(Economic Council of West African States). Members present represented the Ivory Coast, Togo, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Ghana, and the International Council of Scientific Unions (ICSU). The People's Republic of Benin was represented by a large delegation whose membership in WASA was approved by the conference. The general economic climate, however, resulted in reduced participation by many countries, as reflected in the sizes of the various delegations present.

The conference was opened by the newly appointed federal minister of science and technology of Nigeria, Sylvester Ugoh. The welcome address was delivered by the vice-chancellor of the university of Ife, Cyril A. Onwumechilli. The keynote address was given by the deputy secretary general of ECOWAS. The address of O. Awe reflected his perspective as president of the Science Association of Nigeria (SAN), which was celebrating its 21st annual meeting and is a leader in WASA. Consistent with the theme of the conference, Awe pointed out that science and technology in developing countries has grown more as extensions or imitations of systems in the developed countries than as manifestations of national aspirations or as instruments of self-reliance. In West Africa, science planning is still in its infancy and many of the countries have no established organization for science policy formulation. Through cooperation among themselves, the developing countries could improve their bargaining position in the acquisition of technology from the developed countries. By pooling their manpower, the critical mass necessary to sustain viable scientific and technological systems would be easier to attain. Confidence that comes from self-reliance, said Awe, could be rapidly built up when the developing countries make use of their indigenous experts, and the "brain drain," referred to as the "reverse technology transfer," could be stemmed.

At the final plenary session, a resolution was formulated and approved declaring the concept of "technology transfer" invalid in the context of African development. The resolution states that technology can not be transferred, but can only develop and be developed in a recognized socioeconomic framework. The perspective of many younger scientists is based on the recognition that science based on African tradition and culture is the only appropriate science for Africa.

The next biennial conference will be held in Abidjan, Ivory Coast, in 1982.

2 JANUARY 1981

## Obituaries

Jack M. Ahearn of Salt Lake City, Utah, member of Section B (Physics) since 1938, 14 August 1980.

K. G. Bailey of Los Angeles, California, member since 1974, 12 August 1980.

**Douglas E. Bell** of Austin, Texas, member of Section E (Geology and Geography) since 1947, 18 August 1980.

**Charles A. Boyd** of State College, Pennsylvania, member of Section Q (Education) since 1948, 1 November 1980.

H. M. Chadwell of Del Mar, California, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1929, 3 June 1980.

Carl W. Correns of Gottingen, West Germany, member of Section E (Geology and Geography) since 1966, 29 August 1980.

Gertrude B. Farris of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1942, 3 September 1980.

Sister Margaret Finnegan, vice president of Trinity College, member of Section J (Psychology) since 1963, 20 August 1980.

Edmund F. Grekulinski of New York City, member of Section E (Geology and Geography) since 1968, 8 August 1980.

Patrick E. Haggerty, general director, Texas Instruments, Inc., member of Section M (Engineering) since 1947, 1 October 1980.

Martha A. Hamlet, postdoctoral student at the Mayo Graduate School of Medicine, member since 1980, 1 September 1980.

Waldemar C. Hansen of Valparaiso, Indiana, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1925, 16 September 1980.

**Eldred R. Harrington** of Albuquerque, New Mexico, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1948, 27 June 1980.

Nelson B. Haskell of Port Arthur, Texas, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1969, 5 August 1980.

**Pearl L. Kendrick** of Grand Rapids, Michigan, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1931, 8 October 1980.

Vernon E. Krahl of Baltimore, Maryland, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1944, 16 October 1980.

**P. H. E. LeCorbeiller** of Wassenaar, The Netherlands, member since 1978, 24 July 1980.

Huberta M. Livingstone of Hopkinton, Iowa, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1939, 30 June 1980.

Frederick Lowenheim of Cranford, New Jersey, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1938, 14 August 1980.

Ivan M. Lytel, head, Department of

General Biology, University of Arizona, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1964, 21 October 1980.

Jonathan Magnes, Physiology Department, Hebrew University, member since 1965, 12 August 1980.

Bernd T. Matthias, director, Institute for Pure and Applied Physical Sciences, University of California, San Diego, member of Section A (Mathematics) since 1965, 27 October 1980.

Aron L. Mirsky of Hartford, Connecticut, member of Section M (Engineering) since 1938, 11 November 1980.

Charles Gill Morgan of Dallas, Texas, member of Section E (Geology and Geography) since 1932, 8 August 1980.

Fritz Muller of Montreal, Quebec, Canada, member of Section E (Geology and Geography) since 1965, 26 July 1980.

G. S. Perrott of Washington, D.C., member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1960, 29 June 1980.

Carl H. Rasch of North Tonawanda, New York, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1938, 19 September 1980.

John J. Ritter of Fair Lawn, New Jersey, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1948, 17 November 1980.

Otto Rosenthal of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1939, 14 July 1980.

Robert D. Schamberger of Gaithersburg, Maryland, member of Section B (Physics) since 1968, 11 July 1980.

Melvin P. Silverman of Sunnyvale, California, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1964, 5 September 1980.

**T. E. Smith** of Laurinburg, North Carolina, member of Section O (Agriculture) since 1948, 22 August 1980.

**Robert S. Snell** of Sturbridge, Massachusetts, member of Section O (Agriculture) since 1942, 16 November 1980.

**Ralph E. Waldo** of Cleveland, Ohio, member of Section X (General) since 1963, 26 June 1980.

J. D. Wanson, director, Laboratoire de Cytologie et de Cancerologie Experimentale, Universite Libre de Bruxelles, member since 1979, 18 June 1980.

Helen L. Ward of Lafayette, Indiana, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1964, 22 August 1980.

E. Eugene Woodruff of Waterford, Michigan, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1931, 5 April 1980.

For more information about the activities and publications described in "AAAS News," write to the appropriate office, AAAS, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Washington, D.C. 20036, unless otherwise indicated.