Philadelphia Science Seminar Series for Teachers Under Way This Fall

The Science Seminar Series for Teachers is a special program designed to give secondary school science teachers the opportunity to meet with leading scientists and learn more about a wide range of ongoing research.

The Philadelphia series, based on eight popular symposia from the 1986 AAAS Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, is sponsored by the AAAS in conjunction with the Franklin Institute Science Museum and the Philadelphia Renaissance in Science and Mathematics (PRISM).

Seminars, which will run from 30 September to 4 December, will focus on such topics as particle physics, interstellar flight, chaos in chemistry, pharmaceuticals from plants, and the chemistry of playthings. Each seminar will include a question and answer period and a reception to allow informal discussion.

The Science Seminar for Teachers is being offered only to secondary school teachers in Philadelphia. There is no charge, but participation is limited and reservations are required. For further information, write to PRISM, P.O. Box 58698, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19102.

AAAS Publications Catalog Available

A broad range of books from Science, Science Books & Films, the Annual Meeting, and the Association's program offices are described in the 1986 Catalog of AAAS Publications.

Books from *Science* include those on AIDS, biotechnology, and astrophysics. Among the spectrum of publications from the AAAS program offices are those covering arms control and national security, the use of torture and psychiatric abuse in the health profession, science and the media, and research and development in the federal budget.

Members receive a discount on all AAAS publications. For a free copy of the 1986 Catalog of AAAS Publications, write to the Marketing Office at the AAAS address.

Reminder to Members—AAAS Elections Are Under Way

Ballots for the 1986 AAAS elections have been mailed. Members will vote for a new President-Elect, two seats on the Board of Directors, four positions on the Committee on Nominations, and various Electorate officers.

Members also will have the opportunity to enroll in an Electorate (voting section). The Association is organized into 22 discipline-oriented sections corresponding to the fields of interest of its members. Sections promote the work of the Association in the various fields and arrange programs for presentation at AAAS meetings. Members may belong to several sections, but may vote in only one Electorate.

Two recent section changes should be noted: The name of Section X has been changed to "Societal Impacts of Science and Engineering" and the AAAS Council has authorized the establishment of a new Section Y, "General Interest in Science and Engineering." Members who wish to transfer from their present Electorate (voting section) to either X or Y should complete and return the blue enrollment card enclosed with voting information.

All members are encouraged to actively participate in Association affairs by voting in the election and joining an Electorate. If the ballots you receive are defective in any way, please return them directly to the Executive Office at the AAAS address so that we can send you replacements. Please do not use the envelope enclosed with your ballot to return defective ballots.

Chairmen and Secretaries of AAAS Sections

MATHEMATICS (A) Peter D. Lax Lynn Arthur Steen PHYSICS (B) Paul C. Martin Rolf M. Sinclair CHEMISTRY (C) Blaine C. McKusick Jean e M. Shreeve ASTRONOMY (D) Michael J. S. Belton John E. Gaustad GEOLOGY AND GEOGRAPHY (E) William W. Hambleton Helen M. McCammon

BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES (G) Ruth D. Turner Judith P. Grassle ANTHROPOLOGY (H) Richard I. Ford Priscilla Reining PSYCHOLOGY (J) Richard F. Thompson William N. Dember SOCIAL, ECONOMIC, AND POLITICAL SCIENCES (K) Renée C. Fox William R. Freudenburg HISTORY AND PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE Sally Gregory Kohlstedt Arthur L. Norberg ENGINEERING (M) Peter Elias W. Edward Lear

MEDICAL SCIENCES (N) Alexander Leaf Henry Blackburn AGRICULTURE (O) William E. Larson Ralph J. McCracken INDUSTRIAL SCIENCE (P) James L. Dwyer Robert L. Stern EDUCATION (Q) Robert E. Yager Joseph D. Novak DENTISTRY (B) Harald Löe Harold M. Fullmer PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES (S) Grant R. Wilkinson Betty-ann Hoener

INFORMATION, COMPUTING, AND COMMUNICATION (T) Marshall C. Yovits Elliot R. Siegel STATISTICS (U) Margaret E. Martin

Edward J. Wegman ATMOSPHERIC AND HYDROSPHERIC SCI-ENCES (W) David Atlas Bernice Ackerman SOCIETAL IMPACTS OF SCIENCE AND

ENGINEERING (X) Dean Abrahamson Rodney W. Nichols

AAAS Divisions

ARCTIC DIVISION Thomas Morehouse President

Gunter E. Weller Executive Secretary CARIBBEAN DIVISION Juan A. Bonnet, Jr.

President Lucy Gaspar Secretary-Treasurer PACIFIC DIVISION

T. John Conomos *President* Alan E. Leviton

Executive Director

SOUTHWESTERN AND ROCKY MOUNTAIN DIVISION Robert A. Wright President

M. Michelle Balcomb Executive Director

For more information about the activities and publications described in "AAAS News," write to the appropriate office, AAAS, 1333 H Street, NW, Washington, D.C. 20005, unless otherwise indicated.