President sent a special message to Congress last February on "Aiding our Senior Citizens," but not all of his suggestions have been followed up with concrete legislative proposals. A President's Council on Aging has been established under the Secretary of Health, Education, and Welfare, to coordinate the activities of the several government departments with programs affecting the aged. The Senate transformed its subcommittee on aging, formerly under the Labor and Public Welfare Committee, into a special, 21member standing committee. The committee staff has done some excellent field reporting on problems of the elderly, but it may now be affected by the replacement of Senator McNamara (D.-Mich.) by Senator Smathers (D.-Fla.) as chairman, since Smathers is less of a crusader and more averse to federal action in general. (He voted against Medicare last year.) Voluntary groups, such as the National Council of Senior Citizens, formed mainly to support the drive for Medicare, are now turning their attention to other problems as well. One can hope, at least, that out of all these efforts will come ways to make old age in America more bearable.-ELINOR LANGER

Announcements

Newspaper and magazine articles on the natural sciences and their engineering and technological applications are eligible for the **1963 AAAS-Westinghouse Science Writing Awards**. Entries must have appeared in a U.S. publication between 1 October 1962 and 30 September 1963. They will be judged for "initiative, originality, scientific accuracy, clarity of interpretation, and value in promoting a better understanding of science by the lay public."

Newspaper entries may be a single article or a series, or a group of three unrelated articles, editorials, or columns. Entries from magazines, including trade and professional journals, may be single articles or a series. Persons other than the author may nominate the articles, and up to three separate entries may be submitted in each category.

The awards include two \$1000 cash prizes and citations to the winners' newspaper or magazine. The judges include Allen V. Astin, director of the National Bureau of Standards; Laura Fermi, wife of the late Enrico Fermi; Harold Hayes, managing editor of *Es-quire*; Norval N. Luxon, dean of the University of North Carolina journalism school; Morris Meister, president of Bronx Community College; and J. Russell Wiggins, executive editor of the Washington *Post*.

The awards are made possible through a grant from the Westinghouse Educational Foundation. Deadline for submission of entries: 10 October. (E. G. Sherburne, Jr., AAAS, 1515 Massachusetts Ave., NW, Washington 5)

Scientists in the News

Five scientists have been selected by the Atomic Energy Commission to receive the 1963 Ernest O. Lawrence memorial award for contributions to atomic energy. The awards consist of a medal, citation, and \$5000 honorarium. The scientists include:

Herbert J. C. Kouts, associate director in the reactor physics division, Brookhaven National Laboratory;

L. James Rainwater, director, Nevis Cyclotron Laboratories, and professor of physics, Columbia University;

James M. Taub, group leader in the chemistry and metallurgy division, Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory;

Cornelius A. Tobias, professor of medical physics, Donner Laboratory, University of California, Berkeley;

Louis Rosen, alternate leader, physics division of Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory.

The Research Corporation Award this year has been presented to **Bernd T. Matthias**, scientist at Bell Telephone Laboratories and physics professor at the University of California, San Diego. He was cited for "his discovery of new and unexpected superconductors and ferroelectrics and for his far-reaching and stimulating investigations."

Alan Pifer, executive associate at Carnegie Corporation, has been named vice president of the organization, effective 1 July. He succeeds James A. Perkins, who has been named president of Cornell University.

Robert R. Gilruth, director of the NASA Manned Spacecraft Center, Houston, Tex., has been named visiting professor of aerospace engineering at Texas A&M College. Morton Hamermesh, director of Argonne National Laboratory's physics division, has been named associate director of the laboratory. He is succeeded by Lowell M. Bollinger, who has spent a 2-year leave of absence from Argonne at Harwell, a British research facility.

This year's Alfred P. Sloan Foundation awards in **cancer research** were presented recently to scientists at the Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. The \$10,000 awards will enable the recipients to spend 1 year in research at another cancer research institute. Prizes were presented to:

John W. Berg, for work in the clinical pathology of cancer.

Joseph H. Burchenal, for leukemia research, especially on acute leukemia of childhood.

Joseph G. Fortner, for his work in developing transplantable tumor lines. Mary L. Petermann, for contributions to the biochemistry of cancer.

Recent Deaths

Leslie H. Backus, 60; plastic surgeon and recently elected secretary general of the Third International Congress of Plastic Surgeons; 7 April.

Harry M. Hines, 70; professor emeritus of physiology at State University of Iowa; 1 April.

Donovan C. Moffett, 62; president of the State University College, Cortland, N.Y.; 16 April.

Ezra H. Moss, 70; professor emeritus of botany, University of Alberta, Canada; 8 Feb.

Joseph L. Rosenholtz, 63; head of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute's department of geology; 21 March.

Wilbert E. Stevenson, 63; board chairman at Machlett Laboratories, Springdale, Conn.; 6 March.

Otto Struve, 65; first director of the National Radio Astronomy Observatory, Green Bank, W.Va.; 6 April.

Frank W. Weymouth, 78; professor emeritus of physiology at Stanford University; 19 March.

Allen O. Whipple, 82; past president of the American Surgical Association and of the New York Surgical Association; 16 April.

Milton C. Whitaker, 92; retired vice president of American Cyanamid Co. and founder and former head of the Columbia University chemical engineering department; 3 April.

SCIENCE, VOL. 140