1953 through February 1962, is available from the U.S. Department of Commerce. In addition to references on theory, analysis, and instrumentation, the 267-page publication covers eleccollisions, tron-ion electromagnetic waves, gas ionization, magnetic pinch effects, microwaves, plasma jets and sheaths, nuclear applications, re-entry aerodynamics, shock waves and tubes, propellants and propulsion, oscillations, and solar and extraterrestrial effects. (Office of Technical Services, USDC, Washington 25, D.C. \$2.75. Order AD 271-170)

Scientists in the News

Robert F. Loeb, Bard professor of medicine emeritus, at Columbia University's College of Physicians and Surgeons, has received the 1962 John and Samuel Bard award in medicine and science, administered by Bard College, Annandale-on-Hudson, N.Y.

John McK. Mitchell, dean of the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine since 1948, will retire in July. He will be succeeded by Samuel Gurin, professor and chairman of the department of biochemistry.

Recent editorial staff changes at *Science*:

Joseph Turner, associate editor, has joined the staff of Jerome Weisner, the President's science adviser.

Howard Margolis, news reporter, has joined the staff of Secretary of Defense McNamara.

Robert J. Menzies, associate professor of biology at the University of Southern California, has been appointed professor of zoology and oceanographic program director of the Marine Laboratory at Duke University.

Charles B. Huggins, professor of surgery and director of the Ben May Laboratory for Cancer Research at the University of Chicago, is the 1962 recipient of the American Therapeutic Society's Oscar B. Hunter award.

At National Aeronautics and Space Administration:

John R. Biggs, former director of procurement at Lewis Research Center in Cleveland, Ohio, will head the recently opened NASA management unit at North American Aviation's space and information systems division plant in Downey, Calif. The new office was established to expedite development and testing of the Apollo lunar spacecraft and the second stage for the advanced Saturn booster.

Raymond L. Bisplinghoff, professor of aeronautical engineering at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, has been appointed director of NASA's office of advanced research and technology. He succeeds **Ira H. Abbott**, who retired in January.

At the University of Michigan:

Frank E. Raymond, associate professor of mathematics, will go on leave this fall to accept a visiting appointment at the University of California (Berkeley).

Robert K. Ritt, associate professor of mathematics, will accept a temporary appointment with the Conductron Corporation in Ann Arbor during the 1962–63 year.

Andrew J. Berger, associate professor of anatomy, will be on sabbatical leave during the second semester of 1962–63. Under a Guggenheim fellowship, he will summarize 15 years' research in the comparative anatomy of the avian muscular system.

Richard L. Meier, research social scientist at the Mental Health Research Institute and associate professor of conservation, is on leave until August 1963 as technical assistant for the United Nations in Indonesia.

Gerald H. Bonnette, a member of the U.S. Navy Dental Corps, will become associate professor of dentistry (oral surgery) at the University of Michigan. He succeeds Emmett R. Costich, who is resigning to join the University of Kentucky faculty.

The following faculty members of the University of Oregon Medical School will be on sabbatical leave during 1962–63:

Nelson R. Niles, associate professor of pathology, will be teaching at the Royal College of Surgeons' Institute of Basic Medical Sciences, London.

James Austin, associate professor of neurology, will be visiting neurologist at the All-India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi.

Benjamin B. Ross, associate professor of physiology, will work at the Nuffield Institute for Medical Research, Oxford, England.

David L. Gunberg, associate professor of anatomy, will spend 2 years at the University of Airlangga Medical School, Surabaja, Indonesia, helping to update the teaching program and techniques of the anatomy and histology departments.

Recent awards of the National Tuberculosis Association:

John D. Steele, chief of surgical service at the Veterans Administration Hospital, San Fernando, Calif., the Trudeau medal for work in surgical techniques and procedures.

John H. Skavlem, clinician and professor of medicine at the University of Cincinnati Medical College, the Will Ross medal for work in the local and national voluntary-health movement.

George E. Pake, professor of physics at Stanford University, will become provost of Washington University in September.

James Boothe, senior research chemist at Lederle Laboratories, has received the University of Minnesota's outstanding achievement award.

Recipients of the Manufacturing Chemists' Association's annual \$1000 awards for "outstanding college chemistry teaching":

Reuben B. Sandin, of the University of Alberta, Edmonton.

John Franklin Baxter, Jr., of the University of Florida, Gainesville.

James A. Campbell, of Harvey Mudd College, Claremont, Calif.

Carl M. Hill, of Tennessee Agricultural and Industrial State University, Nashville.

Harold A. Iddles, of the University of New Hampshire, Durham.

Gerrit Van Zyl, of Hope College, Holland, Mich.

Erratum: In the report "Retardation of plant growth by a new group of chemicals" by J. A. Riddell, H. A. Hageman, C. M. J'Anthony, and W. L. Hubbard [*Science* 136, 391 (4 May 1962)], the first sentence of the text is ambiguous and the structural formulas are incorrect. The first two sentences should have read: "N-dimethylaminomaleamic acid (CO11) and N-dimethylaminosuccinamic acid (B995) retarded the growth of a variety of plants . . . when applied as a spray to follage. Their structures are:

$$\begin{array}{cccc} H & H & H & H \\ H - C - C - N - N & H_{2}C - C - N - N & H_{3}C \\ H - C - C - OH & H_{2}C - C - OH \\ H - C - C - OH & H_{2}C - C - OH \\ COII & B 995 \end{array}$$

Erratum: In "Scientists in the news" [136, 641 (18 May 1962)] the first appointment to the University of Rochester staff should have listed Harry E. Gove (not Grove), who is head of the nuclear structure laboratory at Chalk River, Ontario. His appointment becomes effective 1 September 1963, not 1962.

SCIENCE, VOL. 136