David H. Timothy, North Carolina State University

- Section P-Industrial Science Chairperson-Elect Charles F. Larson, Industrial Research Institute Frank X. Werber, U.S. De-
- partment of Agriculture Member-at-Large of the Section
- Committee
- Mary Ellen Mogee, Great Falls, Virginia
- Theodore W. Schlie, Illinois Institute of Technology
- Members of the Electorate Nominating Committee Janice E. Greene, National
- Research Council
- Ward J. Haas, University of Bridgeport
- Julius J. Harwood, Ford Motor Company
- Charles F. Larson, Industrial Research Institute

Section Q-Education

Council Delegate John Seely Brown, Xerox

- Palo Alto Research Center Marvin Druger, National Sci-
- ence Foundation

Chairperson-Elect

- O. Roger Anderson, Columbia University
- Victor J. Mayer, Ohio State University
- Member-at-Large of the Section Committee

Lillian C. McDermott, University of Washington Wayne W. Welch, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis Members of the Electorate Nominating Committee Napoleon Bryant, Jr., Xavier University Raymond J. Hannapel, National Science Foundation Edward C. Stoever, Jr., Southeast Missouri State Universitv Melvin R. Webb, Clark College Section **R**–Dentistry Council Delegate William H. Bowen, University of Rochester Lois K. Cohen, National Institute of Dental Research Chairperson-Elect Juan M. Navia, University of Alabama Ernest Newbrun, University of California, San Francisco Member-at-Large of the Section Committee Bruce J. Baum, National Institute of Dental Research Daniel B. Green, University of Louisville Members of the Electorate Nominating Committee Robert J. Genco, State University of New York, Buffalo

Paul Goldhaber, Harvard University John S. Greenspan, University of California, San Francisco Richard S. Mackenzie, University of Florida

Section S–Pharmaceutical Sciences

Council Delegate

William O. Foye, Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Allied Health Sciences

- William M. Heller, U.S. Pharmacopeial Convention, Inc.
- Chairperson-Elect Lester Chafetz, Chafetz Associates

Robert A. Wiley, University of Iowa

Member-at-Large of the Section Committee

Gilbert S. Banker, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis

Laurence Hurley, University of Texas

Members of the Electorate Nominating Committee

Suzanne Frank Adair, CIBA-GEIGY Pharmaceutical Co.

- Raymond E. Counsell, University of Michigan
- Gary L. Grunewald, University of Kansas

Cheryl L. Zimmerman, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis

Section T–Information, Computing, and Communication *Council Delegate*

New "Expedition" Benefit Announced for AAAS Members

As a new benefit, AAAS members now have the opportunity to participate in Earthwatch Scientific Expeditions without paying the regular Earthwatch membership fee.

Earthwatch is a nonprofit organization that recruits volunteers to join researchers in field expeditions worldwide. Since 1971 Earthwatch has sent some 14,000 volunteers, ages 16 to 80, on 730 projects in 70 countries. Earthwatch sponsors scholars in every field of study. There are archeological excavations; surveys of plants, birds, or animals; underwater and environmental impact studies; as well as research in architectural history, public health, music, and dance. Each project is reviewed and selected from an extensive pool of proposals by a panel of scientists. The principal investigators in charge of these expeditions are among the leading scientists and researchers in their fields.

As a AAAS member, you may apply for an expedition without paying the regular Earthwatch membership fee. All expenses related to an Earthwatch expedition are fully tax-deductible, including air fare, and volunteer experience could take you to an exotic location on the other side of the world or a research site in this country. Should you decide to become a member of Earthwatch, and receive their quarterly magazine and many other benefits, you may do so at a reduced rate.

For more information, write to Marlene Zendell, Office of Communications and Membership, at the AAAS address; or write directly to Earthwatch, P.O. Box 403AAAS, Watertown, Massachusetts 02172.

Douglas K. Ferguson, Fred Meyer Charitable Trust, Portland, Oregon

Elaine Kant, Schlumberger-Doll Research, Ridgefield, Connecticut

Chairperson-Elect

Jane Bortnick, Congressional Research Service

Jerome A. Feldman, University of Rochester

Member-at-Large of the Section Committee

Madeleine Bates, BBN Laboratories, Inc.

Charles M. Goldstein, National Library of Medicine

Members of the Electorate Nominating Committee

Andrew G. Barto, University of Massachusetts

Rodney A. Brooks, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Charles H. Davis, University of Illinois

Caroline M. Eastman, University of South Carolina

Section U-Statistics

Council Delegate

Samuel W. Greenhouse, George Washington University

Stephen W. Lagakos, Har-

vard University Chairperson-Elect

Shanti S. Gupta, Purdue University

Judith M. Tanur, State University of New York, Stony Brook

Member-at-Large of the Section Committee

Donald A. Gardiner, Oak Ridge, Tennessee

Joseph L. Gastwirth, George Washington University

Members of the Electorate Nominating Committee

Carl A. Bennett, Battelle Memorial Institute

Lyle Calvin, Oregon State University

John Van Ryzin, Columbia University

Grace Wahba, University of Wisconsin, Madison

Section W-Atmospheric and Hydrospheric Sciences

Council Delegate Larry P. Atkinson, Old Dominion University

W. Lawrence Gates, Oregon State University