who is "an outstanding clinician, teacher, and scholar with a deep interest in the problems of mentally retarded children and their families."

The grant is in honor of the first chairman of the Scientific Research Advisory Board, NARC. Deadline for receipt of nominations: 1 May. (G. Dybwad, NARC, Inc., 386 Park Ave. S., New York, N.Y.)

Grants are available for individual fundamental research in petroleum, under an experimental program initiated by the American Chemical Society's Petroleum Research Fund. Applicants must have been on the regular teaching staff of a college or university for not more than 3 years, and have no outside research support at the time the PRF grant is accepted. They must have completed all requirements for the Ph.D. degree, although the grant may be awarded before the receipt of the degree. Recipients of the grants must have the opportunity to carry out research at their institutions and must do so individually.

Grants are \$1500, not renewable, and are intended primarily for supplies, apparatus, and analyses. Deadline for receipt of applications: 1 July. (K. Dittmer, Petroleum Research Fund, American Chemical Society, 1155 16 St., NW, Washington 6)

Scientists in the News

The U.S. Atomic Energy Commission citation has been presented to Eric Jette for his work as leader of the chemistry and metallurgy division, Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory. He was cited for "meritorious contributions to the mission" of the AEC, while he was at Los Alamos between 1945 and 1956.

Melvin W. First, formerly at M.I.T., has been named associate professor of applied industrial hygiene at Harvard University's school of public health.

Louis H. Muschel, chief, department of serology at Walter Reed Army Institute of Research, has been appointed associate professor of microbiology at the University of Minnesota.

Theodore J. Wachowski, clinical professor of radiology, University of Illinois, has become president of the American College of Radiology.

Walter Barton, superintendent of Boston State Hospital, has been named director of the American Psychiatric Association, effective 1 April.

Howard J. Teas, head of the agricultural biosciences division, University of Puerto Rico Nuclear Center, has become program director for metabolic biology in the National Science Foundation's division of biological and medical sciences. He is on a 2-year leave of absence from the university.

William M. Mullins, metallurgical engineering professor at Carnegie Institute of Technology, has received the Mathewson gold medal from the Metallurgical Society, American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical and Petroleum Engineers.

At the University of Chicago, Eckhard H. Hess has become chairman of the psychology department. Donald W. Fiske has been named associate chairman of the department.

Jerry Donohue, chemistry professor at the University of Southern California, has been appointed chairman of the department of chemistry.

Daniel Swern, chemist at the U.S. Department of Agriculture, has been named "Federal Civil Servant of the Year" by the Federal Business Association of Philadelphia. He was honored for his "contributions to the fundamental chemistry of fats, and for products and processes widely used throughout the plastics industry which have stemmed from his research."

Jack Matthews, head of the speech department and director of the graduate program in audiology and speech pathology, University of Pittsburgh, has been elected president of the American Speech and Hearing Association.

Augustus Gibson, formerly with the Merck Sharp and Dohme Research Laboratories, Rahway, N.J., has become director of research at the Schering Corporation, Bloomfield, N.J.

Leon H. Schmidt, director of the Christ Hospital Institute of Medical Research, Cincinnati, Ohio, and research professor of biological chemistry, University of Cincinnati, has become director of the primate center at the University of California, Davis.

Frederick N. Andrews, head of Purdue University's department of animal sciences, has been named vice president for research, and dean of the graduate school, effective 30 June. He succeeds Ernest C. Young, who will retire at that time.

Ko Kuei Chen this month became professor of pharmacology at the Indiana University School of Medicine, Indianapolis, upon his retirement. He had been director of the pharmacological research division at Eli Lilly and

Recent Deaths

Harry A. Allard, 83; retired scientist at the Department of Agriculture and co-discoverer of photoperiodism; 25 Feb.

Gordon A. Alles, 61; pharmacology professor at UCLA; 21 Jan.

Lourens G. M. Baas-Becking, 68; former director of the Botanical Garden, Bogor, Java, and later, member of CSIRO, Canberra, Australia; 6 Jan.

Lionel F. Brady, 83; research associate, geochronology laboratories, University of Arizona, Tucson; 25 Feb.

Gilbert Christenson, 45; assistant chief of the NIH Clinical Center's anesthesiology department; in a crash of a private plane, near Greenville, S.C., 1 Mar.

Essie White Cohn, 61; 1961 chairman of AAAS section on chemistry; 5

Jerome H. Ely, 38; vice president of Dunlap and Associates, Inc., Stamford, Conn.; 26 Feb.

Alexander Geiger, 62; neurophysiology professor, University of Illinois medical college; 14 Jan.

Ludwig J. Mayer, 52; scientist at General Mills and developer of the electron mirror microscope; 11 Feb.

Rawley M. Penick, 64; professor of surgery at Tulane University and senior surgeon at Ochsner Clinic, New Orleans; 21 Feb.

Wilbert E. Stevenson, 63; chairman of the board, Machlett Laboratories, Springdale, Conn.; 6 Mar.

Stephen Taber, 80; former head of the geology department, University of North Carolina; 9 Feb.

Erratum: In the report "Potassium-argon dating of plutonic bodies in Palmer Peninsula and southern Chile" by M. Halpern [Science 138, 1261 (1962)], the age calculated for sample 2 (H-62-14) was $100 \ (\pm 20) \times 10^{8}$ years, rather than $100 \ (\pm 20) \times 10^{5}$ years, as indicated on page 1262 (column 1, line 27).