## Scientists in the News

Herbert Hollomon, manager of General Electric Company's engineering laboratory, has been appointed the first U.S. Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Science and Technology. The new post covers administrative responsibilities for the Bureau of Standards, Weather Bureau, Coast and Geodetic Survey, and Patent Office; and research and development staff responsibilities for the Bureau of Public Roads and the Maritime Administration.

The following scientists will share the \$10,000 Viking Fund award of the Wenner-Gren Foundation for Anthropological Research:

**Sol Tax**, professor of anthropology at the University of Chicago.

Robert Heine-Gelden, member of the Austrian Academy of Science in Vienna, Austria.

- L. S. B. Leakey, director and curator of Coryndon Memorial Museum in Nairobi, Kenya, E. Africa.
- E. E. Evans-Pritchard, professor of social anthropology at the University of Oxford (England).

Vincent E. Parker, head of the department of physics and astronomy at Louisiana State University, will spend a 1-year leave of absence as deputy director of Oak Ridge (Tenn.) Institute of Nuclear Studies, effective in June.

Lester Dragstedt, emeritus professor of surgery at the University of Chicago and research professor at the University of Florida, has received the distinguished service award of the American Society of Abdominal Surgeons.

J. Murray Luck, professor of biochemistry at Stanford, has been appointed to the recently created post of scientific attaché to the U.S. Embassy in Bern, Switzerland, for a 2-year term.

Richard W. Reis, of the University of California (Los Angeles); and David Hartley and Gordon A. Hughes, of Manchester University, have joined Wyeth Laboratories' steroids and natural products section in Philadelphia, Pa.

Allan C. Johnson, manager of the Atomic Energy Commission's Idaho Operations Office, has joined Aerojet-General Corporation in Azusa, Calif., as assistant to the chairman of the board.

James D. Watson, of Harvard, and Francis H. C. Crick, of Cambridge University (England), will share the 1961 Research Corporation award of \$10,000 for their collaboration on determination of the structure of deoxyribonucleic acid.

The following awards were presented by the National Academy of Sciences during the 1962 annual meeting:

Agassiz medal: George E. R. Deacon, of the National Institute of Oceanography, Wormley, England.

Elliot medal: **Donald R. Griffin**, of Harvard.

Kimber Genetics medal: Milislav Demerec, of Brookhaven National Laboratorv.

Kovalenko medal: George H. Whipple, of the University of Rochester (N.Y.).

Smith medal: **Harold C. Urey**, of the University of California (San Diego).

Walcott medal: Armin A. Opik, of the Bureau of Mineral Resources, Canberra, Australia.

Hugh C. Ferguson, pharmacologist formerly with Strasenburgh Laboratories, has been appointed director of the biochemistry laboratories in Eastman Kodak Company's distillation products industries division.

Donald Harting, of the Department of Health, Education, and Welfare's bureau of state services, has been named director of the National Institutes of Health's center for child health research.

Allyn M. Munger, formerly with Esso Standard Oil in Coral Gables, Fla., has joined the Psychological Corporation in New York as a staff psychologist.

George D. Snell, senior staff scientist at Jackson Memorial Laboratory, Bar Harbor, Maine, has received the 1962 Bertner Foundation award for his work in cancer research.

At Electro-Optical Systems, Inc., of Pasadena, Calif.:

F. Russell Marshall, former vice president and technical director, has been appointed senior staff scientist at Quantatron, Inc., Applied Physics Laboratory in Santa Monica, Calif.

Arthur T. Yahiro, of Stuart Pharmaceutical Company, has joined the company's chemical research department.

Joseph Hammock, of Bell Telephone Laboratories, has been appointed professor and head of the department of psychology at the University of Georgia.

John K. Backus, former research supervisor with General Mills, Inc., has joined Mobay Chemical Company in Pittsburgh as a research specialist in flexible and rigid urethane foam application.

Marshall C. Harrington, former contract research administrator for the Bureau of Ships' fundamental hydromechanics research program, has joined the Air Force Office of Scientific Research as a staff member of the physical sciences directorate.

## **Recent Deaths**

William B. Atkinson, 44; professor and chairman of the department of anatomy at University of Louisville School of Medicine; 4 Mar.

Robert H. Bedford, 69; marine bacteriologist and director of new product development at Philip R. Park, Inc., in San Pedro, Calif.; 10 Mar.

Harold N. Cummings, 77; engineer for Curtiss-Wright Corporation and retired vice president of Newark College of Engineering; 14 Mar.

Franklin Fearing, 69; emeritus professor of psychology at University of California (Los Angeles); 26 Mar.

**Theodore C. Frye**, 92; emeritus professor and former head of the department of botany at the University of Washington (Seattle); 5 Apr.

Manuel G. Gilledo, 68; physicist on the faculty at Havana University; 3 Apr.

Herbert E. Kahler, 65; retired chief of biology in the National Institute of Cancer's physiology laboratory; 29 Mar.

**Seth H. Low**, 50; retired biologist at the Department of Interior's Patuxent Wildlife Research Center in Laurel, Md.; 30 Mar.

Franz Schrader, 71; emeritus Da Costa professor at Columbia University and visiting professor of zoology at Duke University; 22 Mar.

Robert J. Sheehan, 62; former head of the department of biology at University of Notre Dame; 27 Feb.

Erratum; In the article "Nuclear clues to the early history of the solar system," by William A. Fowler [Science 135, 1037 (23 Mar. 1962)], the next-to-the-last equation in column 3, page 141, erroneously repeats the immediately previous equation. The next-to-the-last equation should read  $D^2/H^1=1.5\times 10^{-3}.$