to participate in some government grant-in-aid programs for which it has been ineligible in the past. WHOI hopes to receive institutional support grants from the National Science Foundation and some facilities grants from the U.S. Office of Education. The Institution will enjoy another advantage in that, without any large outlay on its part, its students will have access to the unexcelled library of the nearby Marine Biological Laboratory, with which WHOI keeps close ties.

The joint degree program is sure to draw criticism if it should happen that, despite WHOI's assurances to the contrary, most of the available "ship time" on research vessels tends to be preempted by MIT students and wellqualified students from other institutions are often left out. If, however, this pitfall is avoided and the new partnership lives up to its promise, it perhaps will encourage the establishment of similar programs by some other major research institutions and universities, especially in fields where experimental facilities are extremely costly or where research usually cuts across several disciplines.

---LUTHER J. CARTER

## APPOINTMENTS



Samuel A. Nabrit, member of the Atomic Energy Commission, to executive director of the Foundation for Aid and Development of Universities in the South. . . . John

S. A. Nabrit

C. Calhoun, Jr., vice president for programs, Texas A&M University, to chairman, National Academy of Sciences Committee on Oceanography. He succeeds Milner B. Schaefer. . . . Frederick D. Rossini, vice president of the University of Notre Dame, to president of Associated Midwest Universities, Inc. . . Joseph F. Knappenberger, president of the Haver-Lockhart Laboratories, Kansas City, to presidentelect of the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA). . . . Hermann Bondi, professor of applied mathematics, Kings College, University of London, to director general of the Euro-

8 SEPTEMBER 1967

pean Space Research Organization. . . Benjamin Pasamanick, associate commissioner for research, State Department of Mental Hygiene, to president and dean of the New York School of Psychiatry. He succeeds Sandor Rado, who is to retire. . . . Kenneth Chapman, chairman of the chemical engineering technology department, Temple University Technical Institute, Philadelphia, to assistant educational secretary for 2-year colleges, American Chemical Society. . . . Robert H. Wilcox, assistant to the executive secretary of the AEC's Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards, to scientific representative for the AEC in the newly established liaison office at the American Embassy in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. . . . Robert J. Havlik, research library specialist, Library Services Branch, Office of Education, to director of libraries, Nova University, Fort Lauderdale. . . Justin W. Leonard, chairman of the department of wildlife and fisheries, University of Michigan School of Natural Resources to chairman of the department of conservation at the university. . . . Don E. Francke, editor and publisher of Drug Intelligence, to chairman of the newly established department of hospital pharmacy, Cincinnati College, and director of pharmacy services at the Cincinnati General Hospital. . . . John P. Adams, chairman of the orthopedic section at George Washington Hospital, to chairman of the department of orthopedics at George Washington University. . Arthur J. McEvily, Jr., Ford Motor Company, to chairman of the newly established department of metallurgy, University of Connecticut. . . . Bernard Strehler, gerontology branch, National Heart Institute, to head of the newly established biological laboratory, Rossmoor-Cortese Institute for the Study of Retirement and Aging, University of Southern California. . . . Donald McKay, chairman of the department of pathology, College of Physicians and Surgeons, to chairman of pathology service, San Francisco General Hospital. . . . Giulio J. Barbero, director of the Division of Gastroenterology, Children's Hospital and associate professor of pediatrics, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine, to chairman of the department of pediatrics, Hahnemann Medical College and Hospital. . . . Roman K. C. Johns, professor of physics, Loyola University, to head of the department of space technology. . . . Charles G. Maurice, acting head of the department of endo-

dontics, University of Illinois, College of Dentistry, to head of the department at the college, and Bennett Klavan, acting head of the department of periodontics, to head of the department at the college. . . . William E. Adams, Raymond Professor Emeritus, department of surgery, University of Chicago, to assistant director, American College of Surgeons. . . . William H. Pell, program director, Applied Mathematics and Statistics Program, National Science Foundation, to head of the mathematical and physical sciences, NSF. . . . Robert E. Giles, general counsel, U.S. Department of Commerce, to vice president and general counsel, Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association. . . . Genevieve B. Johnson, professor of public health nursing, South Dakota State University, to dean of the College of Nursing at the university. . . . Arthur E. Lindner, assistant professor of medicine, New York University School of Medicine and Jacobus Louw, associate professor of medicine, to assistant deans at the School of Medicine. . . . Sam T. Gibson, assistant clinical professor of medicine, George Washington University Medical School, to assistant director, Division of Biologics Standards, NIH. . . . Alfred Weissler, program chief for physical chemistry, Office of Scientific Research, U.S. Air Force, to assistant director for physical sciences research, Bureau of Science, FDA. . . . William N. Ellis, science and technology officer, Office of Regional Development Planning, to science policy consultant to the Ethiopian Government for UNESCO. . . . Angelos Dellaporta, associate clinical professor, division of ophthalmology, Stanford University School of Medicine, to head of the division of ophthalmology at the medical school.



department of bacteriology and i m m u n o l o g y, Schools of Medicine and Dentistry, State University of New York at Buffalo, to head of the newly

Ernest Witebsky,

chairman of the

created Immunology Unit of the School of Medicine, at the university. . . . James B. Campbell, research professor of neurosurgery, New York University School of Medicine, to director of the newly established Institute for the Crippled and Disabled at the university.