san (political scientist) are charged with "sedition in order to create hatred and excite disaffection towards government and armed forces." The "seditious acts" consisted of publishing, circulating, and possessing a newspaper critical of the martial law regime. The scientists are being tried in a military court. The U.S. State Department has indicated that Pakistani military trials often lack some significant due process safeguards.

The three scientists, all of whom held teaching positions at Quaid-e-Azam University, have been detained since November 1981. Zia awarded the constable who arrested Jamil Umar (who was caught distributing the newspaper) with a promotion and cash award.

Three AAAS affiliates (American Chemical Society, American Political Science Association, and Association of Computing Machinery) have sent letters or cables to Zia and other Pakistani authorities expressing concern about the scientists. Amnesty International has adopted the three scientists as "prisoners of conscience"—individuals who have neither used nor advocated violence.

## AAAS Western Divisions to Meet in Utah in June

The Southwestern and Rocky Mountain (SWARM) Division of AAAS will meet jointly with the Pacific Division in Logan, Utah, from 19 to 24 June. Symposia, field trips, contributed paper sessions, lectures, a Chautauqua short course, and poster papers are planned for the meeting, which will be held on the Utah State University campus.

Topics of national and regional interest will be featured in symposia. SWARM'S Committee on Desert and Arid Lands Research is sponsoring a session on transitions in rangeland, with papers on geography, economics, watershed, grazing systems, wildlife management, and plant manipulation. Related symposia are scheduled on "Water: How the West Was Won," featuring noted legal authorities on water issues, and on "Human/Atmospheric Interactions in Semi-Arid Environments.' Symposia have also been arranged on Thomas Kuhn's Structure of Scientific Revolutions, science and the new religions, science and national security, adaptations in grasses, and science education in America.

Among the special events connected with the meeting is the National Science Foundation Chautauqua short course for college teachers. The course, which will

## AAAS Travelers . . .

The Sri Lanka Association for the Advancement of Science has invited the AAAS to send a representative to its 39th annual session to be held in Colombo, 12 to 17 December 1983. The session's theme will be "Science Education." The AAAS delegate will be invited to deliver both a specialized and a popular lecture.

AAAS members who plan to be in the area at the time and/or who know of colleagues on sabbatical in the region who might be able to attend should contact Denise Weiner, Office of International Science, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Washington, D.C. 20036, no later than 1 June 1983. Please include a curriculum vitae. No travel funds are available; however, partial support (per diem only) will be provided.

be on the ecology of terrestrial microcommunities, will be taught by Daniel Dindal of the State University of New York, Syracuse.

SWARM's traditional John Wesley Powell Memorial Lecture will be given by William Nierenberg, director, Scripps Institution of Oceanography. Pacific Division president Herbert Baker, Department of Botany, University of California, Berkeley, will speak at a Divisional lunch and SWARM president Klaus Timmerhaus, Engineering Research Center, University of Colorado, will address the group at a Divisional dinner.

Field trips are being arranged to the Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge, Antelope Island in the Great Salt Lake, Raft River Mountains, Green Canyon, and botanical sites in the Wasatch Mountains.

Reduced preregistration rates will be available through 27 May; onsite registration also will be available. All registrants will receive the meeting *Proceedings* which include abstracts of most papers. For further information, contact Alan Leviton, Pacific Division AAAS, California Academy of Sciences, San Francisco, California 94118, or Michelle Balcomb, SWARM AAAS, Colorado Mountain College, 3000 County Road 114, Glenwood Springs, Colorado 81601.

## Obituaries

James A. Brussel of New York City, member of Section N since 1938, 21 October 1982.

Samuel S. Cantu of Chicago, Illinois, member of Section N since 1966, 5 February 1983.

Ray E. Chase of Los Angeles, California, member since 1979, 19 October 1982.

Edward H. Cobb of Menlo Park, California, member of Section E since 1953, 13 January 1983.

Margaret Oakley Dayhoff, associate director, National Biomedical Research Foundation, Georgetown University Medical Center, member of Section N since 1951, 5 February 1983.

Edmund Jacobson, director, Laboratory for Clinical Physiology, Chicago, Illinois, member of Section N since 1928, 7 January 1983.

**Albert E. Kalderon**, professor of pathology, University of Arkansas Medical Center, member of Section N since 1966, 12 Feburary 1983.

**Daniel S. Masterson, Jr.**, of Washington, D.C., member of Section S since 1970, 29 November 1982.

**Jack C. Mettauer** of Brookline, Massachusetts, member since 1981, 27 February 1983.

Francis W. Reichelderfer, retired chief, U.S. Weather Bureau, member of Section W since 1943, 26 January 1983.

**Arthur T. Semple** of Pinewood Springs, Texas, member of Section O since 1956, 24 January 1983.

C. Donald Shane, former director, Lick Astronomical Observatory, member of Section D since 1929, 19 March 1983.

**Byron A. Soule**, associate professor emeritus of chemistry, University of Michigan, member of Section C since 1934, 11 January 1983.

A. J. Speece, Jr., of Denton, Texas, member of Section G since 1954, 18 February 1983.

Clarke Williams, former deputy director, Brookhaven National Laboratory, member of Section B since 1965, 15 March 1983.

George M. Wilson, Jr., of Marquette, Michigan, member since 1980, 26 February 1983.

Alan M. Wood of South Orleans, Massachusetts, member since 1977, 25 January 1983.

E. J. Workman of Santa Barbara, California, member of Section B since 1934, 27 December 1982.