science subcommittee, but when the new Congress convenes the science subcommittee may no longer exist in its present form. The somewhat diluted jurisdictional reforms adopted by the House last month (Science, 25 October) gave the Science and Astronautics committee a much wider purview, encompassing all varieties of non-military and non-nuclear R & D. Accordingly, chairman Olin Teague (D-Tex.) and the surviving core of the committee leadership are working out new ways to divide the territory among themselves. The number of subcommittees devoted to space probably will be reduced from three (out of six) to two or even one, but beyond that little else is certain. Placement of jurisdictional boundary lines within the committee, as one staffer put it, is "still wide open."

Environment a Factor

Among other things, the election seemed to show that environmental issues retain much of their vitality. Each election year since 1970, a Washington lobby group called Environmental Action has designated a "dirty dozen" legislators whose record on environmental issues is regarded as poor. This year 8 of the 12 were defeated, the largest number thus far. They were: Representatives Glenn Davis (R-Wis.); William Hudnut (R-Ind.); John Hunt (R-N.J.); Earl Landgrebe (R-Ind.); Robert Mathias (R-Calif.); William Scherle (R-Iowa); Frank Stubblefield (D-Ky.); and Roger Zion (R-Ind.). The four who won reelection were Representatives Samuel Devine (R-Ohio); Dale Milford (D-Tex.); Sam Steiger (R-Ariz.); and Burt Talcott (R-Calif.).

In addition, the League of Conservation Voters, which poured \$80,000 into 17 House, Senate, and governors' races, picked 13 winning candidates. Among the winners was Joseph L. Fisher, a respected economist and the former president of Resources for the Future, an environmental policy analysis group in Washington supported by the Ford Foundation. Fisher, a moderate Democrat who is thoroughly conversant with interlocking issues of energy, land use, growth, pollution, and the economy, defeated Representative Joel T. Broyhill, Virginia's senior Republican.

The potency of environmental issues was particularly dramatic in Colorado, where controversies over land use, growth policy, shale oil development,

and the use of nuclear explosives to open new reservoirs of natural gas have helped impel a seismic shift in congressional representation. The shift began with the defeat in 1972 of House Interior Committee Chairman Wayne Aspinall, regarded by many environmentalists as overly sympathetic to mining and development interests. That year as well, Colorado Senator Gordon Allott was defeated by antiwar Democrat Floyd Haskell, partly as a result of Allott's support of a Colorado site for the winter Olympic games.

This year, Democrat Richard Lamm, who came to prominence as an opponent of the winter games and a champion of land use and growth legislation, beat incumbent Republican John Vanderhoof for the governorship.

Moreover, Gary Hart's successful campaign against Senator Peter Dominick centered in part on Dominick's support for a weakened version of the Senate strip mining bill. And Representative Patricia Schroeder, a Democrat who campaigned against Plowshare nuclear explosions in Colorado gas formations, handily won reelection. Colorado voters also approved an initiative measure that would require public approval for future nuclear explosions in the state.

On other fronts, the combination of retirements and election losses opens a significant number of seats on key committees affecting research and education. Twelve of the 55 members of the House Appropriations Committee, chiefly conservative members of the Defense, Interior, and science subcommittees, will not be returning. On the Armed Services Committee, House minority whip Leslie Arends (R-III.), is retiring, and Representative William G. Bray of Indiana, the committee's ranking Republican, was not reelected.

In the area of health, the House Commerce subcommittee on public health and the environment, with jurisdiction over most biomedical research legislation, will lose 4 of its 11 members. They are: Representatives Peter N. Kyros (D-Me.); William R. Roy (D-Kan.); William Hudnut (R-Ind.); and Ancher Nelsen (R-Minn.), the senior Republican member.

Freshmen members of the 94th Congress have yet to be dealt their committee assignments. But when they are, at least a marginal shift toward the liberal end of the spectrum should be visible in legislation ranging from defense expenditures to national health insurance.—ROBERT GILLETTE

RECENT DEATHS

Daniel C. Baker, Jr., 65; former professor of otolaryngology, College of Physicians and Surgeons, Columbia University; 2 June.

Vannevar Bush, 84; former professor, vice president, and dean of engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; 28 June.

W. Harrison Carter, Jr., 69; former dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, University of Connecticut; 6 June.

Ernst Cloos, 76; professor emeritus of geology, Johns Hopkins University; 28 May.

Jacob E. Dinger, 60; retired head, atmospheric physics branch, Naval Research Laboratory; 9 May.

Paul F. Gast, 57; senior physicist, Argonne National Laboratory; 27 May.

Foster R. Lampkin, 83; former professor of psychology, Savannah State College; 8 June.

Abraham L. Marshall, 77; retired manager, chemistry research department, General Electric Company; 23 May.

Bernardine Meyer, 65; professor of food science, University of Tennessee, Knoxville; 5 June.

Russell C. Miller, 74; professor emeritus of animal industry and nutrition, Pennsylvania State University; 31 May.

Peter A. Paytash, 68; chairman emeritus of chemistry, Xavier University; 3 June.

Eugene K. Rabe, 61; professor of astronomy, University of Cincinnati; 11 July.

James R. Reilly, 56; professor of biology, University of North Dakota; 28 June.

Victor H. Ries, 81; professor emeritus of floriculture, Ohio State University; 28 June.

Julien A. Ripley, 66; former professor of physical sciences, Stanford University; 27 June.

Bernard Serin, 52; former professor of physics, Rutgers University; 18 June.

Erratum: In an article about Boston City Hospital (1 Nov. 1974), Ernest Lowe was incorrectly identified as chief resident in obstetrics and gynecology at BCH. Lowe is professor and chairman of the department.

and chairman of the department.

Erratum: In Lynn A. Cooper's review of A
Psychology of Picture Perception by John M.
Kennedy (27 Sept. 1974) a line was garbled in
the first paragraph beginning on page 1160. The
passage in question should have read, "But his
oversimplified interpretation of the constructive
theory blinds him to the fact that he has in no
sense refuted the constructive theorists' claims.
For at the heart of the constructive theory is