APPOINTMENTS





W. F. Blair

N. Y. Wessell

W. Franklin Blair, professor of zoology, University of Texas, to chairman of the U.S. National Committee for the International Biological Program. He succeeds Roger Revelle, director of the Center for Population Studies, Harvard University. . . . Nils Y. Wessell, president of the Institute for Educational Development, and former president of Tufts University, to president of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. He succeeds Everett Case, who will retire. . . . Victor G. Rosenblum, professor of political science and law, Northwestern University, to president, Reed College. ... Robert S. Hansen, chairman of the department of chemistry, Iowa State University, to director of the university's Institute for Atomic Research and AEC's Ames Laboratory. He succeeds Frank H. Spedding, who will become distinguished professor of science and humanities at the university, and principal scientist at the laboratory. . . . John D. Williams, chancellor of the University of Mississippi has retired. He is succeeded by Porter L. Fortune, executive secretary of the National Exchange Clubs, Toledo, Ohio. . . . Solis Horwitz, assistant secretary of defense for administration, DOD, to university professor, University of Pittsburgh. . . . Thomas H. Morrin, vice president for engineering sciences, Stanford Research Institute, to president of University City Science Institute, Philadelphia. . . . Thomas D. Nicholson, chairman of the American Museum-Hayden Planetarium, to assistant director of the museum. He succeeds Joseph M. Chamberlain, who is now director of the Adler Planetarium, Chicago. Nicholson's position as chairman will be taken by Franklyn M. Branley, who is now astronomer and assistant chairman at the planetarium. . . . Robert E. Marshak, distinguished university professor of physics, University of Rochester, to the American member of the eightman Scientific Council of the International Centre for Theoretical Physics,

Trieste, Italy. He succeeds the late Robert Oppenheimer. . . . Vincent E. Price, associate chief for scientific programs of the Research Training Grants Branch, National Institute of General Medical Sciences, to special assistant to the director for special programs, NIGMS.... Feodor Lynen, director of the Max-Planck Institute for Cell Chemistry, Munich, Germany, to visiting professor, department of biochemistry, University of Miami. . . . Herbert E. Christensen, executive officer of the Third Army Medical Laboratory and chief of the chemistry division, Fort McPherson, Georgia, to assistant director for research administration, Center for Research in Pharmacology and Toxicology, University of North Carolina Medical School, and industrial toxicologist, department of environmental sciences and engineering, School of Public Health at the university. . . . Joseph F. Foster, interim head of the department of chemistry, Purdue, to head of the department at the university. . . . James D. Lawrence, financial management officer, Division of Regional Medical Programs, NIMH, to chief of the financial management branch, NIMH. . . . Harry Kessler, director of the spinal cord injury medical program, Veterans Administration, will retire after 33 years of service. . . . John P. Schaefer, associate professor of chemistry, University of Arizona, to head of the department of chemistry at the university. He succeeds Henry Freiser, who will devote more time to research. . . . J. E. Slater, program officer, Office of International Relations, Ford Foundation, to president of the Salk Institute. . . . Raymond A. Jensen, scientific and technical communications officer, Federal Water Pollution Control Administration, to manager, Water Resources Scientific Information Center, Department of the Interior; and Logan O. Cowgill, chief, scientific and technical information division, Office of the Chief of Engineers, U.S. Army, to assistant manager, Water Resources Scientific Information Center. . . . Andor Szentivanyi, associate professor of microbiology and pharmacology, University of Colorado Medical School, to chairman of the department of microbiology, The Creighton University School of Medicine, Omaha, Nebraska. . . . James F. Hammarsten, vice chairman of the department of medicine, University of Oklahoma Medical Center, to chairman of the department. He succeeds Stewart Wolf, who will devote more time to research and teaching.

RECENT DEATHS

Aleksandr Y. Arbuzov, 90; former head of the department of organic chemistry, Kazan University, U.S.S.R.; 22 January.

William E. Bennett, 61; professor of physics, State University of New York at Buffalo; 12 January.

Leland W. Crafts, 75; former chairman of the department of psychology, New York University; 23 January.

Alta R. Gault, 61; assistant professor of pharmacology, University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy; 1 January.

Leopold Infeld, 69; director of the Theoretical Physics Institute, Warsaw University; 16 January.

Alexander T. Martin, 81; former head of the pediatrics department, Roosevelt Hospital, New York, and former president of the New York Academy of Medicine; 15 January.

Albert A. Plentl, 54; associate professor of obstetrics and gynecology, Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons; 11 January.

John S. Peck, 74; former professor of civil engineering, City University of New York; 20 January.

Donald Powers, 67; vice president of the Warner-Lambert Pharmaceutical Company, Morris Plains, New Jersey; 17 January.

Carlos I. Reed, 80; professor emeritus of physiology, University of Illinois College of Medicine; 6 December.

Arnold M. Rose, 49; professor of sociology, University of Minnesota; 2 January.

Karl H. Sterner, 41; former senior research chemist, American Potash and Chemical Corporation; 5 January.

Raymond C. Strassburger, 58; chairman of the department of psychology, St. Joseph's College for Women, Brooklyn; 23 January.

Richard H. Walters, 50; former chairman of the department of psychology, University of Waterloo, Canada; 27 December.

G. B. Wilson, 54; professor of botany and plant pathology, Michigan State University; 18 January.

Erratum: In "Isolation of N,N-diethyl-m-toluamide (Deet) from female pink bollworm moths" by William A. Jones and M. Jacobson (5 Jan, p. 99), there was an error in Insert II. The second m/e 91 structure should have been tropylium cation and not the six-membered ring shown in the report. The corrected figure is shown below:



722