Report of Human Rights Workshop Completed

The final report of AAAS Workshop on Scientific Cooperation and Human Rights in the Americas, entitled Human Rights and Scientific Cooperation: Problems and Opportunities in the Americas, is now available. The report includes discussion papers by Jose Goldenberg, Brazilian physicist, and Irving Louis Horowitz, North American social scientist; background information on existing international and regional human rights agreements and specific sections which pertain to scientific work; examination of the present involvement of scientists and scientific societies in human rights and scientific freedom and responsibility issues; documentation of the varying conditions of human rights and scientific freedom in various Latin American countries; and recommendations for the human rights work of individual scientists and scientific societies.

The Workshop, held during the 1981 AAAS Annual Meeting, was funded by the Agency for International Development, with additional support from the Ford Foundation, the International Development Research Centre, and AAAS (see *Science*, 6 March 1981, pages 1034–1035.)

The report was prepared by Eric Stover and Kathie McCleskey of the Committee on Scientific Freedom and Responsibility's Clearinghouse on Science and Human Rights.

Copies of the report can be obtained, free of charge, by writing to the Clearinghouse on Science and Human Rights, AAAS, 1515 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Washington, D.C. 20005 or by calling 202-467-5237. The Spanish version of the report will be available in early 1982.

SWARM Annual Meeting Slated for El Paso

"Excellence in Science Education" will be the main theme for the Southwestern and Rocky Mountain (SWARM) Division's 1982 annual meeting, to be held at the University of Texas at El Paso, 28 April to 1 May. A symposium organized by F. James Rutherford, AAAS chief education officer, will explore the "Crisis in Science Education."

Other symposia will be on "Desert Ecosystems" arranged by the Committee on Desert and Arid Zones Research, and "Research Priorities for the Chihauhua Desert."

Because of its proximity to them, AAAS members in Sonora and Chihuahua, Mexico, are especially invited to participate in the meeting. Translation facilities for the meeting are being provided by the University of Texas.

In conjunction with the meeting, two workshops will be given for high school and college teachers on 1 May. "Cells and Evolution" will be presented by Lynn Margulis, Boston University, and "Computers as an Aid in Learning Science" by Alfred M. Bork, University of California, Irvine. Both of these workshop subjects have been included in the National Science Foundation-AAAS Chautauqua Short Course Program.

Future meetings of SWARM will include a joint meeting with the Pacific Division, at Logan, Utah, in 1983. Other SWARM annual meetings will be in Tucson, Arizona, in 1984, and in Lubbock, Texas, in 1985.

For further information contact Michelle Balcomb, SWARM executive officer, Colorado Mountain College, Glenwood Springs, Colorado 81601.

Live Radio Broadcast at Annual Meeting: "Genetic Engineering: Who Decides?"

The National Public Radio (NPR), in cooperation with the AAAS, will broadcast live a public forum from the Association's Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. The forum will address the scientific and ethical issues raised by recent advances in genetic engineering. NPR's science correspondent, Ira Flatow, will moderate an exchange between members of the AAAS audience and panelists Bernard Davis, Harvard Medical School; J. Leslie Glick, Genex Corp.; and Sheldon Krimsky, Tufts University.

The forum will be on Wednesday, 6 January, in the International Ballroom East at the Washington Hilton Hotel. Audience members are asked to be seated by 6:15 p.m.; the live broadcast will be from 6:30 to 7:30 p.m.

This live National Public Radio program will be available to some 239 public radio stations across the country.

Obituaries

Richard C. Bendit, Jr., of Utica, New York, member of Section M (Engineering) since 1968, 25 September 1981.

Albert S. Carter of Fort Lauderdale, Florida, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1929, 27 September 1981.

J. Cedric Carter of Crawfordsville, Indiana, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1953, 27 September 1981.

George W. Corner of Huntsville, Alabama, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1933, 28 September 1981.

Joseph E. Dellen of Silver Spring, Maryland, member since 1980, 13 September 1981.

Leon Dmochowski of Houston, Texas, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1955, 26 August 1981.

Viktor Havlicek of Winnipeg, Canada, member since 1980, 6 August 1981.

Walter E. Jeske of Arlington, Virginia, member of Section O (Agriculture) since 1960, 16 August 1981.

Albert Keil of Pforzheim, West Germany, member of Section M (Engineering) since 1967, 16 July 1981.

Ezra Levin of Champaign, Illinois, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1965, 1 September 1981.

Gerald Papagano of Arlington, Virginia, member of Section M (Engineering) since 1959, 17 October 1981.

Leopold Pessel of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1963, 24 July 1981.

William Reiner-Deutsch of Flushing, New York, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1928, 3 August 1981.

Eric Rodgers, dean emeritus of the Graduate School, University of Alabama, member of section B (Physics) since 1960, 17 October 1981.

V. C. Sekera of Chicago, Illinois, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1966, 28 August 1981.

Arthur Soller of Richmond, Virginia, member since 1980, 7 October 1981.

Nan V. Thornton of Lynchburg, Virginia, member since 1973, 8 October 1981.

George M. Van Dune of Fort Collins, Colorado, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1973, 2 August 1981.

For more information about the activities and publications described in AAAS News, write to the appropriate office, AAAS, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Washington, D.C. 20036, unless otherwise indicated.