plication so fruitful in any scientific endeavor.

Entries should present a completed analysis of a problem, the relevant data, and an interpretation of the data in terms of the assumptions with which the study began.

The winning entry will be selected by a committee of judges appointed by the Executive Officer in consultation with officers of the AAAS Sections on Anthropology (H), Psychology (J), and Social, Economic, and Political Sciences (K). The prize will be presented at the 1988 Annual Meeting in Boston, 11 to 16 February.

Unpublished manuscripts and manuscripts published after 1 January 1986 are eligible. The deadline for receipt of entries is 24 August 1987. For entry blank and instructions, write to the Executive Office.

AAAS Announces New Museum Benefit for Members

The Association is pleased to announce a special new benefit for AAAS members exclusively—a 10 percent discount on family and individual memberships and renewals at the Chicago Museum of Science and Industry. This new benefit is the

result of increasing cooperation between AAAS and science and technology centers around the nation, as the Association works toward its goal of increasing public understanding of science.

The Chicago Museum of Science and Industry is the nation's oldest and largest science and technology museum, featuring over 2000 exhibit units in 75 major exhibition halls. Membership includes free admission to all the special exhibits; vouchers for each Omnimax Theatre presentation; special rates on educational classes for children, adults, and families; discounts on purchases in the Museum's stores and food service areas; special invitations to exhibit previews; a subscription to the Museum's biomonthly Progress magazine; and many other benefits.

AAAS members in the greater Chicago area are encouraged to contact Ellen Boyle, membership coordinator, Museum of Science and Industry, 57th Street and Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, Illinois 60637, for further details. All AAAS members are invited to visit the Museum during the AAAS Annual Meeting in Chicago this month.

AAAS is working to extend this new benefit to many other science and technology centers around the nation. Watch "AAAS News" for further announcements.

Obituaries

William D. Altus of Santa Barbara, California, member of Section J since 1945, 12 September 1986.

Francis Binkley of Decatur, Georgia, member of Section G since 1945, 9 August 1986.

Robert C. Brasted, Department of Chemistry, U.S. Military Academy, West Point, member of Section C since 1967, 18 October 1986.

Harrison Brown, editor in chief, Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists, member of Section C since 1965, 9 December 1986.

Paul R. Cannon of Yorkville, Illinois, member of Section N since 1931, 7 September 1986.

W. G. Duncan of Gainesville, Florida, member of Section O since 1957, 22 July 1986.

Henry Gilman, Distinguished Professor in Chemistry, Iowa State University, member of Section C since 1921, 7 November 1986.

Charles Hayleck, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Maryland, member of Section M since 1979, 29 June 1986.

Roland Henning, Department of Biochemistry, University of Ulm, member of Section G since 1974, 11 August 1986.

Ludwik Jachimowicz of Boca Raton, Florida, member of Section T since 1980, 30 September 1986.

S. Charles Kendigh of Urbana, Illinois, member of Section G since 1928, 13 November 1986.

Ralph W. Klopfenstein of Princeton, New Jersey, member of Section A since 1963, 11 November 1986. Charles J. Krieger of San Jose, California, member of Section D since 1930, 1 November 1986.

Emory Lakatos of Santa Monica, California, member of Section M since 1949, 1 November 1986.

Lillian R. Lery, retired chief of the Freedom of Information Act Office, NASA, member of Section T since 1960, 22 October 1986.

Jules W. Lindau, III, of Columbia, South Carolina, member of Section M since 1950, 16 September 1986.

John H. Martin of Corvallis, Oregon, member of Section O (life member) since 1918, 28 October 1986

Arthur J. McNair of Denver, Colorado, member of Section M since 1964, 31 October 1986.

Harold M. Mooney, retired professor of geology and geophysics, University of Minnesota, member of Section E since 1968, 6 August 1986.

Karl R. Oerlein of Annapolis, Maryland, member of Section B since 1931, 28 September 1986.

William Ramoska, Department of Entomology, Kansas State University, member since 1975, 11 November 1986.

Henry D. Smyth of Princeton, New Jersey, member of Section B since 1934, 11 September 1986.

George VanEveren of Yonkers, New York, member since 1985, 2 October 1986.

Verling Votaw of Springdale, Ohio, member of Section C since 1949, 9 October 1986.

Harry F. Weisberg of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, member of Section N since 1938, 2 September 1986.