planations of phenomena in the physical world and deliberately talk about why the scientific view is different from the ones that people commonly hold."

SB&F, the Association's review journal, previously has published comprehensive evaluations of high school science texts. Copies of single issues are \$6, plus \$1.50 for handling and postage. The annual subscription price is \$25 (\$28, starting in September) with a 10 percent discount for AAAS members. Write to SB&F at the AAAS address for further information.

In addition, several field trips are scheduled, including one to the Salton Sea and Anza Borrego desert.

Scientists and graduate students will summarize original research in technical sessions on ecology, botany, psychology, atmospheric science, earth science, science education, history and philosophy of science, general biology, and social science. Research findings will also be presented in sessions of the Division's affiliated societies, including the Western Society of Soil Science, Southern California Skeptics, Botanical Society of America Pacific Section, Conference on Mathematical Modeling in Experimental Nutrition, American Society for Horticultural Science Western Section, and American Meteorological Society Western Section.

Individuals may register for \$30 before 25 May (\$38 afterward) and students, teachers (kindergarten through grade 12), and retired persons for \$18 (\$26 later). On-campus housing is available at reasonable rates.

For additional information write to Alan Leviton, Pacific Division AAAS, California Academy of Sciences, Golden Gate Park, San Francisco, California 94118, or call 415-752-1554.

Section Y Adopts Statement of Membership and Purpose

The newly established Section Y (General Interest in Science and Engineering) has adopted a statement describing its purposes and welcoming interested members. The text is a result of discussions that took place at the Section's first business meeting, held during the 1987 Annual Meeting in Chicago.

The statement is as follows:

Section Y welcomes individuals and affiliated organizations that have a general or transdisciplinary interest in science, engineering, or the affairs of the Association as a whole. In particular, the Section undertakes to develop and sponsor activities dealing with (1) public understanding of, and support for, all aspects of science and engineering; and (2) the management of science and engineering programs.

Membership in the Section includes, but is not limited to, AAAS members from state and local academics, science and technology centers and museums, the print and broadcast media, and the general public; members who are managers and administrators of science and engineering programs; and any other members interested in furthering the Section's purposes.

Dael Wolfle, former AAAS Executive Officer, is the current chairperson of the Section; the chairperson-elect is Ertle Thompson of the Virginia Academy of Science; and the secretary is Jim McCullough, director of the program evaluation staff, National Science Foundation, Room 425, 1800 G Street, NW, Washington, D.C. 20550. For more information on the Section Y statement, contact McCullough.

Members who wish to enroll in Section Y as their Electorate (voting Section) should write to the Member Records Office, Room 117, at the AAAS address.

In June 1986, all of the AAAS affiliates were invited to request enrollment in Section Y in readiness for the official establishment of the Section in February 1987. The requests of those affiliates that responded are being processed.

Obituaries

S. A. Asdell of Frederick, Maryland, member of Section G since 1934, 21 February 1987.

Hans G. Baerwald of Albuquerque, New Mexico, member of Section B since 1948, 27 February 1987.

Manfred Braun of New York, New York, member of Section N since 1970, 28 February 1987.

Clarence D. Davis of San Diego, California, member of Section A since 1983, 26 January 1987.

H. A. Dettwiler of Greenfield, Indiana, member of Section N since 1941, 19 November 1986.

James L. Forstner of Aiken, South Carolina, member of Section A since 1954, 26 December 1986.

Giampiero di Mayorca, New Jersey Medical School, Newark, New Jersey, member of Section N since 1986, 25 November 1986.

E. B. Hershberg of West Orange, New Jersey, member of Section S since 1961, 22 January 1987.

John F. Hill of Neosho, Missouri, member since 1986, 10 February 1987.

George E. Holbrook, former vice president and member of the DuPont Company's board of directors, member of Section C since 1940, 26 February 1987.

Tyr V. Johnson of San Jose, California, member of Section K since 1964, 25 November 1986.

Edward H. Kingsley of Reston, Virginia, member of Section A since 1962, 8 January 1987.

Howard J. Laster, former dean of liberal arts and professor of physics and astronomy, University of Iowa, member since 1964, 31 December 1986.

Eleanor Slifer of Glenside, Pennsylvania, member of Section G since 1929, 1 November 1986.

Laurence H. Snyder, former president of AAAS (1957), member since 1934, 8 October 1986.

John I. Yellott, president, John Yellott Engineering Associates, Inc., Phoenix, Arizona, member of Section M since 1944, 27 December 1986.

of AAAS Sections MATHEMATICS (A) Hyman Bass Lynn Arthur Steen PHYSICS (B) Herman Feshbach Rolf M. Sinclair CHEMISTRY (C) Norman Hackerman Jean'ne M. Shreeve

Chairmen and Secretaries

ASTRONOMY (D) Jay M. Pasachoff John E. Gaustad

GEOLOGY AND GEOGRAPHY (E) George Rapp, Jr. Helen M. McCammon (G) Judith H. Willis Judith P. Grassle ANTHROPOLOGY (H) John E. Yellen Priscilla Reining PSYCHOLOGY (J) Michael I. Posner William N. Dember SOCIAL, ECONOMIC, AND POLITICAL SCIENCES (K) Peter H. Rossi William R. Freudenburg HISTORY AND PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE (L) Joseph W. Dauben Arthur L. Norberg ENGINEERING (M) Robert F. Cotellessa W. Edward Lear

BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES

Helen M. Ranney Henry Blackburn AGRICULTURE (O) Charles O. Gardne Ralph J. McCracken INDUSTRIAL SCIENCE (P) Daniel Berg Robert L. Stern EDUCATION (Q) Rita W. Petersor Joseph D. Novak DENTISTRY (R) Clifton O. Dummett Marie U. Nylen PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES (S) Klaus G. Flore Betty-ann Hoener

MEDICAL SCIENCES (N)

INFORMATION, COMPUTING, AND COMMUNICATION (T) Joyce Friedman Elliot R. Siegel STATISTICS (U) Ramanathan Gnanadesikan Joan R. Rosenblatt ATMOSPHERIC AND HYDROSPHERIC SCI-ENCES (W) Robert A. Duce William H. Beasley SOCIETAL IMPACTS OF SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING (X) Janice G. Hamrin Rosemary A. Chalk GENERAL INTEREST IN SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING (Y) Dael Wolfle James M. McCullough

AAAS Divisions ARCTIC DIVISION Thomas Morehouse President Gunter E. Weller Executive Secretary CARIBBEAN DIVISION Juan A. Bonnet, Jr.

Juan A. Bonnet, Jr. President Lucy Gaspar Secretary-Treasurer PACIFIC DIVISION T. John Conomos President Alan E. Leviton

Executive Director

SOUTHWESTERN AND ROCKY MOUNTAIN DIVISION Robert A. Wright President

M. Michelle Balcomb Executive Director

For more information about the activities and publications described in "AAAS News," write to the appropriate office, AAAS, 1333 H Street, NW, Washington, D.C. 20005, unless otherwise indicated.