Chairperson-Elect: John H. Steele

Member-at-Large of the Section Committee: Chris Mooers Members of the Electorate

Nominating Committee: Tzvi Gal-Chen and A. F. Spilhaus, Jr.

#### Section X-Societal Impacts of Science and Engineering

Council Delegate: Rosemary Chalk

Chairperson-Elect: Albert H. Teich

Member-at-Large of the Section Committee: Glenn Paulson

Members of the Electorate Nominating Committee: Richard N. L. Andrews and Gretchen S. Kolsrud

#### **Transcripts of** Discussion **Focusing on the Use of Animals in Research Offered**

A new transcript entitled Effects of Regulation on the Use of Animals in Biomedical Research is now available through the AAAS Office of Communications. The transcript is from the fourth Media Roundtable held at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C., in July 1986. The panel participants included Barbara Hansen, vice chancellor for graduate studies and research at the University of Maryland; Franklin Loew, dean, Tufts University School of Veterinary Medicine; Charles Mc-Carthy, director, Office for Protection from Research Risks, National Institutes of Health; Dennis Stark, director, Laboratory Animal Research Center and Alternative Research Program, The Rockefeller University; and Richard Crawford, chief staff veterinarian for zoo and exhibition animals, U.S. Department of Agriculture. Gary Ellis, project director, Office of Technology Assessment, moderated the discussion.

This Media Roundtable was the last held as part of the Media Outreach Program which was cosponsored by the AAAS, Scientists' Institute for Public Information, and the Association of American Universities, under a grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Copies of the transcript can be obtained by writing to Carol L. Rogers, Office of Communications, at the AAAS address.

The AAAS Executive Office

invites groups of three Fellows

to nominate AAAS members for

election as Fellows, provided

that in each instance at least one

of the three sponsors is not affil-

iated with the institution of the

nominee. In order to be consid-

ered for election in 1988, nomi-

nations must be received no lat-

Nomination of

**AAAS Fellows** 

Invited

er than 12 June 1987. Nomination forms should be requested from the Executive Office at the AAAS address.

A Fellow is defined as "a Member whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished." Examples or areas in which nominees may have made significant contributions are research; teaching; technology; services to professional societies; administration in academe, industry, government, and other institutions; and communicating and interpreting science to the public.

Following their election, new Fellows will receive certificates, and a list of their names will be published in the Proceedings Issue of Science.

A Directory of AAAS Fellows (1985) is available from the AAAS Product Sales Office at the AAAS address. The price to members is \$9.55 prepaid.

# **SWARM** to Meet in Austin

The Southwestern and Rocky Mountain (SWARM) Division of AAAS will hold its 63rd annual meeting in Austin, Texas, 31 March to 4 April 1987. This will be the first time the Division has met in Austin.

Along with the scientific symposia, papers, poster sessions, and student papers, the meeting will include the annual John Wesley Powell Memorial Lecture, a past-president's dinner, and a banquet featuring the presidential address and presentation of SWARM awards.

Formed in 1920, the Southwestern and Rocky Mountain Division is composed of AAAS members in Arizona, Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, Wyoming, Montana east of the Continental Divide, and Sonora and Chihuahua, Mexico.

Headquarters for the meeting will be the Sheraton Crest Hotel in downtown Austin.

For further information, including registration information, contact M. Michelle Balcomb, SWARM, Colorado Mountain College, 3000 Coun-Road 114, Glenwood tv Springs, Colorado 81601.

# 1987 Calendar of Scientific Meetinas Available

The 1987 Calendar of Scientific Meetings and Events, prepared by the Office of Communications, is available to AAAS members free, upon request. The Calendar includes listings for some 300 scientific meetings.

Contact the Office of Communications for a copy of the 1987 Calendar.

Chairmen and Secretaries of AAAS Sections BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES (G) Ruth D. Turner Judith P. Grassle MATHEMATICS (A) Peter D. Lax Lynn Arthur Steen Richard I. Ford PHYSICS (B) Priscilla Reining Paul C. Martin PSYCHOLOGY (J) Rolf M. Sinclair CHEMISTRY (C) Blaine C. McKusick Jean'ne M. Shreeve ASTRONOMY (D) Michael J. S. Belton John E. Gaustad HISTORY AND GEOLOGY AND GEOGRAPHY (E) (L) William W Hampleton Helen M. McCammor

ANTHROPOLOGY (H) Richard F. Thompson William N. Dember SOCIAL, ECONOMIC, AND POLITICAL SCIENCES (K) Renée C. Fox William R. Freudenburg PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE Sally Gregory Kohlstedt Arthur L. Norberg ENGINEERING (M) Peter Elias W. Edward Lear

MEDICAL SCIENCES (N) Alexander Leaf Henry Blackburn AGRICULTURE (O) William E. Larsor Ralph J. McCracken INDUSTRIAL SCIENCE (P) James L. Dwye Robert L. Stern EDUCATION (Q) Robert E. Yager Joseph D. Novak DENTISTRY (R) Harald Löe Harold M. Fullmer PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES (S) Grant R. Wilkinson Betty-ann Hoener

COMMUNICATION (T) Marshall C. Yovits Elliot R. Siegel STATISTICS (U) Margaret E. Martin Edward J. Wegman ATMOSPHERIC AND HYDROSPHERIC SCI-ENCES (W) David Atlas Bernice Ackerman SOCIETAL IMPACTS OF SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING (X) Dean Abrahamson Rodney W. Nichols

INFORMATION.

COMPUTING, AND

**AAAS Divisions** ARCTIC DIVISION Thomas Morehouse President Gunter E. Weller Executive Secretary CARIBBEAN DIVISION Juan A. Bonnet, Jr. President Lucy Gaspar Secretary-Treasurer PACIFIC DIVISION T. John Conomos President Alan E. Leviton Executive Director

#### SOUTHWESTERN AND ROCKY MOUNTAIN DIVISION Robert A. Wright President

M. Michelle Balcomb Executive Director

For more information about the activities and publica-tions described in "AAAS News," write to the appropri-ate office, AAAS, 1333 H Street, NW, Washington, D.C. 20005, unless otherwise indicated.

2 JANUARY 1987

### AAAS NEWS 91