William E. Stephens, physics professor at the University of Pennsylvania, has been appointed chairman of the physics department.

A. A. Johnson, formerly at the Imperial College of Science and Technology, London University, has been appointed director of research at Materials Research Corporation, Orangeburg, N.Y.

The Dexter Chemical Corporation, of New York, this year presented the \$1000 Dexter award to **Douglas McKie**, head of the department of history and philosophy of science at University College, London.

Robert L. Vosburgh, associate director of education in the department of psychiatry at the University of Pittsburgh, has been appointed chairman of the psychiatry department at West Virginia University, effective 1 January. Until then he will be visiting professor at the school.

The Optical Society of America's Frederic Ives medal has been presented to **Ralph A. Sawyer**, dean of the H. A. Rackham graduate school at the University of Michigan.

Martin Lees, former assistant cardiologist at Montreal Children's Hospital, has been appointed associate professor of pediatrics at the University of Oregon Medical School.

Raymond P. Ahlquist, co-director of the cardiovascular research and training program in the Medical College of Georgia's school of medicine, has been appointed associate dean of the school.

Kaj L. Nielsen, former mathematics professor at Butler University, has become director of systems analysis at Battelle Memorial Institute, Columbus, Ohio.

The new president of the American Phytopathological Society is A. E. Dimond, chief of the department of plant pathology and botany at the Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station.

Paul Schrode, of the University of Pennsylvania medical school, has been appointed chief of the university's medical group at the Pahlavi Medical School, Shiraz, Iran, for a 2-year period. Arthur L. Samuel, on leave from the Thomas J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown, N.Y., has been appointed visiting professor of electrical engineering at MIT, for the 1963–64 academic year.

The American Paleontological Society has named Raymond C. Moore to receive its first honorary medal. Moore, professor emeritus of geology at Kansas University, will be cited for his contributions to advancing knowledge in basic paleontology.

A. E. M. Nairn, of the University of Newcastle upon Tyne, England, has been named visiting professor in the geology department at Western Reserve University, Cleveland, Ohio, for the 1963–64 academic year.

Harold J. Nicholas, former associate professor of obstetrics at the University of Kansas Medical Center, has been appointed associate professor of biochemistry at St. Louis University, St. Louis, Mo.

Walter L. Newton, chief of the NIH laboratory of germfree animal research, has been named scientific director and associate chief for laboratory resources in the division of research services at NIH.

Robert G. Snider, former vice-president for development of the Graduate Research Center of the Southwest, Dallas, Texas, has been named executive director of the Commonwealth Industrial Research Corporation, University Park, Pa.

The new dean of the college of medicine at Wayne State University is **Ernest D. Gardner**, associate dean of the college since 1961.

The International Atomic Energy Agency has appointed **Nobufusa Saito** director of the division of isotopes. He is a chemistry professor at the University of Tokyo.

Donald E. Gregg, chief of the department of cardiorespiratory diseases at Walter Reed Army Institute of Research, has received the 1963 research achievement award from the American Heart Association, and a \$1000 honorarium. He was cited for his contributions to coronary circulation and his improvements in experimentation and design.

Wendell M. Stanley, professor of virology and director of the virus laboratory at the University of California, Berkeley, has received the American Cancer Society's medal for distinguished service in cancer control. The medal is the society's highest award.

The American Chemical Society's Paul-Lewis award in enzyme chemistry has been presented to Marshall W. Nirenberg, chief of the biochemical genetics section in the National Heart Institute laboratory of clinical biochemistry. He was cited for his work on the genetic code.

David W. Talmage, professor of microbiology at the University of Colorado, has been named chairman of the university's microbiology department.

Paul B. Sears, professor emeritus of conservation at Yale University, has received the first Richard Prentice Ettinger medal, and a \$1000 honorarium in a program sponsored by the Rockefeller Institute, the University of Pennsylvania, and New York University.

Harold S. Mickley, Ford professor of engineering at M.I.T., has been named director of the school's new Center for Advanced Engineering. Plans call for the center to admit its first students in the fall semester of 1964.

Recent Deaths

Hubert B. Goodrich, 76; professor emeritus of biology at Wesleyan University; 26 September.

Paul S. Hagen, 49; professor of medicine at Minneapolis Veterans Hospital, Minnesota; in an automobile accident, 2 September.

Olga B. Lepeshinskaya, 92; Soviet authority on longevity and member of the U.S.S.R. Academy of Sciences; 3 October.

Erratum: In the report "Rubella virus: Neutralizing antibody in commercial gamma globulin," by G. M. Schiff, J. L. Sever, and R. J. Huebner [Science 142, 58 (4 Oct. 1963)] there are two errors in Table 1. Under group E the second entry in column 5, showing the neutralizing antibody titer, should have been 512, not 12. Under group F the first entry in column 2, showing the source of gamma globulin, should have been P (for plasma) not C.