Raymond H. Thompson, professor of anthropology at the University of Arizona, has been appointed head of the department, and director of the Arizona State Museum at the university.

The American Society for Testing and Materials has elected **Charles L. Kent** president. He is assistant director, technical services, of Jones & Laughlin Steel Corporation, Pittsburgh, Pa.

The new president of the American Veterinary Medical Association is **Merton R. Clarkson**, who retired in July as associate administrator of the Agricultural Research Service, in the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Rudolph A. Marcus, physical chemistry professor at the Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn, has been named professor of physical chemistry at the University of Illinois.

Maxwell M. Wintrobe, head of the University of Utah's department of medicine, has been elected president of the Association of American Physicians.

Jerome Spar, professor of meteorology and oceanography at New York University, has been appointed director of government weather research at the U.S. Weather Bureau.

Abraham Hyatt, former director of plans and program evaluation for NASA, has been appointed visiting professor of aeronautical engineering at M.I.T.

Amedeo S. Marrazzi, director of the Veterans Administration Research Laboratories in Neuropsychiatry and professor of physiology and pharmacology at the University of Pittsburgh school of medicine, has been appointed Hill professor of neuropharmacology at the University of Minnesota medical school.

Albert J. Kelley, director of the electronics and control division in NASA's Office of Advanced Research and Technology, has been appointed deputy director of the electronics research center, which is being established in the Boston area.

James L. Diebold, formerly at the University of Kansas, has joined Wyeth Laboratories, Radnor, Pennsylvania, as senior research chemist in the medicinal chemistry section.

Stanfield Rogers, research director at the University of Tennessee Research Center and Hospital, has been appointed to head a division of the recently established co-carcinogenesis program at Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

Leo T. Samuels, biochemistry professor at the University of Utah medical school, has been presented the F. C. Coch award for his contributions in endocrinology. The \$3500 prize is the highest award of the Endocrine Society.

Louis Weinberg, former vice president for information processing at Conductron Corporation, Ann Arbor, Michigan, has been appointed visiting professor of electrical engineering at the University of Michigan.

Robert S. Stone, recently retired as director of the radiological laboratory in the University of California's medical school, San Francisco, has received the Atomic Energy Commission Citation. The award is presented by the AEC to nonemployees who have made meritorious contributions to the nuclear energy program.

Robert G. Breckenridge, formerly director of the Union Carbide Corporation Research Institute, has been named to direct the physics research program at Atomics International, Canoga Park, California.

L. Eugene Cronin has taken a 15-month leave of absence as research professor and director of the University of Maryland's Natural Resources Institute, to act as an overseas liaison scientist with the U.S. Office of Naval Research. His headquarters will be in London.

Robert F. Kruh, professor and chairman of the chemistry department at the University of Arkansas, has become dean of the college of arts and sciences at the university.

Louis L. Tureen, professor of clinical neurology and psychology, and chairman of the section of neurology at the St. Louis University medical school, has taken a year's leave of absence to serve as a visiting professor at the University of Göttingen, West Germany.

Grant T. Phipps, formerly professor of dental psychology at the University of Pittsburgh, has been appointed professor of behavioral science-dentistry at the State University of New York at Buffalo, school of dentistry.

Robert B. Voas, formerly assistant to the director of the NASA Manned Spacecraft Center, Houston, has been appointed director of the life sciences laboratory in Litton Industries' guidance and control systems division.

John S. Rinehart, formerly director of the mining research laboratory at Colorado School of Mines, has been appointed assistant director for research and development in the U.S. Coast and Geodetic Survey.

Curt Teichert, formerly at the U.S. Geological Survey, has been appointed regents professor of geology and director of the paleontological institute at the University of Kansas.

Recent Deaths

Alfred Blalock, 65; recently retired chairman of the surgery department at Johns Hopkins medical school and developer of the "blue-baby" operation on malformed hearts; 16 September.

Richard B. Cattell, 64; retired director of the Lahey Clinic, Boston; 16 September.

G. Miles Conrad, 53; director and trustee of Biological Abstracts, Philadelphia; 9 September.

Richard D. Fay, 73; retired associate professor of electrical engineering at M.I.T.; 9 September.

John Stuart Foster, 74; retired professor and first director of the McGill University Radiation Laboratory; 9 September.

Walter C. Jacob, 49; associate head of the department of agronomy at the University of Michigan; 4 September.

Leslie C. Jayne, 64; former professor of chemistry at Brooklyn College of Pharmacy; 21 September.

Paul D. Krynine, 63; professor of petrology and sedimentation at Pennsylvania State University; 12 September.

Erich Uhlmann, 63; director of the tumor clinic and the department of therapeutic radiology at Michael Reese Hospital and Medical Center; 14 September.

Erratum: In the report "Myosin substructure: isolation of a helical subunit from heavy meromyosin" by Susan Lowey (7 Aug. 1964), lines 5–7 of column 1, p. 599, should have read: ". . . an ionic strength of 0.1 and 0.03M. As expected, when $S_{20,\,\rm W}$ was plotted. . . ."