## AASNEWSAAASNEWSAAASNEWSAAASNEWSAAASNEWSAAASNE EWS**AAASNEWS**AAASNEWSAAASNEWSAAASNEWSAAASNEWSAA AASNEWSAAASNEWSAAASNEWSAAASNEWSAAASNEWSAAASNE

## Nineteen Media Fellows in 1979 Program

Nineteen students in the natural, social, and health sciences are participating in the fifth Mass Media Science Fellows Program, administered by the AAAS with support from the National Science Foundation. Additional funds for this year's fellows have come from AAAS, the Hearst Foundation, Inc., the Occidental Research Corporation, and the Exxon Research and Engineering Company, Inc. The summer fellows were chosen from among nearly 500 applicants.

The fellows, who will spend 10 weeks working for newspapers, magazines, and radio and television stations across the country, gathered for a  $2^{1/2}$ -day orientation session at AAAS headquarters in Washington, D.C., 6-8 June, during which they participated in workshops on newswriting; toured radio, television, and print media facilities; and heard talks by print and broadcast reporters.

The 1979 mass media fellows, their latest academic affiliations, and their fellowship sites are: Daniel B. Adams, Department of Paleontology, University of

California (Berkeley), San Francisco Chronicle; James Allaway, Department of Natural Resources, Cornell University, Oregonian (Portland); Michelle Behr, Department of Anthropology, Arizona State University, WOSU Radio, Columbus, Ohio; John A. Carey, School of Forestry and Environmental Studies, Yale University, Newsweek; Ron Dagani, Department of Organic Chemistry, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Raleigh (North Carolina) News and Observer; Richard D'Alli, Department of Geology, Arizona State University, KYW-TV, Philadelphia; Gary B. Ellis, Department of Biological Sciences, Northwestern University, Charlotte (North Carolina) Observer; William H. George, Psychology Department, University of Washington, KTVX-TV, Salt Lake City, Utah; David N. Gottsegen, School of Medicine, State University of New York (Buffalo), Milwaukee Journal: Michael A. Guillen, Department of Physics, Cornell University, WPIX-TV, San Francisco; William J. Hagan, Jr., Department of Chemistry, Columbia University, Richmond (Virginia) Times-Dispatch; Anne Marie Hornickel, Department of Botany, University of California (Davis), WEBR-Newsradio, Buffalo, New York; Lee Katterman, Department of Medicinal Chemistry, University of Michigan, WGBH Radio, Boston; Robert L. Kort, Department of Agricultural Engineering, University of Maryland, WOUB Radio/TV, Athens, Ohio; Roberto Martin, Bioengineering Department, University of Pennsylvania, WFAA-TV, Dallas, Texas; John L. Tingle, Department of Forestry, Mississippi State University, Macon (Georgia) Telegraph and News; Catherine Nicholson-Guthrie, Department of Genetics, Indiana University, WDVM-TV, Washington, D.C.; Ilona H. Walfish, Chemistry Department, State University of New York (Binghamton), WNET-TV, New York; and Terra Ziporyn, Yale University, Business Week.

## Chautauqua-Type Short Courses for Nonacademic Scientists and Engineers

Twelve short courses in the 1979-80 series of NSF Chautauqua-Type Short Courses will be open to a mixed audience of college teachers and nonacademic professionals in science and engineering. Topics include solar energy engineering, ethical issues in engineering, patterns of problem-solving, chemical communication among animals, and holistic approaches to health maintenance.

These courses are an extension of the series of Chautauqua-type short courses for college teachers held at regional field centers throughout the United States. The program, developed by the AAAS in 1971, is funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF).

They are designed to enable scholars to communicate recent advances in their fields to college science teachers and science and engineering professionals from industry or other nonacademic settings. The scholars will meet with 25 participants for a total of 4 days—2 days in the fall and 2 days follow-up in the spring. Courses will be held at the University of



Mass Media Science Fellows for 1979. Pictured left to right, first row: Ilona Walfish, Anne Marie Hornickel, David Gottsegen, Terra Ziporyn, and Michelle Behr; second row: James Allaway, Lee Katterman, John Carey, William Hagan, and Gary Ellis; third row: Catherine Nicholson-Guthrie, Michael Guillen, Roberto Martin, Dan Adams; fourth row: Ron Dagani, Robert Kort, John Tingle, and William George. Not pictured, Richard D'Alli.