## NEWS AND COMMENT

(Continued from page 798)

of court decisions apparently extending the legal doctrine of implied warranty of a manufactured product. In at least one case, the development by the VA of a plasma expander which, according to VA chief J. S. Gleason, Jr., "holds great promise of drastically reducing the amount of whole blood required for open heart surgery," research was held up for many months because of the refusal of the supplier to sanction its use on human subjects without some provision for his protection in the event of a mishap. Private insurance has heretofore been available to cover damage possibilities both to researchers and to companies and will be utilized in addition to the government indemnification in future VA contracts. Private insurance, however, is apt to be prohibitively costly, particularly for individuals, and it has not come into general use. The VA anticipates that the provision for government indemnification will ease the worries of contractors and end this particular set of problems. —E.L.

## Political Campaign: Scientists and Engineers Organize for LBJ

The formation of a bipartisan committee of scientists and engineers supporting the election of President Johnson was announced in Washington last week. The committee, called Scientists and Engineers for Johnson, includes Jerome Wiesner, science adviser to President Kennedy, and George Kistiakowsky, science adviser to President Eisenhower. It also includes Detlev Bronk, president of the Rockefeller Institute and an active supporter of Eisenhower in 1952 and 1956, and a number of other scientists who have previously supported Republican candidates or who have not been active in politics. As was reported in these pages last week, no similar organization supporting Senator Goldwater is now planned. The address of the Johnson committee is 1106 Connecticut Avenue, NW, Washington.

The following is a list of individuals in addition to those named above currently associated with the committee. It is expected that the committee will be expanded as the campaign progresses.

Luis W. Alvarez, professor of physics, Lawrence Radiation Laboratory, University of California, Berkeley.

Harrison S. Brown, Division of Geological Sciences, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena.

Owen Chamberlain, professor of physics, University of California, Berkelev.

Kenneth B. Clark, professor of psychology, City College of New York.

Rufus Clements, president, University of Atlanta.

W. Montague Cobb, professor of anatomy, Howard University.

Michael E. De Bakey, professor of surgery, Baylor University.

Sidney Farber, founder and scientific director, Childrens' Cancer Research Foundation.

Richard Buckminster Fuller, chairman of the board of trustees, Fuller Research Foundation.

Michael Ference, Jr., vice-president for scientific research, Ford Motor Company.

Gen. James M. Gavin, U.S. Army ret., president, Arthur D. Little, Inc.

Peter C. Goldmark, president, CBS Laboratory Division.

William J. Halligan, chairman of the board, Hallicrafters Company.

Milton Harris, vice-president and director of research, Gillette Company.

Richard E. Horner, senior vice-president and general manager, Northrop Space Laboratories.

Kelly Johnson, vice-president, Lock-heed Aircraft Corporation.

Dan A. Kimball, vice-president, General Tire & Rubber Company, and chairman of the board, Aerojet General Corporation.

Polykarp Kusch, professor of physics, Columbia University, New York.

Charles C. Lauritsen, professor of physics emeritus, California Institute of Technology.

Russell Z. Lee, president, Palo Alto Medical Research Foundation.

Katharine McBride, president, Bryn Mawr College.

George A. Miller, professor of psychology, Harvard University.

Clark B. Millikan, director, the Guggenheim Aeronautics Laboratory, California Institute of Technology.

Samuel M. Nabrit, president, Texas Southern University.

William A. Nierenberg, professor of physics, University of California, Berkeley.

Gerard Piel, editor and publisher, Scientific American.

Emanuel R. Piore, vice-president, IBM.

Kenneth S. Pitzer, president, Rice University.

Admiral W. F. Raborn, U.S. Navy, ret., vice-president, program management, Aerojet-General Corporation.

Roger Revelle, director, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, La Jolla, California.

John H. Rubel, vice-president, Litton Industries.

Chauncey Starr, vice-president, North American Aviation, Inc.; and president, Atomics International Division.

Helen B. Taussig, professor of pediatrics, Johns Hopkins University.

George S. Trimble, Jr., vice-president, Martin Company.

Ralph W. Tyler, director, Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences, Stanford, California.

Harold C. Urey, professor of chemistry at large, University of California, San Diego.

Warren Weaver, vice-president, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.

Paul Dudley White, emeritus professor, Harvard University Medical School, and consulting physician, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston.

Vladimir K. Zworykin, honorary vicepresident, RCA Laboratories. —E.L.

## **Announcements**

Plans are being made to drill a hole about 4000 feet into a basalt plug near Uvalde, Texas, starting next month or in October. The major purpose of the drilling will be to test equipment to be used in drilling the Mohole. The minimum size of the core will be 2 inches. Scientists who wish to obtain basalt core from the hole may contact H. S. Ladd, U.S. National Museum, Washington, D.C. In requesting cores, it is necessary to indicate the amount needed, desired depth if significant, and the purpose for which the core will be used.

## Scientists in the News

Verner E. Suomi, professor of meteorology at the University of Wisconsin, has been appointed chief scientist for the U.S. Weather Bureau. He will serve for a year beginning in September.

Alden Cutshall, geography professor at the University of Illinois, Chicago, has been appointed head of the new geography department, as of 1 September.