held workshops for families of disabled young people to discuss careers in science. The delegation hosted community meetings in Jerusalem and Haifa to exchange information about education and technology for disabled persons.

The delegation was led by Martha Ross Redden and Virginia Stern of the Project on the Handicapped in Science. Other members of the delegation were: Peter W. Axelson, president, Beneficial Designs, Inc.; John S. Eulenberg, director, Artificial Language Laboratory, Michigan State University; Judith E. Heumann, cofounder and associate director, World Institute on Disability; Larry Leifer, founding director, Veterans Administration/Stanford University Rehabilitation Research and Development Center; Lisbeth A. Levey, AAAS; Robert S. Menchel, senior career opportunities adviser, National Center on Employment of the Deaf, National Technical Institute for the Deaf; Rami Rabby, consultant; Steven L. Rattner, dentist; Joseph Rosenstein, oral interpreter; and Lawrence A. Scadden, president, Rehabilitative Technology, Inc.

SWARM to Meet in Tucson in March

The Southwestern and Rocky Mountain Division (SWARM) will hold its 61st annual meeting in Tucson, 19 to 23 March. Symposia will feature a wide spectrum of the sciences with a special focus on research affecting the Southwest.

Among the symposia will be "Quaternary Extinctions: How to Explain Them" (cosponsored by the University of Arizona as one of its Centennial Projects), "Macromolecules of Biological Interest," "Interactions Among Plants and Animals in the Western Deserts," "Geothermal Energy," "Biotechnology: Interaction of Disciplines," "Jojoba as a New Crop for Arid Lands," "Hazardous/Nuclear Waste Management," and "The Hohokum Village: Site, Structure, and Organization."

Plants that can be cultivated with seawater will be the topic of James O'Leary's (University of Arizona Environmental Experiment Station) keynote address, "Advances on the Frontiers of Agriculture with Seawater and Sand." Richard F. Thompson (Stanford University) will give a keynote talk on "Neuronal Substrates of Basic Associative Learning in Mammals."

SWARM will meet at the Palos Verde Holidome in Tucson. Further information is available from SWARM executive officer M. Michelle Balcomb, Colorado Mountain College, Spring Valley Campus, 3000 County Road 114, Glenwood Springs, Colorado 81601.

For the Library

1985 Calendar of Scientific Meetings. Listings of major scientific and engineering meetings for 1985. Free on request from the Office of Communications.

1984-85 Public Information Contact Directory. Public information contacts at and information about some 300 colleges and universities and 180 scientific and engineering organizations, as well as listings for foundations, government agencies, museums, and nonprofit and industrial research institutions in the United States. Copies of the Directory are for sale at \$8 each (prepaid only) through Carolyn Jones, Office of Communications

Education in the Sciences: AAAS Affiliated Organizations 1985 Directory. Lists name, address, and telephone number of the person responsible for educational activities at AAAS affiliates. Free on request from the Office of Science and Technology Education.

Guide to Education in Science, Engineering, and Public Policy. Provides information to prospective students, researchers, funding agencies, and others on programs which prepare people for careers in the area of science, engineering, and public policy. Twenty-one programs and departments are described including a brief history of each, admission requirements, degrees offered and requirements, information on backgrounds of students who enter the program and types of careers for which they are prepared, tuition and financial aid. and numbers and research interest of faculty members associated with programs. The Guide is the first product of a 1½-year study of education and professional practice in this area, jointly supported by AAAS and the National Science Foundation. Free on request from the Office of Public Sector Programs.

Obituaries

William B. Arper of Salida, Colorado, member of Section X since 1965, 12 September 1984.

Philip Ashman of Johnstown, Pennsylvania, member of Section N since 1951, 3 August 1984.

Pierre Bayle of Houston, Texas, member of Section E since 1944, 16 October 1984.

Roger Lewis Black of Shaker Heights, Ohio, member of Section N since 1966, 4 June 1984.

Donald D. Brand, professor emeritus of geography, University of Texas, member of Section E since 1935, 21 July 1984

A. C. Clement of Decatur, Georgia, member of Section G since 1936, 22 June 1984.

Thorne Deuel, former director, Illinois State Museum, member since 1934, 20 February 1984.

Norman H. Dolloff of Saratoga, California, member of Section Q since 1969, 3 October 1984.

Samuel H. Eppstein of Oshtemo, Michigan, member of Section G since 1937, 25 August 1984.

Isadore S. Falk of New Haven, Connecticut, member of Section K since 1924, 4 October 1984.

Arthur L. Friedberg, executive director, American Ceramic Society, member since 1980, 13 October 1984.

Norman Geschwind, Department of Neurology, Harvard University School of Medicine, member of Section N since 1963, 5 November 1984.

Robert H. Hay of Kingston, Ontario, member of Section B since 1960, 26 September 1984.

Edward C. Heath, professor and head, Department of Biochemistry, University of Iowa, member of Section N since 1966, 24 October 1984.

Earl M. Hildebrand of Sun City, Arizona, member of Section O since 1932, 4 September 1984.

W. H. T. Holden of Pasadena, California, member since 1983, 4 December 1984.

E. W. Hopkins of Lombard, Illinois, member of Section O since 1932, 16 October 1984.

J. E. Horan of Glen Ellyn, Illinois, member since 1981, 25 June 1984.

John Edward Jackson of Castile, New York, member of Section G since 1948, 12 November 1984.

John L. Kennedy of Santa Monica, California, member of Section J since 1938, 14 July 1984.

John Kincaid of Arlington, Virginia, member of Section C since 1974, 31 August 1984.

Earl Lautenschleger of Elyria, Ohio, member since 1984, 6 December 1984.

John C. Lee of Sacramento, California, member of Section N since 1965, 17 October 1984.

Abraham M. Lilienfeld, distinguished service professor, Johns Hopkins School of Hygiene and Public Health, member of Section N since 1954, 6 August 1984.

Ralph O. Marts of Princeton, Kansas,

(Continued on page 660)