the specific dose of radiation that produces a particular effect. This has required a massive effort to determine just how much radiation each of the various survivors actually received. The calculations are complex and depend on a number of variables, including the precise position of the bomb when it exploded, the yield of the bomb, and the location of the survivor at the time of the explosion. Survivors have been interviewed to determine just where they were and what shielding they were behind; replicas of Japanese houses have been tested for shielding effects at the AEC's Nevada test site; and the epicenter of the explosion has been determined as precisely as possible by studying thermal ray shadows burned into gravestones and other granite objects. The yield of the bombs has also been recalculated. It turns out that the 20-kiloton yield attributed to the Hiroshima bomb by President Truman's original announcement was way off—it was probably only 12.5 kilotons. The upshot of all this refining and recalculating is that Oak Ridge National Laboratory has developed sophisticated equations for estimating the dose of gamma and neutron radiation actually received by any given individual. There is considerable disagreement over how accurate the estimates are in any individual case, but on a statistical basis the errors are believed to cancel out. The ABCC has already been able to express some of its findings in dosespecific terms, and it hopes to expand and refine the effort in the coming years. The results are expected to be particularly helpful in establishing the maximum radiation exposure which can be safely tolerated by man.

The ABCC's investigations have occasionally been challenged on scientific grounds—but the critics seem not to have shaken the confidence of experts in the ABCC's findings. Some Japanese scientists, primarily those of leftist political leanings, have long accused the ABCC of suppressing information and distorting data in an effort to minimize the horror of the A-bomb. Some Japanese scientists also contend that the ABCC's negative findings are meaningless because, they allege, the ABCC's control groups actually contain large numbers of people who were exposed to residual radiation or to fallout from the bombs. Thus, they argue, the ABCC is actually comparing various groups of exposed people and naturally no difference is found between these groups. This argument has

been taken up and adapted by Ernest J. Sternglass, the University of Pittsburgh radiologist, who has loudly proclaimed that low doses of fallout from nuclear weapons tests have caused fatal genetic damage to hundreds of thousands of children in the United States since the early 1950's. Faced with contradictory evidence from the ABCC-

namely, the extensive studies which were unable to detect any significant genetic effect in the offspring of survivors in Hiroshima and Nagasaki-Sternglass has charged that the ABCC control groups are contaminated and he has suggested other reasons why the ABCC findings are not incompatible with his assertions. However, ABCC

Academy of Sciences Selects New Members

The National Academy of Sciences has elected five new Council members and 50 new members. It also reelected Harrison Brown, from the California Institute of Technology, to a 4-year term as Foreign Secretary.

Elected to 3-year terms as Councilors were: Kingsley Davis, University of California at Berkeley; James V. Neel, University of Michigan; James A. Shannon, Rockefeller University; and Robert L. Sinsheimer, California Institute of Technology. Clement L. Markert, Yale University, was elected to a 1-year term to fill the unexpired term of William D. McElrov.

The 50 new members, elected in "recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research," are:

Robert M. Adams, University of Chicago

Berni J. Alder, Lawrence Radiation Laboratory at Livermore
John D. Baldeschwie

Baldeschwieler, Stanford University

Jerome A. Berson, Yale University Paul D. Boyer, University of Cali-fornia at Los Angeles

Lewis Branscomb, director, National Bureau of Standards

Bernard F. Burke, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Stanley Cain, University of A. Michigan

Robert B. Corey, California Institute

of Technology James W. Cronin, Princeton Univer-

sity
William G. Dauben, University of California at Berkeley

Edward E. David, Jr., Bell Telephone Laboratories

Ralph Emerson, University of California at Berkeley Sterling H. Emerson, California In-

stitute of Technology

Albert E. J. Engel, University of California at San Diego and U.S. Geological Survey

Robert A. Good, University of Min-

Richard M. Goody, Harvard Universitv

Harold Grad, New York University and Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences

James D. Hardy, Yale University and director, John B. Pierce Foundation Laboratory

Leon A. Heppel, Cornell University Harold Hotelling, University of North Carolina

Armin D. Kaiser, Stanford University

Nathan O. Kaplan, University of California at San Diego

Irving M. Klotz, Northwestern University

Rebecca C. Lancefield, Rockefeller University

Walter B. Langbein, U.S. Geological

Peter D. Lax, New York University and Courant Institute of Mathematical

Daniel S. Lehrman, Rutgers, The State University

Aldo S. Leopold, University California at Berkeley and direct and director, Sagehen Creek Field Station

Cyrus Levinthal, Columbia University Milton S. Livingston, Massachusetts Institute of Technology and director, National Accelerator Laboratory

Willem J. Luyten, University of Minnesota

Rudolph A. Marcus, University of

Carl V. Moore, Washington University Eugene P. Odum, University Georgia

Ruth Patrick, Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia and University of Pennsylvania

Gerald L. Pearson, Stanford Unversity Alexander Rich, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Herschel L. Roman, University of Washington

Samuelson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Arthur L. Schawlow, Stanford University

Menahem M. Schiffer, Stanford Uni-

Stephen Smale, University of California at Berkeley

George D. Snell, Roscoe B. Jackson Memorial Laboratory

Jack L. Strominger, Harvard University Michael Tinkham, Harvard University Benton J. Underwood, Northwestern University
Bruce Wallace, Cornell University

Abraham White, Yeshiva University Arthur S. Wightman, Princeton Uni-