AAAS Selects Congressional Science Fellows for Fourth Consecutive Year

The AAAS has awarded four Congressional Science Fellowships for the 1976–77 program year. The new fellows will join with six or more other science and engineering fellows, bringing to nearly 50 the number of scientists and engineers who will have participated in the effort since its inception 4 years ago.

During their year in Washington, the fellows will work with the U.S. Congress on a range of pressing national and international issues. In addition, they will participate in weekly seminars arranged by AAAS with leaders in government, industry, and the scientific community.

The recipients of the 1976–77 AAAS fellowships are: Robert Darryl Banks, biophysicist and recent graduate of the University of Oxford; E. William Colglazier, Jr., physicist, currently with the Princeton Center for Environmental Study; George Lloyd Jacobson, Jr., limnologist from the University of Minnesota; and Gary A. Ritchie, forest ecologist, currently a researcher with Weyerhaeuser Company.

Joining the AAAS fellows will be at least six other Congressional Science or Engineering Fellows sponsored by affiliated societies. They include: Ronald Bruno and Granville J. Smith, American Physical Society; Michael Crisp, Optical Society of America; Lloyd Faulkner, Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology; Kirby C. Holte, Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers; Sara C. Schurr, American Psychological Association; and Frank Hurley, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics. Next year's program will also include fellows from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

A 2-week orientation program, arranged by AAAS for the fellows, will begin on 7 September. The orientation will include meetings with members of Congress and congressional staffs; briefings on the Hill and in executive agencies; and sessions with scholars, lobbyists, and others. Under AAAS guidance, the fellows will then enter an intensive period of interviewing to determine their fellowship assignments.

This year's four AAAS fellows were chosen from a field of nearly 80 candidates by an ad hoc selection committee of the Association. Members of the committee were: Kenneth Clark, president, Clark, Phipps, Clark and Harris, Inc., and a member of the AAAS Board; Pamela Ebert, executive secretary, National Research Council's Study on National Research Awards, and a former fellow; Walter Hibbard, University Distinguished Professor, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, and chairman of the AAAS Engineering Section; William Moomaw, a current fellow with the Office of Senator Dale Bumpers; Maxine Rockoff, Bureau of Health Services Research, Department of Health, Education, and Welfare; Arthur Silverstein, a current fellow with the Subcommittee on Health, and the Senate Committee on Labor and Public Welfare; N. Richard Werthamer, chairman, New York State Energy Research and Development Authority, and a former fellow; and Richard A. Scribner, manager, AAAS Office of Special Programs.

Over the last 3 years, fellows have held key staff posts in the House and Senate, and within the Office of Technology Assessment. They have provided essential staff direction and followthrough in such diverse areas as solar energy development, national energy policy, national science policy, upper atmospheric/ozone issues, and various other R & D, biomedical, and social issues. About onethird of the fellows have remained in important congressional staff roles, and many of the others have gone on to new positions which, to varying degrees, bring together the worlds of science. technology, and public policy.

The Congressional Science and Engineering Fellow Program is designed to broaden the perspective of both the scientific and governmental communities regarding the value of science-government interaction, and to make practical contributions to the more effective use of scientific knowledge in government and to the training of persons for careers involving public use of technical information.

Recently, the Congressional Science Fellow effort of the various professional societies was recognized by the Congress in a Senate Concurrent Resolution. Senate Resolution 100 was introduced 10 March by Senator Edward M. Kennedy (D-Mass.) and cosponsored by a bipartisan group of eight other senators (see Science, 7 May 1976, page 544). A similar concurrent resolution (594) was passed in the House, 21 May 1976. One of the supporting statements to concurrent resolution 594 came from John W. Wydler (R-N.Y.), who said, "The scientists participating in this program bring not only their formal academic training to their temporary Hill positions but also their work experience from industry, government, and universities. The exchange which takes place is certainly a two-way street. The Congress obtains the benefit of outstanding analysis and insight on major issues involving science and technology. The varied background of the program participants and their yearly rotation assures that fresh minds and ideas will be addressing the issues. Conversely, the scientists' exposure to work of the Congress enables them to understand and appreciate the operation of the legislative branch. This enhances their ability to assure that the scientists' input to the legislative process is effectively made later when they return to their former positions.'

> RICHARD A. SCRIBNER MARY C. DOLAN Office of Special Programs

AAAS Selects 1976 Mass Media Interns

Fourteen natural and social scientists have been selected from some 120 applicants to participate in the AAAS Mass Media Intern Program. Currently in its second year of operation, the program is supported by the Russell Sage Foundation and the National Science Foundation. It will enable the interns, most of whom are advanced graduate students, to work this summer as reporters, researchers, or production assistants with newspapers and television and radio stations throughout the country. This onthe-job training is designed to increase the interns' understanding of the processes and possibilities involved in communi-