AAAS Alaska Division Announces Its 32nd Annual Meeting

The 1981 Alaska Science Conference sponsored by the Alaska Division of AAAS will be held in Fairbanks, 25–27 August, on the University of Alaska campus. The conference theme is "Life Sciences in the Service of Alaska."

Although emphasizing the role of basic and applied life sciences, the conference will follow the long-established tradition of scheduling sessions for physical and social sciences and other current research.

The conference will consist of technical sessions, panel discussions, and special lectures by internationally recognized scientists in the areas of biology, agriculture, and anthropology.

For additional information, contact John Bligh, Institute of Arctic Biology, 902 Koyukuk Avenue, North, Fairbanks, Alaska 99701, 907-479-7640.

by the young people who received awards during the banquet from the Colorado-Wyoming Junior Academy of Science.

During the meeting, Klaus Timmerhaus, assistant dean of engineering, University of Colorado, was named SWARM president-elect. Joining him and the other members of the executive committee will be new member-at-large Larry Sveum (New Mexico Highlands University).

The active and essential cooperation of the Colorado-Wyoming Academy of Science was evident throughout the meeting and in the various arrangements.

Some 300 people registered for the meeting. Some sessions attracted an overflow crowd, such as the energetic and amusing presentation on science education by weatherman Sam Allred, and other sessions, many equally good, were not well attended.

Science writers from Colorado and surrounding states covered the sessions. News clippings coming to the AAAS suggest that the information impact of the meeting may last for some time.

RICHARD A. SCRIBNER Office of Public Sector Programs

AAAS Travelers

AAAS has been invited to send a representative to the 37th annual session of the Sri Lanka Association for the Advancement of Science to be held in Colombo, 11–16 December 1981. The theme will be "Blueprint for Development." The AAAS delegate has been invited to deliver both a specialized and a popular lecture.

AAAS members who plan to be in the area at that time and/or who know of

colleagues on sabbatical in the region who might be able to attend should contact Denise Weiner, Office of International Science, at the AAAS address. Please include a curriculum vitae. No travel funds are available; however, partial support (per diem only) will be provided.

Arms Control Committee Established

At its April meeting, the AAAS Board of Directors created a new Committee on Science, Arms Control, and National Security. Its assignment follows the Association's objective, "to improve the effectiveness of science in the promotion of human welfare." Arising from an earlier steering group on arms control, the new Board Committee will develop and focus the scientific, technical, and organizational resources of AAAS for exploring and fostering effective approaches to conflict resolution, control of nuclear weapons, and improvement of national security assets.

George W. Rathjens, professor of political science, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, was named chair of the group which will number 15 when the Board completes its appointment of members.

In the course of its work, the Committee may arrange symposia, convene ad hoc groups of experts, conduct workshops, develop educational materials, cooperate with affiliates and committees of AAAS and other organizations, and respond to government requests for advice and consultation. In general, the Committee will work to expand the interests and involvement of scientists, engi-

neers, and the public in the matters before it.

In the fall, when the Committee is fully formed and has had sufficient time to consider thoroughly specific courses of action, a more detailed account of its membership and plans will appear in this AAAS News Section.

For further information, write to Richard A. Scribner, at the AAAS address.

Obituaries

Allen M. Baker of Westmont, Illinois, member since 1973, 28 March 1981.

Ronald A. Baker of Stamford, Connecticut, member of Section M (Engineering) since 1954, 11 May 1981.

Catherine Bridgham of North Jackson, Ohio, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1939, 3 March 1981.

James E. Gill of Kitchener, Ontario, Canada, member of Section E (Geology and Geography) since 1928, 26 January 1981.

Garford G. Gordon of Santa Rosa, California, member of Section Q (Education) since 1947, 17 March 1981.

William D. Inlow of Shelbyville, Indiana, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1924, 11 February 1981.

W. D. McClellan of Fresno, California, member of Section O (Agriculture) since 1942, 3 April 1981.

Norman Plummer of Lawrence, Kansas, member of Section E (Geology and Geography) since 1966, 19 March 1981.

Robert F. Selden of Susan, Virginia, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1950, 18 March 1891.

Tracy M. Sonneborn of Bloomington, Indiana, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1927, 26 January 1981.

C. Y. Thomas of Shawnee Mission, Kansas, member of Section M (Engineering) since 1962, 28 March 1981.

Sidney A. Trandee of Deming, New Mexico, member of Section K (Social, Economic, and Political Sciences) since 1957, 9 March 1981.

Paul B. Wollschlaeger member of Section B (Physics) since 1966, 27 March 1981.

For more information about the activities and publications described in "AAAS News," write to the appropriate office, AAAS, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Washington, D.C. 20036, unless otherwise indicated.

200 SCIENCE, VOL. 213