the Government of India. Menon emphasized the value of self-reliance in science and technology, but did not equate it with self-sufficiency. To buy advanced technology from the international market can be justified when essential for defense or because of such considerations as performance guarantee, cost, or time factors. But at the same time, Menon said, a self-reliant base of science and technology must be developed through basic research. The quality of that research, warned Menon, has to be judged by the standards of the entire international scientific community.

To foster basic research, Menon urged the selection of major areas of excellence which provide opportunities for work at the frontiers of science. Fortunately, he said, in many cases such research also has potential relevance for large sectors of national development. Noting that excellence in research is often centered around gifted individuals in an academic environment, Menon urged greater linkage between universities, national laboratories, industries, and the government and sought the help of professional bodies in supporting and popularizing excellence in scientific endeavors in India.

A major event at the meeting was the awarding of Indian National Science Academy Medals to young scientists (below the age of 32) in recognition of research of exceptional merit. There were 20 awards covering different branches of science, engineering, technology, and medicine. Each awardee was introduced to Prime Minister Gandhi and received a medal. These young scientists each received a cash prize and became entitled to a grant from the Academy upon submission of a research proposal.

The inaugural session was followed by a luncheon at which Gandhi met with foreign and local delegates. For the first time, a delegation from the People's Republic of China was present.

The week-long Congress was attended by approximately 4000 scientists who participated in discussions and heard public and special lectures all focusing on the meeting's theme of the importance of basic research in establishing a strong national base in science and technology. Research papers were also presented by investigators in various fields.

The Mysore session of the Indian Science Congress Association gave many

who attended it the distinct impression that in coming years basic research will be nurtured in India at both the governmental and professional levels.

## OCEANS '82 Set for Washington, D.C.

OCEANS '82, the joint ocean conference of the Marine Technical Society and the oceanic Engineering Council of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, will be held in Washington, D.C., 20 to 22 September. AAAS is one of several participating organizations for the conference.

The theme, "Government, Industry, and Academia—Partners in Ocean Progress," will expand on the OCEANS '81 theme of the ocean as a workplace. The meeting will include plenary, technical, and policy sessions as well as workshops and exhibits.

For further information about OCEANS '82, contact the Marine Technical Society, Suite 412, 1730 M Street, NW, Washington, D.C. 20036.

## **Obituaries**

Wilhelm Auerswald of Wien, Austria, member since 1966, 19 October 1981.

A. Lyndon Bell of University City, Missouri, member of Section E (Geology and Geography) since 1961, 23 December 1981.

Alden K. Boor of New Smyrna Beach, Florida, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1922, 24 November 1981.

**Robert W. Boreman** of Orlando, Florida, member of Section B (Physics) since 1918, 8 October 1981.

Robert T. Conner of Paoli, Pennsylvania, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1938, 10 November 1981.

Westley F. Curtis of Bethesda, Maryland, member of Section B (Physics) since 1972, 4 January 1982.

Theodore Enns of La Jolla, California, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1958, 20 January 1982.

Royal M. Frye of Royalston, Massachusetts, member of Section L (History and Philosophy of Science) since 1973, 15 October 1981.

Guido Girolami of San Juan Capistrano, California, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1967, 5 September 1981.

Frank Glenn of New York, New York,

member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1957, 12 January 1982.

Malcolm M. Helper, acting chief, Section on Child Development and Psychology, Columbus Children's Hospital and acting chief, Division of Psychology, Department of Pediatrics, Ohio State University, member of Section J (Psychology) since 1957, 1 December 1981.

Frederick K. Herpel of Laguna Hills, California, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1930, 2 December 1981.

Craig D. Hollowell, senior scientist, Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory, University of California, member of Section W (Atmospheric and Hydrospheric Sciences) since 1976, 12 January 1982.

Kenneth R. John, Department of Biology, Franklin and Marshall College, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1962, 7 January 1982.

Karl E. Kunkel of Grand Island, New York, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1963, 26 September 1981.

**Rex E. Lidov** of New York, New York, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1963, 22 October 1981.

Morris Lieberman, U.S. Department of Agriculture, member of Section G

(Biological Sciences) since 1948, 18 January 1982.

Frank Lilien of New York, New York, member since 1979, 10 February 1982.

Frederick T. Lynd of San Antonio, Texas, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1973, 7 November 1981.

James E. McCormack of Tenafly, New Jersey, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1965, 22 September 1981.

Gertrude Vermillion Mitchell, retired professor of chemistry, University of North Carolina, Greensboro, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1966, 30 December 1981.

Harold R. Stark of Pearl Blossom, California, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1957, 25 October 1981.

Ernest S. Tierkel, former assistant surgeon general, U.S. Public Health Service, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1968, 2 November 1981.

F. Hoke Willis of Mendham, New Jersey, member of Section B (Physics) since 1968, 2 October 1981.

Matthew E. Zaret of Ann Arbor, Michigan, member of Section B (Physics) since 1942, 9 January 1982.