Walter & Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, Royal Melbourne Hospital, Victoria, Australia; Manuel Peimbert, faculty of sciences, National University of Mexico, Mexico City, Mexico; Carlo Rubbia, senior physicist, CERN. Geneva, Switzerland; Roald Z. Sagdeev, Space Research Institute, Moscow, U.S.S.R.; Peter Starlinger, Institute of Genetics, University of Cologne, Federal Republic of Germany; Phillip V. Tobias, anatomy, University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa; Zhou Guangzhao, Chinese Academy of Sciences and Institute of Theoretical Physics, Beijing, People's Republic of China.