nor, and Acting Attorney General Ramsey Clark to review it carefully. This review is currently proceeding, and it would be somewhat surprising if the President and his three-man committee decided against requesting legislation based on the commission's recommendations. At the time he released the report, the President called it "a balanced and thoughtful document" which "promises to guide us towards the first key changes in our patent system in more than 130 years."

Although it is difficult to evaluate legislative sentiment when Congress is in recess, it would seem at present that legislation based on the commission's report would meet with no substantial opposition on Capitol Hill. It is not unreasonable to speculate that inventors and their sponsors will operate under changed rules in the not-too-distant future.—BRYCE NELSON

Scientists Named To Receive National Medal of Science

President Johnson announced the names of the 11 recipients of the 1966 National Medal of Science during the Christmas holiday weekend. The National Medal of Science, established by Congress in 1959, is awarded by the President to individuals "who in his judgment are deserving of special recognition by reason of their outstanding contributions to knowledge in the physical, biological, mathematical or engineering sciences." The awards are made on the basis of recommendations from the President's committee on the National Medal of Science, headed by H. E. Carter of the University of Illinois.

This year's recipients and their citations are:

Biological Sciences

Edward Fred Knipling, director, entomology research divisions, Department of Agriculture: "For outstanding original contributions involving unique biological approaches to the control of insect vectors responsible for diseases of humans, domesticated animals and plants."

Fritz Albert Lipmann, professor of biochemistry, Rockefeller University: "For original discoveries of molecular mechanisms for the transfer and transformation of energy in living cells, and for fundamental contributions to the conceptual structure of modern biochemistry." William Cumming Rose, professor of chemistry emeritus, University of Illinois: "For the discovery of the essential amino acid threonine and for subsequent brilliant studies elucidating the qualitative and quantitative amino acid requirements of man and of animals."

Sewall Wright, professor of genetics emeritus, University of Wisconsin: "For original and sustained contributions to the mathematical foundations of the theory of evolution and for basic contributions to experimental and biometrical genetics."

Engineering Sciences

Claude Elwood Shannon, Donner Professor of Science, Massachusetts Institute of Technology: "For brilliant contributions to the mathematical theories of communications and information processing and for his early and continuing impact on the development of these disciplines."

Vladimir Kosma Zworykin, honorary vice president, Radio Corporation of America: "For major contributions to the instruments of science, engineering and television, and for his stimulation of the application of engineering to medicine."

Mathematical Sciences

John Willard Milnor, professor of mathematics, Princeton University: "For clever and ingenious approaches in topology which have solved long outstanding problems and opened new exciting areas in this active branch of mathematics."

Physical Sciences

Jacob Aall Bonnevie Bjerknes, professor of meteorology, University of California: "By watching and studying maps he discovered the cyclone-making waves of the air and the climate-controlling changes of the sea."

Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar, professor of theoretical astrophysics, University of Chicago: "For numerous superb contributions to stellar astronomy, physics, and applied mathematics and for his guidance and inspiration to his many students and colleagues."

Henry Eyring, dean, graduate school (retired), University of Utah: "For contributions to our understanding of the structure and properties of matter, especially for his creation of absolute rate theory, one of the sharpest tools in the study of rates of chemical reaction." John Hasbrouck van Vleck, Hollis Professor of Mathematics and Natural Philosophy, Harvard University: "For his many contributions to the development of the theory of molecular structure and for his profound influence . . . on the theory of the magnetic and dieelectric properties of materials."

Scientists in the News

H. William Koch, chief of the National Bureau of Standards division of radiation physics, will take office 1 January as director of the American Institute of Physics. He will succeed Van Zandt Williams, who died in May, to the institute's chief administrative office.

AIP has also announced the appointment of **Arnold A. Strassenburg** as director of the education and manpower division, replacing **William C. Kelly**, now with the National Academy of Sciences. Strassenburg will retain his post as professor of physics at the State University of New York at Stony Brook.

Recent Deaths

William Frederick Meggers, 78; former chief of the National Bureau of Standards Spectroscopy Section; 19 November.

F. J. Plantema; head of the structures and materials department of the National Aerospace Laboratory NLR; 13 November.

Robert F. Novotny, 40; specialist in metamorphic geology of New England for the U.S. Geological Survey; 3 December.

Francis E. Ray, 68; research professor of pharmaceutical chemistry at the University of Florida, Gainesville, and former professor of organic chemistry at the University of Cincinnati; 25 November.

Kenneth F. Maxcy, 77; former head of the department of epidemiology at the Johns Hopkins School of Hygiene and Public Health, Baltimore, Maryland; 12 December.

Ret. Air Force Col. H. Clayton Beaman, 78; early missile authority and consultant to Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory; 7 December.

Henry B. Clark, 55; head of the department of oral surgery, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry; 3 December.