Gray said. The competition bred by this decline has led to an increase in the number of universities seeking direct congressional appropriations, often in fields where they have little expertise. "It may well be that the calls for closer adherence to the principle of merit and the need for peer review have a too-pious ring in the ears of some administrators and their congressional representatives," he said. "But I have to tell you that if the application of pork barrel methods to federal funding for research spreads into program support and develops into a deviltake-the-hindmost stampede for the trough, the quality of science will obviously suffer."

Additional harm has been caused by "arguments over who pays for the full cost of research" and by recent "efforts to constrain the independence and open communication which are at the heart of scientific progress," Gray said. He specifically cited unwarranted government constraints on the open publication of scientific research and undue restrictions on activities by foreign students.

Gray acknowledged that he was probably "preaching to the converted" by raising these concerns at the AAAS meeting. But they bear constant repeating, he said, so that "a wall of ice" does not develop between "democratic and scientific institutions."

R. Jeffrey Smith

## U.S. Official Defends SALT II Decision

The Reagan Administration tentatively decided to abandon the SALT II treaty out of frustration with treaty violations by the Soviet Union, according to John Hawes, deputy assistant secretary of state for politico-military affairs. Hawes, who appeared at a symposium during the AAAS meeting entitled "Arms Control Verification: Challenges for the 1990's," acknowledged that the Pentagon and the State Department have not seen eye to eye on the issue in the past. "But no one is satisfied with the devices used to date" to pressure the Soviets into mending their ways, he said.

The Administration's decision, which was announced on 27 May, calls for future decisions about strategic weapons to be based on "the nature and magnitude of the threat" posed by Soviet forces, rather than the numerical limits imposed by the SALT II treaty signed in 1979. As such, the Administration has announced its intention to exceed a limit on the total number of cruise missile-carrying strategic bombers later this year, unless the Soviet Union takes "the constructive steps necessary to alter the current situation." White House statements

have been somewhat vague about this, but some of the apparent Soviet violations, such as the testing of a new mobile missile and the encryption of missile communications, are essentially irreversible.

Hawes told the symposium that the decision was made with the expectation that it would generate vigorous protests by U.S. allies. "I don't think there is any question that the allies think the SALT limits are important," Hawes said. This judgment was confirmed when allied foreign ministers unanimously criticized the decision at a meeting in Nova Scotia on 29 May. But Hawes sought to diminish any impressions of a major change in U.S. strategy, calling the decision "consistent with the policy [announced] last June to hold the Soviets' feet to the fire."

The decision was reached after an internal study of potential U.S. responses failed to "come up with much," Hawes said. The Joint Chiefs of Staff, for example, declined to recommend any change in the present military buildup, due to a lack of sufficient "flexibility" in the long-range planning, Hawes said. Others at the symposium suggested, however, that this proved what critics of the treaty have long alleged: that to a large extent, it never meaningfully constrained the military anyway. 

R. JEFFREY SMITH

## **IOM Elects New Members**

Thirty new members have been elected to the Institute of Medicine, raising the total active membership to 464 when their terms begin 1 July. In addition, five persons were elected to senior membership, bringing the total to 231.

The following are newly elected active members of the Institute: Henry Aaron, economics, University of Maryland. Frederick C. Battaglia, pediatrics, University of Colorado School of Medicine. J. Claude Bennett, medicine, University of Alabama School of Medicine, Birmingham. Richard A. Berman, formerly New York University Medical Center; currently a congressional candidate, Westchester County, N.Y. Norman E. Breslow, biostatistics, University of Washington. Ralph L. Brinster, reproductive physiology, School of Veterinary Medicine, University of Pennsylvania. William E. Bunney, Jr., psychiatry, University of California, Irvine. Thomas B. Clarkson, comparative medicine, Bowman Gray School of Medicine. Robert B. Copeland, cardiovascular medicine, West Georgia Medical Center, La Grange. Ramzi S. Cotran, pathology Harvard Medical School. Irwin Fridovich, biochemistry, Duke University Medical Center. Milo Gibaldi, School of Pharmacy, University of Washington.

Leon Gordis, epidemiology, School of Hygiene and Public Health, Johns Hopkins University. Paul F. Griner, director, Strong Memorial Hospital, University of Rochester Medical Center. Richard J. Johns, biomedical engineering, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. Edward A. Kravitz, neurobiology, Harvard Medical School. Elaine Larson, School of Nursing, Johns Hopkins University. Alicia Munnell, Federal

Reserve Bank of Boston. June E. Osborn, School of Public Health, University of Michigan. Michael E. Phelps, radiological sciences, School of Medicine, University of California, Los Angeles. John T. Potts, Jr., medicine, Harvard Medical School. Paul G. Quie, pediatric infectious diseases, University of Minnesota Medical School. Charles C. Richardson, biological chemistry, Harvard Medical School. Robert G. Shulman, division of biological sciences, Yale University. Robert D. Sparks, W. K. Kellogg Foundation, Battle Creek, Michigan. Edward J. Stemmler, School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania. S. Leonard Syme, epidemiology, School of Public Health, University of California, Berkeley. Henry N. Wagner, Jr., nuclear medicine and radiation health sciences, Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions. Charles F. Westoff, sociology, Princeton University. Samuel S. C. Yen, reproductive medicine, University of California Medical Center, San Diego.

Those elected directly to senior membership are:

Norman Garmezy, psychology, University of Minnesota. Walter Guralnick, Harvard School of Dental Medicine. Edward H. Kass, medicine, Harvard Medical School. Saul Krugman, pediatrics, New York University Medical Center. William H. Sweet, neurological surgery, Harvard Medical School.

1334 SCIENCE, VOL. 232