APPOINTMENTS

Edward Chin, associate professor at the Marine Laboratory, Texas A&M University, to program director of biological oceanography, division of biological and medical sciences at NSF. . . . Philip L. Johnson, associate professor, School of Forest Resources and Institute of Ecology, University of Georgia, to program director for environmental biology, division of biological and medical sciences at NSF. . . . John C. Jahnke, professor of psychology at Miami University, Ohio, to chairman of that department. . . . Richard C. Dorf, chairman of the department of electrical engineering at the University of Santa Clara, to dean of the College of Engineering at Ohio University. . . . The Alfred P. Sloane Foundation has named Lucius P. Gregg, Jr., associate dean of sciences at Northwestern University, to the position of program officer; and Kenneth A. Klivington, neuroscientist and electrical engineer, Fisher Jackson Associates, to the position of program associate. . . . Frederick G. Latreille, assistant general manager of the Institute for Defense Analyses, to assistant vice president of the institute. . . . S. Morris Kupchan, professor of chemistry at the University of Wisconsin, to John W. Mallet professor of chemistry at the University of Virginia.

RECENT DEATHS

Allan Berne-Allen, 66; former head of the department of chemical engineering at Clemson Agricultural College; 15 April.

Ray L. Edwards, 83; professor emeritus of physics at Miami University and at Harvey Mudd College; 4 April.

George W. Fiero, 63; chemist with the Humble Oil Company; 28 April.

John R. Rees, 78; first president of the World Federation for Mental Health; 11 April.

John W. Tintera, 57; endocrinologist and former director of the Hypoglycemia Foundation of Scarsdale; 30 March.

Hugh H. Waesche, 65; geologist with U.S. Geological Survey; 23 April.

Waldemar Wesselowsky, 71; research specialist in the aerospace technology division of the Library of Congress; 9 April.

Academy Elects 50 New Members

On 29 April the National Academy of Sciences elected 50 new members to the Academy "in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research." NAS has 846 members.

George B. Kistiakowsky, professor of chemistry at Harvard, was elected to a second 4-year term as NAS vice president. Four members were newly elected for 3-year terms to the NAS Council, the governing body of the Academy. They include George W. Beadle, retired president of the University of Chicago; Charles H. Townes, professor of physics, University of California at Berkeley; William O. Baker, vice president of research, Bell Telephone Laboratories, Inc., New Jersey; Saunders MacLane, professor of mathematics, University of Chicago. In addition, Philip H. Abelson, director of the geophysical laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington and editor of Science, has been selected to fill the remaining 2 years of the unexpired Council term of Philip Handler who will become president of the Academy on 1 July. New members of the Academy are:

George E. Backus, University of California at San Diego

Paul B. Beeson, Oxford University Harry Beevers, Purdue University Elkan R. Blout, Harvard University

Keith A. Brueckner, University of California Institute for Radiation Physics and Aerodynamics

Robert K. Cannan, special assistant to the president, National Academy of Sciences

Samuel C. Collins, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Jerome W. Conn, University of Michi-

gan Hospital

Allan V. Cox, Stanford University Richard R. Doell, U.S. Geological

Sidney D. Drell, Stanford Linear Accelerator Center

Gerald M. Edelman, Rockefeller Uni-

Herman N. Eisen, Washington University

Thomas Eisner, Cornell University Herman Feshbach, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Arthur D. Hasler, University of Wis-

George H. Hepting, Southeast Forest Experiment, Asheville, N.C.

Norman H. Horowitz, California Institute of Technology

Harold L. Johnson, University of

Stephen C. Kleene, University of

William A. Klemperer, Harvard University Walter Kohn, University of Califor-

nia at San Diego Tjalling C. Koopmans, Yale Univer-

sity

Martin G. Larrabee, Johns Hopkins

University

Thomas Lauritsen, California Insti-

tute of Technology Benjamin Lax, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Joseph C. R. Licklider, Massachusetts
Institute of Technology
Floyd G. Lounsbury, Yale University

Robert H. MacArthur, Princeton Uni-

Boris Magasanik, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Jerrold Meinwald, Cornell University Alton Meister, Cornell University Arthur W. Melton, University of

Elliott W. Montroll, University of Rochester

Louis Nirenberg, New York Univer-

Egon Orowan, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Tohn Rodgers, Yale University

Marshall N. Rosenbluth, Institute for Advanced Study

Jack Schultz, Institute for Cancer Re-

search, Philadelphia, Pa. Harrison Shull, Indiana University Seymour J. Singer, University of California at San Diego

Earl R. Stadtman, National Institutes of Health

Andrew Streitwieser, Jr., University of California at Berkeley

John T. Tate, Harvard University Warren Weaver, Sloan Foundation

Edward O. Wilson, Harvard Center for Environmental and Behavioral Biol-

Bernhard Witkop, National Institutes of Health

Dean E. Wooldridge, Thompson Ramo Wooldridge, Inc.

Jeffries Wyman, European Molecular Biology Organization

Norton D. Zinder, Rockefeller University

The Academy also selected ten new foreign associates, bringing the total foreign membership to 103; the new foreign associates are:

N. N. Bogolyubov, Soviet Academy of Sciences

Francis H. C. Crick, Medical Research Council of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, England
Nikolay P. Dubinin, Soviet Academy

of Sciences

Alexander N. Frumkin, Soviet Academy of Sciences

Ernst Hadorn, University of Zurich

Fred Hoyle, Institute for Theoretical Astronomy, Cambridge, England
François Jacob, Pasteur Institute, **Paris**

Takesi Nagata, University of Tokyo Artturi I. Virtanen, Biochemical Research Institute, Helsinki

Jan Waldenström, University of Lund and General Hospital of Malmo

-M.M.