Committee, Council Delegate(s), and six members of the Electorate Nominating Committee. The change was proposed to achieve an election of the Secretary by electors chosen by the Section Electorate and better positioned to represent that group in judging the administrative ability and other merits of the candidates. The amendment would reduce the size of the body of electors, with concomitant reduction of effort expended by the AAAS Executive Office staff in conducting the elections.

Alternative Proposed Amendment. As an alternative to the above proposal, Executive Officer William D. Carey proposed that Article VI, Section 2, be amended as follows: "... Each Section Secretary shall be appointed by his or her Section Steering Group for a term of four years."

The term, Steering Group, includes the Retiring Section Chairperson, Section Chairperson, Section Chairperson-Elect, Section Secretary, and four members-at-large. This proposed change would simplify and reduce the extensive effort involved in the current Executive Office administration of the Secretary elections, as well as eliminating the repeated complaints of Section officers who have found it difficult to convince a second person to run against a top-notch candidate for the office of Secretary. (Historically, prior to 1973, the Board of Directors appointed

the Section Secretary.) In addition, Steering Group appointment of the Secretary would conform to a Bylaw amendment approved in 1985: in the event of a vacancy, the Steering Group appoints a replacement of all Steering Group positions except that of Retiring Chairperson.

During the 1986 Annual Meeting in Philadelphia the Committee on Council Affairs recommended, and the Council concurred, that comments be collected from the Sections and that the two versions of the proposed constitutional amendment be reconsidered at the Council meeting in February 1987. Most of the Sections discussed the two variations of the proposed amendment during their respective business meetings held during the Philadelphia Annual Meeting.

Since then, 17 of the 21 Sections have sent to the Executive Officer the views of the Section Committee members in attendance. A majority of those Sections reporting has indicated a preference for appointment of the Section Secretaries by each corresponding Section Steering Group. The matter will be reconsidered by the Committee on Council Affairs at its December 1986 meeting, and final action will be taken by the Council at its February 1987 meeting.

This notice is published in accordance with Constitution Article IX, which calls for publication of proposed amendments at least 30 days in advance of the Council meeting at which they

### **1986 General Election Results**

The successful candidates in the 1986 general election are listed below. Terms begin on February 1987.

President-Elect: Walter E. Massey

Members of the Board of Directors: Beatrix A. Hamburg and Frank von Hippel

Members of the Committee on Nominations: Rita R. Colwell, Thelma Estrin, Alice S. Huang, and Frederick Reines

Results of the 1986 electorate elections will be announced in the 2 January 1987 issue of *Science*.

are to be presented. If a majority of Council members so votes at the meeting on 18 February 1987, the amendment will be submitted to the AAAS membership for ratification by mail at the time of the 1987 elections. A favorable vote by two-thirds of the members who return ballots is required for adoption. A ratified amendment would become effective upon its adoption, that is, November 1987.

MARGE WHITE Executive Office

## Media and Shuttle Transcripts Offered

Transcripts of the symposium "Media Coverage of the Shuttle Disaster: A Critical Look" are now available.

The symposium took place at the AAAS Annual Meeting in Philadelphia this past May. The discussion featured Scott Carpenter, former NASA astronaut; Gregg Easterbrook, national correspondent for *Atlantic Monthly*; Richard Flaste, director of science news for the *New York Times*; Laurie Garrett, science correspondent for National Public Radio; and Hugh Harris, chief of public information at NASA's Kennedy Space Center. George Tressel, division director in science education for the National Science Foundation, moderated the discussion.

For a free copy of the transcript, write Carol L. Rogers, Office of Communications and Membership, at the AAAS address

## For the Library . . .

The Association has recently published several volumes of interest to members.

Frontiers in the Chemical Sciences includes 38 papers selected from Science by William Spindel and Robert M. Simon of the Board of Chemical Science and Technology at the National Re-

# Chairmen and Secretaries of AAAS Sections

MATHEMATICS (A) Peter D. Lax Lynn Arthur Steen

PHYSICS (B) Paul C. Martin Rolf M. Sinclair

CHEMISTRY (C) Blaine C. McKusick Jean'ne M. Shreeve

ASTRONOMY (D) Michael J. S. Belton John E. Gaustad

GEOLOGY AND GEOGRAPHY (E) William W. Hambleton Helen M. McCammon BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES

(G) Ruth D. Turner Judith P. Grassle ANTHROPOLOGY (H) Richard I. Ford

Priscilla Reining
PSYCHOLOGY (J)
Richard F. Thompson
William N. Dember

SOCIAL, ECONOMIC, AND POLITICAL SCIENCES (K) Renée C. Fox William R. Freudenburg

HISTORY AND
PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE

(L)
Sally Gregory Kohlstedt
Arthur L. Norberg

ENGINEERING (M) Peter Elias W. Edward Lear MEDICAL SCIENCES (N) Alexander Leaf Henry Blackburn

AGRICULTURE (O)
William E. Larson
Ralph J. McCracken

INDUSTRIAL SCIENCE (P) James L. Dwyer Robert L. Stern

EDUCATION (Q) Robert E. Yager Joseph D. Novak

DENTISTRY (R) Harald Löe Harold M. Fullmer

PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES (S) Grant R. Wilkinson Betty-ann Hoener INFORMATION, COMPUTING, AND COMMUNICATION (T) Marshall C. Yovits Elliot R. Siegel

STATISTICS (U) Margaret E. Martin Edward J. Wegman

ATMOSPHERIC AND HYDROSPHERIC SCI-ENCES (W) David Atlas Bernice Ackerman

SOCIETAL IMPACTS OF SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING (X) Dean Abrahamson Rodney W. Nichols

#### AAAS Divisions

ARCTIC DIVISION Thomas Morehouse President

Gunter E. Weller Executive Secretary CARIBBEAN DIVISION Juan A. Bonnet, Jr. President

Lucy Gaspar Secretary-Treasurer PACIFIC DIVISION T. John Conomos President

Alan E. Leviton
Executive Director

SOUTHWESTERN AND ROCKY MOUNTAIN DIVISION Robert A. Wright President

M. Michelle Balcomb Executive Director

For more information about the activities and publications described in "AAAS News," write to the appropriate office, AAAS, 1333 H Street, NW, Washington, D.C. 20005, unless otherwise indicated.