(ii) energy policy impacts on health care delivery systems, including regulatory and demographic implications.

For further information contact Patricia S. Curlin, regional energy seminar coordinator, at the AAAS address, telephone 202-467-4310.

SWARM Announces Its Spring Meeting

The Southwestern and Rocky Mountain Division (SWARM) of the AAAS will meet this year in Greeley, Colorado, on 22–25 April. The meeting will open with a discussion by Anna J. Harrison of the AAAS Board of Directors on advances in science education. There will be several keynote speakers from various sections of SWARM, including the John Wesley Powell Memorial Lecture by Robert L. Hohlfelder of the University of Colorado. The division's botanical sections, physical science section, and science education section will also participate in the meeting.

A symposium sponsored by the Committee on Desert and Arid Zones Research will look at desertification from geological and climatological perspectives. A science education symposium will feature "Teaching Techniques by Outstanding Colorado Science Teachers."

At a joint banquet of SWARM and the Colorado-Wyoming Academy of Sciences on Friday, 25 April, Kenneth E. Boulding will discuss "Reflections on the AAAS by a Past-President."

For further information on the spring meeting of SWARM, contact M. Michelle Balcomb, Department of Biology, Colorado Mountain College, Glenwood Spring, Colorado 81601. Telephone: 303-945-7481.

Report from Indian Science Congress

AAAS was represented at the 68th Session of the Indian Science Congress Association (ISCA) held at Varanasi 3-7 January 1981 by Bernard Witlin, professor emeritus, Department of Microbiology and Public Health, Pennsylvania College of Optometry, and David G. Dickason, associate professor of geography, Western Michigan University. The following is drawn from their reports.

This was the sixth consecutive science congress to focus on a particular theme, this year's being "The Impact of Science

and Technology on the Environment." The Congress concerned itself with the developmental efforts aimed at environmental protection, placing a premium on the country's resources, achieving an environmental education program for all its citizens, and updating and enforcing the antipollution legislation.

Prime Minister Smt. Indira Gandhi opened the sessions and made a major speech on environmental affairs. Not only was she concerned about the deleterious impacts of high technology, the resource scarcity question, and the equity of distribution between least developed countries and mid-tier countries; she spoke directly to both the environmental and social impacts of high technologies. Specifically, she noted that she has formed a new Department of the Environment whose charge is development with conservation of ecological balance.

The prime minister also noted that some of the main social targets/victims of high technology growth were working women in India, most of whom possess few modern technical skills and are therefore denied opportunities for participation and advancement outside their own households. She noted concern for the large numbers of scientists (about 300,000) who remain unemployed in India. She indicated a concern to develop alternative energy sources in India with emphasis on organic recycling and announced that a commission would be appointed soon to explore and exploit alternative sources of energy. She also indicated that an advisory body would be appointed to counsel the Union Cabinet on scientific matters.

The presidential address by A. K. Sharma, professor of botany, University of Calcutta, presented the actual and likely "Impact of the Development of Science and Technology on Environment." The speech provided a useful reference and point of departure for discussions in plenary and section sessions, from which there emerged a list of recommendations to the central government. Recurring throughout the discussions were the problems of land use management, integrated control of soil and forest resources (particularly in upper river basins), energy sources and the impacts of alternate strategies, toxic pollutants and their genetic effects, fresh water and atmospheric pollution effects on ecosystem diversity and resiliency, and protection of India's few remaining natural areas.

During the 5-day Congress, more than 2000 professional papers, lectures, and speeches were given in plenary sessions,

symposia, and section meetings. Evening programs were preceded by a 1-hour general lecture followed by a 2-hour cultural program.

Obituaries

John P. Flynn of Guilford, Connecticut, member since 1973, 2 December 1980.

Isidore Gersh, emeritus professor of anatomy, University of Pennsylvania, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1961, 14 January 1981.

Maurice H. Greenhill of Rye, New York, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1962, 20 January 1981.

John M. Hannegan of Maitland, Florida, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1955, 19 January 1981.

Sterling B. Hendricks of Silver Spring, Maryland, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1963, 4 January 1981.

Thomas Byrd Magath of Rochester, Minnesota, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1917, 30 January 1981.

Denis E. Marchand of Menlo Park, California, member since 1978, 31 January 1981.

John M. Marsh, director, Endocrine Laboratory, University of Miami School of Medicine, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1967, 6 December 1980.

Alfred C. Nelson of Denver, Colorado, member of Section Q (Education) since 1929, 6 November 1980.

Donald Richards of Miami, Florida, member since 1971, 14 December 1980.

Louis B. Slichter of Los Angeles, California, member of Section B (Physics) since 1935, 5 December 1980.

Gerry Subby of Cleveland, Ohio, member since 1980, 5 December 1980.

Richard S. Uhrbrock of Palo Alto, California, member of Section J (Psychology) since 1925, 30 January 1981.

Alva B. Watts of Baton Rouge, Louisiana, member of Section O (Agriculture) since 1947, 27 November 1980.

James H. Wilmoth of Johnson City, New York, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1945, 6 November 1980.

Leo C. Young of Oxen Hill, Maryland, member of Section B (Physics) since 1948, 16 January 1981.

For more information about the activities and publications described in AAAS News, write to the appropriate office, AAAS, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Washington, D.C. 20036, unless otherwise indicated.